We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Universal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33390   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
são joão del-rei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Universal Palms Hotel is excellent and within our expectations for its category. We were welcomed and treated well all the time (ten days). The price was the best we found. The installations very clean, pleasant and beautiful environment. Good breakfast and good price. Very good bar with music nightly pleasant, professional and sympathetic service. About The location also very good because this near Maimi, downtown Fort Lauderdale and its magnificent beaches. Also this very close to a major center of out lets at great prices. Some people complain about the noise from the street, but nothing unusual for a big city. I would also like to highlight the professionalism and friendliness of the attendant Renee that all the time volunteered to help. We liked the hotel and come back to it on your next vacation in Florida.

Room Tip: My wife and I occupy the room 303, in the building across the av Comercial. I think the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    182
    80
    57
    62
See reviews for
153
123
42
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the BCS national championship game. If you like wash cloths and hand towels, do not stay here. We only had 1 wash cloth the first day for 3 people in the room and none after that for our 4 night stay. They might as well not say they have breakfast. It's 2 kinds of cereal and bread. The front staff is very rude. The gentleman was rude as I went to the front to get a breakfast voucher so much so that the people behind me were commenting to me about it. Had big problems checking in and checking out. Took a long time and they had a wrong name attached to my reservation when I made the reservation straight through them...I don't know how? No one at the front desk spoke English as a first language so communication was difficult. I would not recommend staying here even though the price was the only good point about it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This property is poorly located right next to a very busy train line with the loud horns of commuter and freight trains running down the tracks breaking your sleep and overall peace and quiet.

Although the hotel was renovated apparently in 2011, the amenities are very basic and some things did not work, such as the in-room safe, the WI FI and the TV with "premium channels" which only carries about 20 channels in all, four of which are in French and 2 or 3 in Spanish. As for the free drinks noted by others given to guests as they check in, we were never offered this. I was also disappointed to find out that our reservation did not include a buffet breakfast as I thought it did. When I saw the "buffet breakfast" for $6, which offers coffee, cereal of some kind, and some sliced white bread, I wasn't impressed at all. We proceeded to eat our meals off site.

After the first night, we put the “clean room” sign on our door handle. Due to the wind, the sign was no longer on our door. When we came back to our room it was not cleaned. My husband went to ask the front desk if it would be possible to have someone empty our garbage and get new towels. The front desk clerk wasn’t very helpful, telling him the cleaning staff had left for the day and if he wanted to empty the garbage, he could bring the bags to the dumpster at the back of the hotel.

Although the pool area was nice, the staff is mostly bilingual (French and English) and Joel at the front desk was VERY nice and helpful (he answered my emails pre-trip, and changed our room when the WI FI in our room didn’t work),

I always book my hotel reservations online. This is the first time I have been sooo disappointed with the overall stay. I cannot recommend this hotel to others, in large part to the CONSTANT train traffic, day and night. It felt like we were stuck in the movie “My cousin Vinny”.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, choose a room facing the pool. Any "city view" rooms back s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Checked in on line for 2 nights (saved 20 percent). Prices are as advertised. Room was clean, un remarkable. No microwave or fridge, but we did not expect them nor need them. The pool is heated -from what I could tell 85 - 90 degrees F. the pool area is very nice with concrete statues, palm trees, gazebos, and paving stone walks. the staff was very helpful even finding me a sewing kit to repair a suitcase that was handled rather roughly by the airline. we had a pool view - this cost few dollars extra but we were not bothered by train noise that others complained about.
the restaurant on site is the Venetian Restaurant, Italian Cuisine, the food is very good to excellent, we had the maghrita pizza and drinks one night and bruschetta, pasta via joule, chicken parmagane. Of note they do not skimp on the garlic or balsamic vinegar.

Room Tip: From other comments - I would recommend a room with a pool view. we did hear train noise occasional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I made the mistake by booking through Jet Blue at the end of an airline reservation. I thought for one night how bad could it be. It was horrible. On a busy intersection with the back up against the railroad tracks. This was the definition of "seedy motel". The only thing missing were drug addicts and prostitutes, but I am sure they were there. Dirty hallways. Stains on the floors. The bed was as bad as I ever sat on. Paper thin walls. Just as bad as it gets. In all fairness, the room did appear clean and the internet worked( i used it to find another hotel). Don't be fooled by the name or price. Bad news.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac-Simon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is good, but the train is very disapointed!!
The train at 3h am is very unpleasant and noisy.
The location is good, mcdo and PFK is not to far, but the train again and again!
For the pepole speak french, is good a lot of Qc pepole!
I not recomended thi hotel because the train is very noisy and maybe 10 times a days!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Upon our arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the front office supervisor Joel, who provided us with an excellent service. This hotel has had some major renovations and the look inside is quite nice.The room we had reserved was quite nice and very clean. We had supper at the bar/restaurant a few times we were served by Sandra and also by Jesse, the service and food were quite good. The main restaurant is very nice, the food is good, but a little pricey. The bar personnel forgot to turn off the music on our first night so it played all night and directly outside our room there was a water fountain which also runs all the time. I talked Joel the next morning and he said that he had spoken to the staff about the music and that it wouldn't happen again but that nothing could be done about the fountain. We asked to change rooms to be further away from the fountains and Joel happily upgraded us to a suite (which was excellant)and the fountain problem was solved. The only thing is that the suite which has a small kitchen does not have a stove, only a small fridge and microwave. I think that adding at least a stove top and some dishes and utensils would be a good thing.The one inconvience for us was the train which passes frequently day and night but after the second day we didn't even notice it anymore. As for the location it is not necessarily the best but we had a nice stay so that is what counts. It's a great hotel for travellers who speak french as the hotel is owned by French Canadians and most of the staff are prefectly bilingual. All in all we would recommend this hotel.
Brenda Lee & Pierre

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33390
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.