We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No safe?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
NYC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“No safe?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed here just 1-night precruise with wife and friends. We found the hotel to be just average. The thing I don't understand is how there are no safes in the room. In this day and age a safe is pretty much a basic amenity. Other than that, It was clean enough, but not spotless. It had boring, but typical decor. It was of average size. The best thing about this place is the location. The french toast at breakfast was also quite good and my friend was impressed with the gym. I won't stay here again simply because they don't have a safe. Not having one was annoying as we felt compelled to walk around town with every valuable we had on us, including money and passports to board our cruise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Although we do not have safes in guests rooms, we do provide complimentary safe deposit boxes at the front desk so guests have a secure place for their valuables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    383
    163
    25
    15
See reviews for
248
330
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed 2 nights pre cruise and it did the job. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy and the linen was of a good quality. There was some noise next door (I think 2 young couples were staying there and came back at 2am and had a night cap), and we were close to the ice machine which was a bit annoying but these things just cant be helped.
The location was great and our floor to ceiling windows offered great views of the marina...lots of light. The free WiFi worked very well and was consistent.
The bathrooms were clean, nothing special in terms of decor or gadgets but adequate storage space for toiletries.
The communal areas were OK, pool area was functional. Staff at reception were fairly unfriendly but not rude, just cold, no greeting, minimal conversation. I get the impression (not just from this hotel) that if it isn't a gratuity based position then this is the norm in the States. If it is gratuity based you get the full works in terms of friendliness!!
One exception was the lady who works on the concierge desk who was really friendly and on the ball.
Overall a pleasant stay. For the price it was in my opinion good value. There was nothing negative about this hotel. It isn't going to blow your socks off in terms of luxury or architectual aesthetics but it will keep you dry and comfortable and well located whilst you are in Fort Lauderdale and if you haven't got a fortune to spend on hotels then what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I share them all with my team. I appreciate your willingness to recommend our hotel to others and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is our first time at this hotel and it has been quite disappointing.

Service: To get anything at this hotel it has to be asked for. To get breakfast room service, you have to have a menu, which they don't keep in the rooms. You have to call every day to have one brought to you (they are the kind of menus you have to fill out every day and leave outside your door). So every day we had to request a menu to be brought up. We got room service for breakfast each morning, and at 8:00 each evening the dishes were still sitting outside of our door and it wasn't until we called to request someone to pick them up that they did. One day our maid service didn't leave us any towels. We called to request some and 4 hours later they still hadn't been delivered so we had to call again. Our air conditioner wasn't working when we arrived so we had to call to have it fixed. When we called they sent someone up right away to fix it.

Location: It depends on what you are looking for. If you are looking for a quieter place toward the end of the strip, this is the place to go. The beach by us wasn't crowded at all and there weren't a million people around. If you walked a little further up the strip there were a lot more people.

Food: The hotel only serves breakfast and a limited menu of about 5 items for lunch by the pool. They have no options for dinner. There is a Bubba Gump's restaurant just outside of the hotel, so that was convenient.

Cleanliness: When we arrived there was garbage from the previous guests in the garbage basket. There were also stains on the furniture.

Value: We didn't have to pay for the room so I can't vouch for value of the rooms. However, the room service prices are ridiculous. Breakfast for 2 people was $45, and that was for coffee, juice, pancakes and a breakfast sandwich. Also, on the beach the hotel didn't provide any beach chairs. There were chairs and umbrellas out there, but you had to pay $20 a day for 2 chairs and then an additional $10 if you wanted cushions on them and $10 if you wanted an umbrella.

The weekend we were there was Superbowl weekend. They had flyers laying around the hotel for the Superbowl party they were having. Apparently whoever printed them neglected to notice that the other side of the paper had already been printed on, with confidential client information. The back of every page listed client's names, state, breakdown of room charges and the type of credit card they had, as well as the last 4 digits of the card number. So these flyers with personal information were distributed all around the hotel. Not real comforting to know that this is their level of security!

Overall, if you asked for something, they would provide it. But the things we asked for were basic things which should have been included in the first place, basic services like towels and cleaning up after your breakfast dishes. The best thing about the hotel was it's location. The rest we could have done without.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
I think that an apology for our shortcomings is certainly due. I expect a higher level of service and responsiveness for all of our guests. I do want to note that Bubba Gump is our dinner offerring which you can charge to your room and the beach furniture is operated by a Ft. Lauderdale city concessionaire. We do care about our guest experience and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate that we can satisfy your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed here with my wife and 2 other couples... What a great time! Super convenient to the beach (across the street) and to night life!!!! The pool bar staff can use some training on how to make drinks and liveliness, but still a great pool area.

The rooms are nice, beds comfortable. The staff is decent. Really no complaints at all! Stayed here 2 days pre cruise and 2 days post.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
I appreciate your comments very much. We do have a great location for both the beach and the port, so I hope that you will join us again during your next cruise vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Great time had by all! This was our second stay at the courtyard. Upon check-in we were upgraded to a king suite oceanview room. It was a corner room and was more than spacious. Loved, loved, loved it! We came with three other couples to celebrate a 40th birthday, and had a fabulous time. The view from our room and pool deck were both spectacular. The pool deck is especially excellent for people watching. Excellent service thoughout our entire trip. Pool bar offers both food and beverages, which is very handy. Easy walking access to most anything you might need. We went to CVS a few times, to pick up snacks and beverages. Excellent breakfast cafe that we went to daily. Prices are ridiculously reasonable.( It is located on oceanfront, next to Bubba Gumps! We will definately return to the courtyard on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you so much for returning to our Courtyard Ft. Lauderdale Beach. I am very pleased to know that you and your friends enjoyed our hotel and our slice of Ft. Lauderdale Beach. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed here pre cruise, and it was a great location. Right on the beach, within walking distance of restaurants and bars, and a nice pool and pool bar. Rooms were clean and spacious. Nice view of the water from the large picture window in our room. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in FLL.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Your favorable comments and willingness to recommend are greatly appreciated! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I stayed here with my family and in-laws for four nights over the New Year period.

Initial impressions were that we had made a great choice as the hotel was right in the heart of the beach area - not that we intended to use the beach that much - it's just that we like being where the action is.

I had originally chosen the hotel because of it's proximity to Las Olas. It is right at the beach end of Las Olas and had (foolishly) thought we might be able to walk to the restaurant and shop area of Las Olas. In fact, you can, but it would take a good half hour (it does - I did it alone first night) and as we were travelling with an elderly couple, this was not really viable. We did take a taxi to that area one evening and it was just $10. The Water Taxis are a great way to get to that area - takes a while, but it's well worth it.

Check-in was efficient and the staff friendly. Room was clean and comfortable - no complaints at all. Free internet access was handy. The rest of the hotel was clean as well (exceptionally so one day as it had a visit from Mr Marriott himself). All decorated to a high standard.

We ate breakfast each day at the hotel which was very nice - buffet style - the staff pleasant and accommodating.

Disappointments:
The pool and pool area is small and seemed to be in the shade all the time (December) - though there is a large patio area above which seemed to catch the sun better. Obviously the hotel is really close to the beach, so I guess this wouldn't be an issue to most.
Valet Parking - Great service, but $26 a day is expensive and there's no self park facility. If we'd stayed longer, we probably would have investigated the parking lot next door which is only $15 a day.

Complaints made:
Our room hadn't been serviced one of the days - we advised of this when leaving the hotel at 5pm and it had been sorted for our return later that evening (it was New Year's day, so maybe a bit short-staffed).
The hairdryer in the room fell apart. Took to reception and asked if we could get a replacement - one was sent to the room within 5 mins. All problems dealt with efficiently and promptly.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. It is a good hotel and we found it good value for money. It's in a great location and I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
I appreciate your comments and high ratings very much. I am always glad to know that our guests were pleased with their visit and willing to recommend us to others. We did have some excitement during your visit when Mr. Marriott stopped by. I also like the Las Olas area very much. My favorite way to get there is the Water Taxi just as you discovered. I agree that it is close, but a bit too far to walk to the restaurants and shops. A short cab ride or of course the Water Taxi are the better choices. Thanks and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.