We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, smells bad.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lauderdale Beachside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lauderdale Beachside Hotel to your Saves list
Lauderdale Beachside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   4660 North Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Lauderdale-by-the-Sea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old hotel, smells bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Old hotel, smells bad, terrible sheets and towels... Close to the beach? Yes, but that's it! Be prepare for a terrible maintenance place. On my first day in my room, there were pillow cases missing, safe not working, coach you couldn't seat on, light missing, a room for 4 with 2 beds with only 3 pillows and 2 towels. Be careful and be prepare. They are same price hotels around in much better situation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your response. I apologize for the issues you have come across. We would like for you to come back and have a better experience.

Thank You

Andrew Sampat
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    90
    117
    92
    210
See reviews for
143
167
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Where to start? Took forever to check-in and got into room later than advertised time. Hallways and elevator dirty and unkept. Pool area worn and disgusting with a pile of clothes sitting on bottom of pool. Non secure bldg or pool so any one can wander in if they want. The room was filthy and creepy. First thing I always do is check for bed bugs, And while I did not see any live ones, Both beds were LOADED with stains from their feces, And had obviously had or may still have an infestation problem (why would they not replace the beds if they treated the room?????)
Shower curtain rod kept falling down. No handles on dressers, Although we never would have used them, And were afraid to unzip our suitcases and left them way up on top.
We complained to mgmt and were given another room which was just as unkept and in poor condition, But bed looked ok so we stayed. After an hour or two of sleep I got up to use the bathroom only to see a cockroach scurry across the floor when the light came on. Never was able to sleep again after that. We decided to get the hell out of there, And wanted to speak to the manager, But were told that he likes to sleep late and is unavailable, But would call us later. The ONLY good thing we can say is that he did call and refund our money, But it still does not make of for ruining our vacation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. I apologize for all inconveniences and look forward to your next stay so we may prove to you that we have very pleasant accomodations.

Thank You

Andrew Sampat
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hi. We just came from Lauderdale beachside hotel, I stayed there for 2 weeks in February 2013.
The hotel is great, location is perfect! Hotel has 2 buildings itself, one is on Ocean Blvd and the other one is right on the beach with swimming pool and a bar that was not unfortunately working at that time. Building that is on the beach is usually fully booked!! So if you guys go there check for the building on the beach first maybe you are lucky :)

Price is very good for the hotel that is located right on the beach. Also they provide a free breakfast with fruits, coffee and tea, muffins and toasts, milk and juices which is very light and good. Hotel provides towels to the beach as well. Hotel rooms are big, have safe, micro oven and refrigerator. Location is good, right across the street is nice Pizzeria Carina, Publix supermarket, Subway and beauty saloon :). There is also a shuttle called Pelican that goes on the Ocean Blvd is free. Not far from this hotel like in 10-15 min to drive from hotel you can be in Las Olas Blvd which has nice places to eat and have some shopping for souvenirs. And Galleria Mall is very close to that blvd as well where you can shop for clothes, shoes and cosmetics.

I should say that front dest is very friendly. I want to mention the front desk manager Andrew he is a great guy and was very helpful, thanks Andrew :)
And top manager Mr Shaw is very friendly and always there to help or ask any of my questions. With people like them this hotel will get only better!!

Wish you guys good luck!! If I go to Fort Lauderdale for vacations again I will definitely stay in this hotel again. Thanks a lot for everything my vacations were great!!

Assel :)

Room Tip: I liked the room with the view of the ocean a lot. And rooms that have view of swimming pool are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for all of your kind comments on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. We truly appreciate everything you have said and the entire staff and Lauderdale Beachside says "hello". We would welcome you back any time.

Have A Great Day,

Andrew Sampat
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemont, il
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was very skeptical about this hotel because of the reviews, but our stay turned out to be great and at a great price. There was some confusing when we first checked in but after looking at a couple of rooms and talking to Andrew the manager everything was settled and we were very happy. They recently changed owners so they are in the process of renovating rooms ours had a new bathroom and was very clean. Breakfast included cereals, Sara lee muffins and danishes and fruit which was perfect for a quick snack in the AM. The hotel staff was very friendly, and nice. The location was absolutely perfect your right on the beach across the street is some restaurants, a grocery store, and cvs. The tiki bar was closed but they allow you to BYOB and there was a jukebox so actually it was better you can go drink with people and save money. The reviews on this hotel are very deceiving everything was perfect you cannot expect a 5 star hotel at there prices but what your paying for is well worth it. We will defiantly be returning again!! :)

Room Tip: The Ocean Front rooms are amazing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Good Afternoon,

We appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor. It is splendid to hear you have enjoyed your time with us. We would love for you to come again another time. Just let us know.

Have A Nice Day,

Andrew Sampat
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It is a bit run down/outdated, but fine for those who aren't fussy about hotel details and just want to stay on the beach and enjoy the many things this area has to offer. The location is great - right on the beach, just down the street from great restaurants/bars, and right across the street from a mall with grocery store, pharmacy, etc. Also, there's a car rental place just a short walk from the hotel (which we took advantage of).

The service was good and friendly, breakfast was okay (coffee, cereal, toast). There are two buildings - one right on the beach, the other across the street. Get a room in the one on the beach if you can (we stayed in the other one and were a bit disappointed as we overlooked the parking lot and had no balcony). Overall, we enjoyed it very much. If you're an easy-going person, don't fret too much about the negative reviews here - in my opinion those people are fussy and have way too high expectations considering that the price is cheap (you can't expect 5 stars when you pay 2 star prices). Although the hotel needs updating, our room was clean and we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. As you have stated, it is a very nice place to stay for anyone who would love to enjoy our location. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank You

Andrew Sampat
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel for 2 nights as we left it very late to find a room and it was the only place with space, we are staying in the executive suites..I am itching from head to toe, the hotel and room are disgusting, filthy and in desperate need of a refurb. The ceiling is covered with stains and god knows what else, the curtains are hanging off, the carpet is old and filthy and non of the furniture matches. The mattress cover won't stay on the bed and we have spent the whole evening looking for an alternative, to no avail. We stayed out as long as possible so we wouldn't have to come back here u til we absolutely had to. The staff on reception are pleasant enough but their white t shirts are grubby and they look unkempt, there are only 2 hand towels and a flannel in our bathroom. It's as though the hotel is being run by lazy useless teenagers, can't believe they are still in business.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize for the issues you have come across. I hope that you can come back in the future so we can offer you a better stay.

Thank You

Andrew Sampat
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott NY, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My friend and I booked a room with this hotel for our mini vacation, to our surprise when we got there we did not get a room in the hotel that was on the beach as stated when we booked, but rather a room in the hotel behind it. When we got to our room we pulled out the night stand to plug in our phones only to find old food, garbage and a crack pipe! (way to go housekeeping!!!) ....... we called down to the front desk to let them know and we were moved to another room (no crack pipe this time) but there were also no blankets on the beds! The sheets were dirty as well. The next morning we asked to speak to the manager and we were directed to Andrew! Andrew was great, apologized for our experience and refunded us for the whole trip! I feel as though Andrew may be to good to be working for such a poor establishment. At the very least this man deserves a raise for having to explain to customers that the housekeeping staff does not clean and they do not have enough blankets to go around to all the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I appreciate everything you have had to say about me. It really did put a smile on my face. Again, I apologize for the issues you have encountered and hope that one day you can come back to have a better stay.

Thank You
Andrew Sampat
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lauderdale Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauderdale Beachside Hotel

Address: 4660 North Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lauderdale Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Lauderdale Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderdale Beachside Resort
Clarion Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.