We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location! Right across the street from the beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach. The only negative I can think of would be the pool is shaded in the afternoon. Paula, the seaside bartender, is so pleasant and easy going. She even had a staff member order our food from Bubba Gump Shrimp, which is just below the pool. Comfortable, clean rooms. Super friendly staff from the front desk to the restaurant staff and housekeeping. Parking was $35/day, a tad expensive. Nice deep warm pool (8Ft) Overall, we really enjoyed it. We were able to walk everywhere and the beach is the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. Our location is within easy walking distance to most of the fun things to see and do on Fort Lauderdale Beach. Also I think we have the best of the beach right in front of our hotel. My team is always eager to receive guest feedback on their service and I will be sure to share your comments with them, especially Paula! Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    379
    162
    24
    15
See reviews for
247
326
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southold, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

In town for 24 hours and this was the first hotel we stopped at to see if there were rooms available. From the moment we got there the staff was very courteous, we had a rear water view room which was very spacious & clean. We requested extra towels @ the front desk before going out for dinner and they were in our room for us when we returned. The only disappointment was that AM breakfast/room service was not available as the kitchen was undergoing a renovation.Other than that we had a great stay & would definitely stay there when we are back in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and excellent rating. I appreciate your interest in returning and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just stayed here July 2014 before a cruise. There were 16 of us all together. We checked in a different times but were all on the same floor in close proximity. The hotel is undergoing a major refresh so it is hard to comment on some of the public areas. It is right across the street from the beach and located in an area with lots of restaurants and stores within an easy walk. The service was top notch from check-in to check-out. The lobby is quite busy for the 2 hour window while people are leaving for the cruise port but this is to be expected. We had no trouble getting help with our luggage or arranging transportation to the cruise port.

We will be back in February 2015 before our next cruise. I am anxious to see the newly renovated areas..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and rating. I will share them with my team and we will look forward to showing you our completed refresh when you return in February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claysville
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We got here on July 18 and the people at the front desk were very friendly. Our room is very clean and the view is ok could be better.My Wife ans I are at breakfest as im giving this review and I wanna give a shout out to Jamal he a great attitude and is veryvpeople friendly. Hope the manager takes notice.wish the pool was bigger. My Wife will be staying here again in Sept. The Seabreez bar has some great drinks and cold beer. A 30.00 credit would have been nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I will definitely recognize Jamaal personally. We do offer a rate plan that includes a $30 hotel credit for each 3 day stay. We're making many improvements and I hope that you will return to see them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Arrived early hours of the morning and we were checked in by a very friendly lady, Britney. We were not aware that the hotel was undergoing renovations nor that the restaurant was closed, but she explained how it worked - free continental breakfast and a daily credit of $30 to be used at the hotel store or the pool bar. Breakfast staff were very helpful, the breakfast itself was not very good. The hotel is located across the road from the beach, which is beautiful and two blocks away from the noisier restaurants which was good. The rooms don't have safes which has its downsides. We were automatically checked out on the last day with our credit card being charged with all incidentals. The $30 credit was only applied for the first day. A very rude lady at the front desk said that we had it wrong about a daily credit and that we should take it up with Britney's supervisor. Her lack of customer service has soured an otherwise lovely family holiday.

Room Tip: 816 has a partial sea view and a little sitting room. 820 has a waterway view. Both nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have made every effort to inform our guests prior to making a reservation that we are undergoing a renovation. The continental breakfast offering was just a temporary solution to the kitchen renovation for a few days. We are adding safes in all the guestrooms. Hotels should have safes especially on the beach. Thank you for mentioning Britney and I want to extend an apology for the other associate that you encountered. There is no excuse and I am sorry that her behavior cast a negative over your "otherwise lovely family vacation". I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The check in was beyond ridiculous, the lobby was overpacked with people trying to check in and waiting for transportation, the lobby is way too small for this hotel. Our rooms were very nice and a great view of the beach. The pool was very small and pool towels were not readily available, there was always a wait. It is right on the beach which is very nice. Breakfast buffet was okay but nothing great and our waitress was very distracted. We may try it again but probably not!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I'm hoping that you will try us again. We are undergoing a renovation that will touch essentially every area of our hotel from landscaping to the pool deck to all of the components on the inside. I wish we could make our lobby bigger at the same time, but we are restricted by the structure. We don't aspire to be just okay, so I hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn a higher rating. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A mediocre hotel that is passable if you don't want to spend too much. The rooms are clean. The hotel definitely needs to be refreshed as it is feeling a little shabby. The breakfast buffet is terrible: packaged pastries, styrofoam cups, and plastic silverware. Some parts of the hotel have a slight musty smell. Feels more like a Hampton Inn quality than a Courtyard. The wifi is free, but very poor quality.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are currently undergoing a renovation that will address each area that you mentioned. The complimentary continental breakfast was just offered for a few days while our kitchen was out of service for renovation. We are installing a totally new internet system which will be completed before the end of July. Guest rooms, public areas, Fitness Center, Business Center, pool deck and landscaping are all part of the plan. I hope that you will return to give us the opportunity to change your opinion from decent to great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.