We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Universal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Universal Palms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33390   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Walt Disney World, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I spent 5 vacation nights iat the Universal Palms Hotel with my wife and daughter and I could'nt be happier. Joel and Eddie at the front desk were friendly and acommodating, and the maintenance staff and maids went beyond the call of duty to make sure we were satisfied. The room was clean and we enjoyed the pool and trpical feel of the courtyard surrounding it. The location is perfect for traveling throughout the Fort Laderdale area..It's close to the beach and downtown area at a much more affordable price than staying on the beach or downtown..But the best thing about this hotel that does'nt have the all too familiar franchise name, is its people....I strongly reccommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    242
    125
    88
    85
See reviews for
218
172
57
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and i had a great time. the staff are nice service is good joel vega and claudette very great employees they go that extra mile love u guys. note please improve the continential breakfast especially for summer hollidays anf include somting for the kids

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We came to this hotel for a few days to enjoy a nice hotel with a very affordable rate. Everyone was nice but the place is extremely minimal. The rooms were dark and kind of depressing. The pool was nice and the place has free parking. The person at the front desk was quite accommodating (Joel). The rate was very low but I was so happy to leave. If you are looking for more than just the minimum, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

So, from the outside, before pulling up I wasn't 100% sure about the place, but seeing the lovely front porch set up they had I was soon to be pleasantly surprised. The lobby is clean, shiny, cozy, and elegant. Lot's of mirrors, open windows, and great lighting. They have free wi-fi and free computers in the lobby for searching the internet for more trip deals or checking facebook :P

We came on a Thursday, they allowed us to check in early. We got the cheapest rooms available for about $60 a night. Wow, if a place like this was up where I'm from, it would be running for at least $120 a night.

Anywhoo, there's beautiful detail in the landscaping and architecture. The place is like a little haven. Beautiful pool area (although I was hoping for a hot tub), lots of nice places to smoke, eat, and chill outside.

The bar is amazing! Quaint dance floor, cozy stage to your left upon entering, bar is in the center of the floor with an excellent bar tender named Joel who honored our free drinks with a great smile and good conversation ...and of course more great drinks:)

The receptionists were kind, helpful, and courteous and really easy to access (some places have empty desks when you need help).

There's a bunch of gas stations at this intersection so for snacks, drinks, and smokes you're covered. The nearest liquor store is about 15 minutes worth of walking away, also up in that area are a few strip malls with walgreens, bank of america, nail salons, etc. .. you know, the usual strip mall set up. (I was happy to find a marshalls too!)

There's great delivery in the area, and easy to use bus system (cabs are pretty expensive out here, but the cab drivers all seem to be much friendlier than I'm used to).

Great R&B playing in the background in the lobby, and just an overal pleasant, experience. The ambiance is perfect for romantic getaways and family trips..

Basically it's a great time for a great price. I will be staying here whenever I come back to the area.

Room Tip: The room we got, although very nice, and very affordable, lacked a mini fridge or a microwave (the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I enjoyed my stay the front desk lady natasha was very nice and helped me out with every question I needed.all the staff was great even @ the bar and grill.......thank you for a wounderful stay!! I'll be back for sure

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Staff are great and very helpfull. Rooms are a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. Food is excellent, but Italian only. There are a few food places close, so you can just walk out and eat. Easy driving distance to the beach. For our trip, it was perfect as it was centrally located for the things we had to do. We stayed in August. You need bug spray for sure that time of year.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool are the ones you want. Get a suite, it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed at the Universal Palms Hotel for three weeks during June and July of 2012. I spent a lot of money in that facility because no one else was and I treated the staff well. Two days after I checked out, a charge of $91,40 showed up on my Visa account from the Venetian Restaurant. (Universal Palms Hotel). I telephoned repeatedly to the their lame-duck manager, Antonio, only to be give the runaround response that the "accountant" could not find either the bill or the signed charge slip. Weeks past and I got impatient with these crooks and said if you cannot produce a bill then credit my charge card. Finally, Antonio tells me it is the owner's position that I should handle this how I deem appropriate. The owner is rarely available and has not returned any of my calls. I have to wonder how many other departed guests are SCAMMED out of a charge that slips through or a charge that the Venetian cannot validate.
What makes this seem like insult to injury is that the bar/restaurant is a pathetically slow, mediocre, customer-void dive that cannot keep track of the few transactions they make.
STAY AWAY from the Venetian Restaurant if you stay at the Universal Palms--there are hundreds of better places to eat and drink around Fort Lauderdalle.

Room Tip: Make sure the front desk gives you the best room possible and does not stick you in the back where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33390
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.