We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private oasis inside hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates From $219
Ranked #38 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Private oasis inside hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at this resort prior to our cruise leaving to Port Everglades.
Only reason I didnt give it a five star was due to Shuttle Service. When we arrived at the airport, I proceeded to call the hotel and advise them of our arrival. They said they would have a shuttle there shortly. After about 30 minutes, still no shuttle so I called again. Since we did not have a cell phone they told me to take a few taxi's and the hotel would re-imburse us. We did and they re-imbursed us immediately.
After that, the hotel was unique with a lovely indoor waterfall, patio, and a broadwalk feel. From the centre of hotel, you look up to all the hotel rooms surrounding you. During the night, it is all light up. Very nice! The Breakfast was awesome and exceeded our expectations. Also, very convenient that tons of great shopping stores all within walking from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    501
    239
    84
    57
See reviews for
449
444
48
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The best advantage is that hotel is close to airport and Port Everglades. Very busy hotel. Parking staff were very helpfull. Front desk personnel are very rushed due to the amount of check-ins. Rooms are average but comfortable. Try and get your room close to front desk or you will have a long walk for all hotel services. This as all Embassy suites offer mgr. reception and breakfast both were fair to average

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager1100, General Manager at Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm terribly sorry that we couldn't make your stay more enjoyable. While our hotel can be very busy, we never want our guests to feel like their not our number one priority. Each interaction from staff should be personable and courteous and I regret that you did not experience that. It's nice to know that the location was convenient for your visit to the local attractions and valet staff were helpful. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to work with our team to ensure we're offering our true hospitality. We hope we have the chance to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Don Friedman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

GREAT hotel. Great breakfast and fitness room. Close to everything you need: stores, marina, beaches....miles and miles of clean beaches just over the bridge. Close to marina (2 blocks). Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: all rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed one night pre-cruise. Room was disappointing for $300. Chips, cracks and marks everywhere. No hot or warm water in shower but sink was piping hot. Basically you're paying for the free drinks and breakfast that's offered. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed at the Hyatt near the airport post cruise. Nicer rooms, $100 cheaper, free shuttle to airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager1100, General Manager at Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We strive to provide memorable experiences for each of our guests and actively look for ways keep costs fair while offering the quality accommodations and genuine service. I appreciate your review as it provides feedback that I need to re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings. I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to demonstrate our commitment to satisfaction in all areas of the guest experience. I would be happy to personally discuss your stay if you would like. My email is don.friedman@hilton.com

Sincerely;

Don Friedman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful lobby and very nice rooms, beds were comfortable, pizza was GREAT after arriving at 1030 pm. The extra sink is very handy if traveling with a child, when someone is needing privacy in the other room.
Very convenient if going on a cruise, restaurants, and some shopping within walking distance. The only big complaint I have is the bathroom was not thoroughly cleaned. There was a long, black, curly hair in the tub, and no one in my party has long black hair. ( I will carry Clorex on my next trip)
The staff was excellent, always very friendly and helpful.
Taxi service from airport to hotel $10.00, from hotel to cruise terminal $15.00.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Embassy Suites was very average for the price of 240.00 a night. The rooms were very large but could use a better cleaning. Bedding was comfortable and having two sinks in the room plus the seating area was great. The elevators were very slow and at time took as long as 5 minutes to come. We tried to use the steps since we were on the third floor but they took you outside. Because of a convention in town breakfast was slow to get served. They should have had 2 lines open for service but with only one it was 8-12 people deep at times ordering. The food was very average at best. The managers evening reception was very nice with free drinks and snacks. Very nice pool area with nice landscaping. Valet service was very good.
Internet extra
Shuttle service was 7.00 a person
Valet parking 20.00 a night

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool or the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager1100, General Manager at Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience at our hotel. I'm so pleased you enjoyed our two-room suites and signature Manager's Reception. I sincerely apologize for the long wait you experienced at breakfast and slow elevators. We are reevaluating staff levels to prevent line bunches and optimize service efficiency. Our maintenance team is also working with our vendors to repair the elevators. We look for reviews to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area, we would love for you to stay with us again.

Sincerely;

Don Friedman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, On
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our family of 5 adults stayed here the night before our cruise. We booked the cruise package. Upon arrival into the airport I called the hotel and they sent the shuttle. We waited about 30 minutes BUT we were the only ones waiting for the Embassy Suites shuttle and there were hoards of people battling for other hotel shuttles. Some giving up and taking taxis. So even though we waited it was pretty painless. Check in was smooth and we went to the lounge for a late dinner. The lounge closed at 10pm and we were being rushed to order. I thought this was pretty early for a hotel restaurant and quite a few people were turned away after 10pm. We booked the 2 room suite as Fort Lauderdale can be quite expensive. I should have read more clearly that it was a 2 room suite and not a 2 bedroom suite. It was really cramped for 5 adults. The main bedroom had 2 double beds and there was a double pull out couch in the living area space which was very very very uncomfortable. Next time I won't cheap out and we'll have to get 2 rooms! The rooms were dark and dingy but I guess overall fine for a late night arrival. We did have a little balcony overlooking the plaza next door so we could at least open the door for fresh air. I really liked that checkout wasn't until noon! The made to order breakfast was tasty but it was chaotic and took us about 20 min acting like vultures to grab a table. We did not use the amenities or pool but overall the hotel has a great Floridian feel. The atrium area was really nice to sit in and people watch and wait around til cruise time and we didn't have to stay in our cramped room. Publix, other shops, and restaurants are a 5 min walk. So location was cool for us Canadians looking to check things out and not having a car or a lot of time. I wouldn't be opposed to staying here again but I wouldn't seek this hotel out.... it would depend on what deals I could find for hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a perfect choice for nightlife, beaches, shopping, and golf. All 361 two-room suites consist of a living room with sleeper sofa, easy chair, dining table & chairs and a separate bedroom with either one king or two double beds. Each suite is equipped with microwave, refrigerator,coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, & 2 flat screen TV's. Also enjoy an outdoor, heated pool, fitness center and The E Spot Restaurant for a chic, casual dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.