We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Value and Location Before Cruise Vacataion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates From $219
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Nice Value and Location Before Cruise Vacataion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel was packed full of people the Friday/Saturday before our cruise. It is a typical Embassy, which is not bad. "Free" snacks and breakfast was nice, but as busy as DisneyWorld. The pool is nice but small for a hotel this size. The rooms were large and clean. The biggest complaint was there were only 4 small elevators for a hotel this size, and most folks had a lot of luggage (most were cruise passengers like us). Advice - don't take their shuttle to the cruise port - get a taxi and get there earlier. A taxi was $10. The shuttle was $8 per person.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    484
    231
    80
    56
See reviews for
432
431
44
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Visited April 14 & 15, 2012 for a two night pre-cruise stay. Check-in was quick and receptionist was very courteous. Concierge Linda assisted us in booking our van ride to the ship for the 16th. The exterior was very nice and grounds well maintained. The atrium was a sight to see and a bit of a surprise as to how nice it was.

We had asked for a room with a view of the cruise terminal but had received an email several days prior to our arrival stating that they were unable to honor our request. We were assigned room 1123 which obviously is on the 11th. floor. The room is adjacent to the elevator and that was a concern at first due to possible noise but that turned out not to be a problem.

The room is a bit dated in furnishings and color although it did have two flat panel TV's. What did come as a pleasant surprise was that there was a sliding door in the bedroom that provided an excellent view of the cruise ships in port. We found the room to be clean and the bed comfortable.

As this was our first stay with Embassy Suites, we were not sure what to expect with the Manager's Reception. There were appetizers available and basic call drinks along with wine. I would give the Manager's Reception two thumbs up. Another great thing going for Embassy Suites is the breakfast. They offered made to order omelets along with standard breakfast fare of scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage links, hash browns, cereal, bagels, etc etc. Again, two thumbs up.

Dining choices are many and close to the Embassy Suites which also has its own dining venue which I admit we did not try. We did make the mistake of going to the Bistro Mezzaluna which is adjacent to the property. The waitress was pretentious and had no clue as to what customer service means. The meal was well prepared although it seemed to be overpriced for what we ordered. Would we go back.....nope. The Outback was our choice for the next nights dinner and they did not disappoint. Sure its Outback but how can you not love the Bloomin Onion and some Alice Springs Chicken.

Overall this was a very pleasant two night stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: If interested in a view of the cruise ships, ask for an upper room with a port view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites before a cruise and would have turned around and walked away if we could have. It's so old and dated; I'm old and dated too, but my upkeep has been better.

The hotel was crowded with pre and post cruisers; it was busy and noisy, but - and this is the only saving grace - it's in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The atrium is beautiful and the pool area is a very lovely and relaxing space. The beds are top notch comfortable and we found the staff very polite and helpful. This is s very busy hotel and the front desk is very accomodating and the conciege is very knowledgeable and a tower of patience. The breakfast has everything you could want for a standard breakfast along with fresh fruit and build your own omelet but be prepared for long lines if you arrive after 8am. They do a good job to keep the line moving and clearing space for seating. The complimentary happy hour is also a very busy time but things move quickly here too. Free and convenient internet.

We found the suite to be okay, nothing fancy but clean. There is a good selection of restaurants in the vicinity and we found the happy hour was our dinner time. The port is very close so depending on how many travelling it is less costly to take the taxi than to take the $7 shuttle offered by the hotel (and less hassle than with the crowd).

The trolley is half a block from the hotel and for 50 cents it will take you on a scenic ride to the beach and to the Galleria Mall. for some serious shopping. A great service. If you have the time the boats for the intercoastal waterway are a very short taxi ride away and for $20 hop on hop off for the day you can view the spectacular homes and yachts and get a commentary on the area. The round trip is about 4 hours. The conciege was extreamely helpful with any inquires I made.

We would stay again if we were just passing through but for a longer stay I would find something that did not have the breakfast and the happy hour built into the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Just completed our third stay at this Embassy Suites. We love this hotel for the free breakfast, free happy hour and location. The staff are always friendly. The lobby and pool areas are beautiful. The rooms are a bit dated (especially the bathrooms) but very clean, and the beds are extremely comfortable. There is a strip mall behind the hotel (well within walking distance) with a variety of stores and restaurants. Total Wine has every wine, liquor, etc. imaginable. Publix Grocery has a wide variety of pre-made sandwiches, desserts, etc. which make for a nice picnic lunch to enjoy by the pool or in your hotel room. Eat at Joes is a diner style restaurant where you can get a cappuccino or latte during early morning hours.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice, but difficult to navigate.

The shuttle driver from the airport was very rude and drove recklessly. He had taken my cell phone number down wrong and proceeded to yell at me for it. When we arrived we were glad that our room was ready even though it was only noon. The front desk staff was pleasant, but did not offer us a higher room even though her co-worker was offering better views to her customers.

Our room was on the corner and next to the elevators so we hear constant noise of kids running up and down the halls all night. I guess their parents didn't feel it necessary to quiet them down. We even tried to shut the door between the sitting room and bedroom to no avail. The air conditioning vent was leaking all over our sink and soaked some of our documents. The tub wouldn't drain in the bathroom and I did make someone aware.

We were told about a trolley, but not told how to get to it. After wandering around for 10 minutes we went back in to ask where we could get on.

We came back to the managers reception after an afternoon at the beach and were pleased with the snacks and drink offerings. Although I ordered the special lemonade and it was supposed to have a garnish, but the bartender just sort of threw it in a glass and shoved it at me.

The breakfast in the morning was very good and set up well. We returned to our room to pack and were bothered by 4 people knocking on our doors wanting us to leave even though it was only 9:30 in the morning and check out was noon. When we inquired about our transfer to the boat we were told we should have been given vouchers at check in, but we were not. We had to flag down the concerige to get those. We waited for 25 minutes to get a shuttle to our boat while the drivers argued about having to take certain passengers and we saw many groups get taken before us because the drivers wanted to go to certain boats. This was quite a mess!

This hotel is adequate for the before/after cruise traveler, but I really don't think it was worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale - 17th Street for one night in April 2012, before we headed on our 7-day cruise. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back. The hotel was clean, rooms were big to hold a family of 5 and staff was friendly. We had a two-room suite, with two double beds, a pull out couch and a rollaway bed. Make sure to get in before 5pm, as there is Evening Manager's Reception from 5 pm - 7:30 pm with complimentary beverages (alcohol and kid-friendly drinks) and snacks. The hotel also serves a complimentary breakfast, which was great for the family. It also had a nice pool, but we didn't get a chance to use it. And last, but not least, the location is GREAT. It was about a mile away from Port Everglades (cruise terminal) and about a 10-minute cab ride away from the airport, costing $12. There's also restaurants in the area, as well as a shopping plaza - about a 5-minute walk from the hotel, which worked out great for those of us who needed last minute vacation items.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a perfect choice for nightlife, beaches, shopping, and golf. All 361 two-room suites consist of a living room with sleeper sofa, easy chair, dining table & chairs and a separate bedroom with either one king or two double beds. Each suite is equipped with microwave, refrigerator,coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, & 2 flat screen TV's. Also enjoy an outdoor, heated pool, fitness center and The E Spot Restaurant for a chic, casual dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.