We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Universal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33390   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Pointe-Calumet, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in while vacationing in Fort Lauderdale. I was there in late January and I went back on April 30 to May 7, 2013. The staff is so wonderful and helpful. they go all out to make your stay very enjoyable, starting with the front desks employees to the head superivisor Joel who is very friendly and prestigious as well as his GM partner Peter. Alfredo (Freddy)- head maintenance who is always running around to make sure the pool and the surrounding are well maintain and very competence in his repairs work- his is such a nice guy to talk to. The scenery of this hotel makes you feel like you are in a tropical island with all the palms trees surrounding you. Very clean and has a wonderful ambiance with all the friendly employees. I give this hotel a big thumbs up and would highly suggest this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay while on vacation in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    183
    80
    58
    63
See reviews for
156
123
42
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had originally booked a room closer to downtown which turned out to be an extremely sketchy place where we had separate rooms. I was traveling with my husband, younger sister, and her friend, and were in desperate need of something safer. We were able to book last minute over the phone with Shantel. (I think that was her name!) She was really nice and helpful and gave us a 1 bedroom suite with a king bed in the bedroom and a pull-out couch in the living room. I have AAA so we paid about $112 including tax. The hotel is in a much safer-feeling area and the lobby is beautiful. We were on the 3rd floor in a nice room that looked like it may have been recently remodeled. We had a nice TV in each room however most of the channels were in French and we had no remote in the bedroom. The picture was also very fuzzy and a little disappointing considering the TV was so nice and new.

We were given a voucher for 2 free "welcome cocktails" upon checking in which was a nice surprise! We also received a voucher for 2 free breakfasts but we had to check-out very early so we didn't have a chance to use them.

Now to the sleep. Our room was right by the train tracks where the train goes by and blows it's horn almost every hour. It's an unfortunate situation for the hotel because it's really not their fault and I don't think there is anything they can do about it. Maybe they should consider giving out complimentary earplugs? The air conditioning is also really loud and it went off and on the entire night. We all had to get up very early because we were attending an early 5K event downtown, so needless to say we all were a little more tired than usual. I would stay here again provided that I had some really good earplugs!

Room Tip: Bring some heavy duty earplugs. Seriously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We've just spent the night here, and even tough the rooms really are nice furnitured, our stay was horrible! Cause you can hear ALL the noises from the street (and there is a big one!), from other guests on the walkway and the worst of it is the roar of the train, that passes more than every hour!! Starting at 5 or 6 am!! This is the worst hotel from our tripp so far!! The windows of the room hold no noises from the outside!!! Stay away if you wanna sleep!

It's a shame that such a hotel doesn't care about the noises and invest in good windows! Cause the rooms are nice and the fitness room good! But we really almost could'nt sleep a minute!
Stay away or buy veeeery good earplugs!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Universal Palms Hotel, and we were impressed to be sure--with the ambiance, amenities, and incredibly friendly service from everyone especially Eddie and his housekeeping team keep my room spotless and Debra thank you for your recommendation for other restaurant nearby.
A few points:

--We were traveling with a toddler and really appreciated the beautiful pool. We also greatly appreciated being allowed to check out a bit later to accommodate his nap.
--Loved our poolside room.
--The workout room is clean and well equipped.
--It was easy to find lounge chairs at the pool area. The pool is lovely;
--The hotel's location is great next to I-95 exit 32. Tons of good restaurants are within a few blocks and a handy Walgreen's. In the area

--Can't comment on the hotel restaurants since we didn't eat there. The continental breakfast buffet was very POOR. However, the pool bar makes great drinks--pricey, but worth it!

Room Tip: Request poolside room to avoid the noise of the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is a good hotel, nice bathroom, and very clean. The hotel however is right by the commuter rail, and it roars by every hour. The beds are comfortable, but the tv is not exactly modern. Good hotel if you are not planning on spending 18 hours a day in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was very impressed with this beautiful place and how the staff was so helpful and accommodating--- the room was clean and very comfortable-- -easy access to transportation, to and from Beaches as well as shopping -- the grounds were amazing- I give you all a Five star rating---


M. Baldelli

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice Hotel I spend only one night to shopping. They received my packages from Amazon without problem i call them and explain the situation and Jackie form the front desk was very helpfull and nice with me, after talk with him i book my room.
The next day before i leaving a ask for a late check out and Deborah and the supervisor Joel Niedle were very nice with me.
Thanks .
Free wifi free parking, cleaning hotel e nice and comfortable room. It's a little far from sawgrass and the cost, but the price and the hotel staff make the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33390
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.