We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #43 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Good location with easy access to boardwalk and beach.
Clean.
Excellent concierge(s) and service.
Pools a little small.
Breakfast buffett is good, but pricey. Other eateries less expensive are nearby,
Especially recommend the coffee place near Bubba Gumps. Delicious, fair priced and fast!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at our Marriott Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach. We are very fortunate to have a great location and Concierges that are friendly and knowledgeable about the many things to do nearby. We thank you for your comments and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    345
    151
    21
    13
See reviews for
232
298
33
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom Pa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Husband and I stayed August 1- August 4, 2010. Great location, near restaurants, shopping and the beach right across the street. No need to rent a car, FLL airport only 6.5 miles. $20.00 taxi fare. Only draw back if you do rent a car, they charge $15.00 a day plus tax. Would stay again. Very clean, everyone we came in contact with were great. Pool area is nice. Beach is great. Free beach towels, but they charge for beach chairs. Go 3 blocks to CVS and buy beach chairs, and then we give to another family when we leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Thank you so much for your favorable comments regarding your experience at the Marriott Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach. I am very pleased to know that you and your husband enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area. We are fortunately located right in the middle of all of the things that visitors want to do. The chair vendor on the beach has a contract with the City of Fort Lauderdale and therefore they are allowed to charge. I will share your comments with my Team and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Excellent location - across from the beach with excellent view from the pool area of the beach and ocean. We stayed on 12th floor with fantastic views of the intra costal waterway and the beach area.
Buffet breakfast is excellent and was not crowded with excellent service from the staff. Pool is still poor and there are no features on the sun deck. Pool towels can be a bit hit and miss and having to sign them in and out is a little odd. Why not provide 2 a day per guest to the room?
Well positioned to restaurants (above Bubba Gumps) and an excellnet German Bar tucked away in an alley with 22 beers on tap!
Valet parking is both expensive and in my view uncecessary.
We are going to retunr in October 2011 for our third visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you so much for returning to the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. We appreciate your comments/suggestions and look forward to your next visit in October 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

All I can say is that I was extremely surprised about the value received from the hotel during a recent stay with my wife and young son. After gathering a general consensus on Fort Lauderdale vacations as being across the beach and with extraordinary parking fees, I can say I was overly pleased with my stay (July 17-23, 2010)

The hotel is on the south side of the strip of pubs, restaurants and nightlife separated by a public parking lot and a small and convenient strip of small shops. Close enough for the nightlife and far enough for it not to be bothersome or overly distracting to light sleepers.

Balconies may have been a plus, but definitely not a downside. The outside of the hotel may have been somewhat bland in its appearance but from the inside it was an absolute gem. Lobby was well lit and front-desk staff overly accommodating and extraordinarily friendly. Valet staff was of the same outgoing attitude and helpfulness.

Three elevators in a hotel this size may have been standard ... but you will experience some delays on weekends during the rush ... to be expected of any hotel (we stayed on the 2nd floor so the action was a single floor away accessible by stairwell).

Mezzanine was above the lobby with a nice overlooking balcony. A common room with 4 computers with free Internet access and 2 printers (absolutely amazing). This is practically non-existent along the strip (we had friends staying at the Hilton ... no lobby computers, no printers, and Internet in-room was $10 per day!). In-room internet was somewhat slow for high-bandwidth corporate use, but for general surfing it was acceptable. Free coffee, with tv and sitting area was a plus.

The room booked was a typical King-bed with a pullout, separated by some sliding doors which my 3yr old son found amusing (he considered it "his room" sleeping on the pullout with his own tv, and a desk which served as a play table). The room was kind of tight but not to the extent of being cramped. We had plenty of space for luggage and the typical beach-garb of a full-size cooler and sandcastle gear. The bathroom was up-to-date and very clean (aside from the problem of shower not draining very well). The room decor is upbeat to the "Florida style" and looks to have fairly new. The hallways were always clean and vending machines, ice machine and washer/dryer were much appreciated.

The restaurant in the hotel was an above-average typical Marriott Courtyard style buffet along with menu items. Fresh fruit, cereals, scrambled eggs and bacon, potatoes, french toast, breads and custom egg station staffed by a chef was out of this world. Restaurant staff was friendly and accommodating.

The pool area was nice and hot during the morning hours, and noted in a previous review was shaded by post-3pm sunshine. The deck surrounding the pool could have used a lot more tables, chairs, umbrellas and lounge chairs. The bar and outdoor menu was a pleasant surprise that could have been used a lot more, but being so close to the strip and action it kind of seemed redundant ... but appreciated regardless. The stairs and landscaping to the city street and beach was beautiful to look at. A more kid friendly pool area might be a welcome addition, but not suited to the type of crowd that Fort Lauderdale attracts.

Valet parking was friendly, fast and accommodating in every way. Parking is not underground so expect a dusty car from a nearby unpaved lot. Overnight and public parking is right next door.

The few visits to the front-desk, and requests for extra towels were quickly fulfilled. At one point I believe a security guard delivered a request (thank you).

Be sure to visit the Marriott site and use your CAA/AAA automobile card for potential promotions. I booked a King bed room with a pull-out for $120 which included 2 adult buffet breakfasts and valet parking! Hands down the best deal on the strip.

The 7-eleven across the street would satisfy the sweet-tooths. The strip of night-life and bars just up the street served the drinking buddies well with 4/$10 and 5/$12 beer bucket specials. The pizza and greek fast-food joints just next door made the late-night munchies disappear.

In conclusion all I can say is that the Courtyard Marriott should be considered a 5-star destination along this strip offering a near-perfect score for every available aspect of my mini-vacation to Fort Lauderdale. Every person involved in the running of this hotel should be thanked for many wonderful memories.

Rm 204.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you so much for your favorable comments regarding the Marriott Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach. I am pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed our location and facilities. You mentioned our bank of computers available on the mezzanine level and free internet throughout the hotel including the pool deck. We know that our guests want to stay connected and have information available at their finger tips when they travel. I appreciate your comments regarding cleanliness and friendly staff. I promise to share your comments with my Team. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel has a great location right next to a beautiful beach and nearby great nightlife. It is also a short 6 minute drive from downtown Ft. Lauderdale. The rooms are nice for a Courtyard property and the staff is very helpful. My only complaint is the restaurant closes rather early - too early when I arrive after a long day of flying. If you bring a car, know that parking is valet only and $25 per night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for visiting the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. Fortunately we do have a great location in relationship to the beach, nightlife and downtown. I appreciate your comments/suggestions and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed here 5 nights for a South Florida beach getaway, and were very happy. The location is the best on the beach. At first I was afraid to stay across the street, but it was wonderful. The views from the pool terrace are amazing. The pool itself is very basic, but it offers a place to cool off and go back up to the sundeck for the people watching and great views. There are gorgeous palm-tree lined walkways along the beach side and the hotel side. Time from our room to our spot on the beach was literally minutes....less time than some resorts we've stayed at that are right on the beach. We were on the 8th floor with views of the beach and ocean, the city, and Seabreeze Avenue where all the shops and restaurants are located. We think the best part of the beach is right in front of the hotel. It tends to get narrower the further north you go.

We booked a AAA package and had 2 breakfast buffets daily and free valet parking. Be aware the valet parking is $25 a day. The restaurant has limited hours, but that is not a problem because there are tons of choices within very close walking distance. We recommend St. Bart's Coffee to the south. Wonderful smoothies and blended coffees as well as sandwiches. To the north on Seabreeze Avenue is a mecca of restaurants with dining al fresco with views of the ocean and many featuring live music....all within easy walking distance. It's an awesome place to people watch. There is an ice cream shop and shopping. A little further down is Beach Place with Hooters, Lulu's Bait Shack, Fat Tuesdays, a CVS and other retail stores. The pace really picks up on the weekends and it is literally like a street party with live music everywhere.

We ate at Spazio for Italian. Very good, but kind of pricey. Lulus Bait Shack was really good, reasonably priced, and had great ocean views. Mangos on Las Olas Blvd. was also good and was the most inexpensive meal we had. For Mexican we tried La Bamba on Commerce St. and had the best margaritas ever.

A must do is the water taxi. It's $15 pp for an all day pass, or $7 after 7 PM. We did the after 7 tour. You get a great tour of the multi million dollar homes and yachts, and lots of information about who owns what. We got off at Las Olas, had dinner, strolled the shops, and enjoyed the rest of the ride back, including a stop at the cruise port. It's a two block walk from the hotel.

The staff was always accomodating and friendly. The room was kept spotless. They're not huge, but are comfortable and laid out nicely. They are larger than a regular room, and the divider is nice. The hotel was quiet and we never had a problem sleeping. Free wireless internet is an added value.

We were very pleased and would definitely go back. The only suggestion I would have is opaque coverings on the room dividers for added privacy. The rooms do not have balconies, which I usually require in a beach location, but the trade off in location was worth it. The windows are large and views are great. We especially enjoyed sitting on the pool terrance under an umbrellas watching the people on Seabreeze and enjoying the ocean breeze and beautiful water. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you so much for your favorable comments regarding your visit to the Marriott Courtyard Ft. Lauderdale Beach. We do have a great location and I agree that the beach in front of our hotel is the best. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed the water views, the surrounding entertainment options and especially our staff. I appreciate your comments and hope that you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

This was our first time staying at the Courtyard and would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again. I'm a very attentive person when it comes to cleanliness and the hotel did meet my expections. We had an intercoastal view room in which was very pleasant to look out especially at night when all the lights are lit. (Lots of yachts and the Swimming Hall of Fame). Our room wasn't huge, but it was definitely comfortable. (We had a king size bed , desk and a chair sofa in it.). They offer complimentary coffee and wifi in the rooms as well as lounge area. They have a great area to use the internet (3 computers) and you can print your search complimentary.The swimming pool isn't that big, however Fort Lauderdale Beach is right across the street. The hotel blocks the sun after 3:00 so the pool area gets shady early. However, the sun bathing area is quite spacious and you can definitely get some rays in that area. The breakfast buffet is great and the staff always provided service with a smile. The bartenders Tom and Paula were awesome. They were very nice and helpful. Bar area was nice but closes at 10:30-11:00 depending on traffic. After checking out all the hotels nearby I can honestly say that this hotel has the best location for convenience and value! (Tip:I got a great deal thru AAA that included free breakfast and free valet parking @ $135.00/night). The city bus, sun trolley, and watertaxi ($15.00 p/p per day all day access on and off at all stops) are all close by. There's a Seven 11 across the street, CVS down the street and plenty of resturants and bars such as Bubba Gump(downstairs from hotel), Hooters, Lulu Lulu' Bait Shack and more all within walking distance. Galleria Mall isn't to far, but not within walking distance (roughly $10.00 taxi ride).Galleria Mall has a great selection of food items to eat at reasonable prices. Definitely alot of places to go charter boat fishing and any other water sports are nearby.
The two cons that I would have is that the safe deposit boxes are located in the lobby and there's only one washer/dryer in the hotel (w/ complimentary detergent). Not that your going to do laundry on your vacation, however due to alot of airline weight limits I can see people traveling lighter and needing to use the facilities more. Otherwise excellent hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
I am the General Manager of the Marriott Courtyard Ft. Lauderdale Beach and I just want to thank you for your very favorable comments. We are always eager to receive guest feedback. I promise to share your comments with my Team and especially Tom and Paula whom you mentioned individually. We appreciate very much your intention to recommend and look forward to your return visit to the Marriott Courtyard Ft. Lauderdale Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.