We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position but tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #46 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Stratford upon Avon, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good position but tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is more or less in the best position in Fort Lauderdale. Right opposite the beach and far enough away from the hectic bars further along the beach to be relatively quiet. It is however showing its age and about time for a refurbishment especially the pool area. Rooms are OK with good views from higher rooms from any room. Concierge was very helpful. OK for pre and post cruise but don't think I would want to stay there for longer. At $300 per night it is overpriced for what is a 3 star hotel

Room Tip: Any higher room has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I'm glad that you found your visit satisfactory and I want you to know that we will be renovating this summer. All areas including guest rooms, restaurant and public areas will be updated. We have a great location and we want you to thoroughly enjoy every aspect of our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Marriott Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    363
    155
    24
    14
See reviews for
242
314
34
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Location couldn't be better. Valet parking is super fast but includes a fee maybe $30 or so. Room was fine, great ocean view. Right across the street from the beach. Pool seemed nice and has a poolside bar and area to hang. Would definitely stay again. If you can get a rate in the $150 range it's a steal.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M_13684, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for staying at our beach front hotel during your recent visit to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach. The hotel location is great to all the beach activities, cruise port, downtown and our international airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We chose this hotel as a one night layover between a cruise and flying home. The location was amazing, as it has a walkway past the pool, the pool bar, and straight onto the street that fronts the beach. Also has excellent views from the pool to the ocean.
My main objection was that we were there during spring break and had to wak up early to catch a flight. The college students coming home late at night were loud and the sound proofing of the room was practically non-existent.
The common areas were nice, but were a little old looking, while the room itself was quite nice and spacious.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M_13684, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your layover between your cruise and flight home. Our beach front location is very popular to families, cruisers, business people and this time of year, college students on spring break. I do apologize that spring breakers arriving back to the hotel late at night did disturb you. We will be a new hotel when our renovation is complete with modern updates to the hotel common areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I booked a last minute trip to Ft. Lauderdale with my 2 teenage daughters for 2 nights. We arrived at 9:00am and was thrilled that our room was ready. Our room was great, spacious and very clean. The staff was great on all levels, could not have been more accommodating. Food was very good- breakfast/lunch. Location is spot on, just cross the street from the beach. Very happy with this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M_13684, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
It is always nice to hear from guests who book last minute to enjoy a few days at our beautiful beach. Our beach front location is terrific and a short walk to many fine food and entertainment places. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed one night post cruise. We arrived early and there was no problem having them store our bags while we took advantage of the beach. Staff were peasant & efficient and our room was ready when we came back later in the afternoon. (They did offer to call us when the room was ready but we didn't have our cell phone) We also needed late check out because of our flight. They graciously allowed us to stay until 1pm and again store our luggage with the valet. Room was spacious & clean and the view was amazing. The building itself is a bit antiquated, the elevator is slow. However, in no way was it dirty.. We walked to the beach across the road. We ate elsewhere so I can't comment on the restaurant. There is a bar at the pool but we wanted to enjoy the beach while we could. Didn't have a car but signs for beach parking were $30 a day so I think their price for valet parking is cheaper than the street. Taxi to or from the airport runs about $25. They do have a shuttle (not complimentary) to take you to places and there is a concierge at the desk during the day to help you holiday plan and to buy tickets for the Trolley, which is a block away in two directions, depending on which route you take. Cost is what you have to spend to be on the beach. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_M_13684, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I am happy to hear that we were able to assist you with early arrival and extend a helpful late check out accomodate your flight departure. We have a great beach front location on a world class beach. Part of our hotel modernization will include updates to our elevators. I hope on future cruises you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our third time at the Courtyard! Can't say enough about this hotel. Love the proximity, Love the rooms and the views! Very clean, spacious rooms. Upper Scale Courtyard with reasonable prices. Was however disappointed being a gold Marriott member they no longer offer complimentary breakfast to gold members. This was one of the main reason I booked this hotel. Being a family of 5 we appreciate our complimentary breakfast. Our previous stays we always had breakfast vouchers. Apparently this is a "owner" choice per Marriott. Recommend St. Bart's beachfront location directly below the hotel on the boardwalk Excellent prices and food.

Room Tip: This trip we had a room on the side. Beachfront and inter coastal views. All beautiful. Not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
The greatest compliment a guest can give a hotel is to return. I thank you very much for continuing to stay in our hotel and your excellent rating. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I booked this hotel in the past...and rebooked for a recent business/pleasure trip last week. and so glad I did...the geneneral manager Bill Cunningham is wonderful...he has a great staff & has done a great job juggling parents, kids & vacationers but still manages to accommodate business travelers.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I appreciate your comments very much. We do serve a mixture of guests staying with us for different reasons. We try to determine the purpose for our guest's visit and consequently their needs and expectations. I feel especially good when guests can combine business and some pleasure. Thank you for your excellent rating and returning to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Marriott Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.