We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lauderdale Beachside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lauderdale Beachside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lauderdale Beachside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   4660 North Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Lauderdale-by-the-Sea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for the first time last year. Not great, but acceptable. Kept up through the year on here with the reviews and I have to admit I was a little more worried. Stayed for 2 nights, with no issues what so ever. Clean room, beautiful view. Could have had more towels and toilet tissue, but more was given when we called for it. With the location, a little bit more spit shining and getting the Tiki bar up and running this place has the potential to be fantastic. I really hope it does nothing but get better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for writing on Trip Advisor. We hope to accomplish the bright future you, as well as ourselves, see the potential our property has. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank You

Andrew Sampat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    70
    99
    85
    188
See reviews for
121
150
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I come in with a large group of people every year and we have been considering changing our annual trip. This year changed our mind about doing so. Lot's of changes and improvements were seen some completed some underway. Last year was spent with people complaining about the rooms and basic ameneties and toiletries being missing. I didn't get that from the group this year and when something came up your staff was quick to fix or resolve issues.
You really can't beat the price and location of being able to just walk out on to the beach. I will be in touch to talk about next year.

Room Tip: really can't beat the ocean side rooms at sunrise the view is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your writing a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the fact that you decided to give our hotel another chance this year and found that you made a wise decision. We have gone through various improvements on the property and will continue to do so. We look forward to seeing your group again in the future.

Thank You

Andrew Sampat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for a weekend every January for almost the past 8 years. Last year was so bad, I swore I would never return. But some local friends had visited the property and assured me they had seen improvements. And where else can you get a beachfront room with a balcony for $109 in January?? The price lured me in, and I'm glad I trusted my friends. So about the improvements: 1. Overall, the place felt cleaner. The stairwells were clean, not riddled with trash as they had been. The hallways smelled fresh, not moldy. 2. My room had toiletries and toilet paper--unlike last year when I had to beg for it. The furnishings were not new, but weren't beaten and battered either. 3. The Tiki Bar, which was a mismanaged pit last year, is being renovated and will open in a few weeks. There was a crew there everyday, painting, installing new ceiling fans, etc. 4. But the biggest improvement of all was the friendliness of the staff. Last year, I got yelled at by a housekeeper when I asked for toilet paper, and the front desk people were clearly overwhelmed and underpaid and their attitude showed it. This year, everyone was actually NICE and HELPFUL! People smiled and actually asked if they could help you. The lobby isn't swank, but it was clean and inviting. (And I've never seen bugs here, but others in the past have complained about ants in their rooms). Our group filled over a dozen rooms here last weekend, and no one complained about their rooms. Last year, that was all anyone talked about.

Look, this is a budget hotel. Only the most budget conscious travelers will want to stay here. Don't book this place for your honeymoon. But if your needs are simple and you want to be ON THE BEACH, you should consider this place. The location cannot be beat, for our needs. Right across the street, there is a supermarket, a diner, a CVS, a liquor store, etc. Nice restaurants are within walking distance (1/2 mile). This means I don't have to rent a car and can save even more.

Perception and expectation are everything--if you are expecting a nice Hilton style hotel, you will not find it here. Come expecting a budget room in a great location with s friendly staff and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I usually stay in the beachfront building, but the main building is just across a small street---sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay on Trip Advisor. It is absolutely rewarding for us to see that someone can see the improvements we are going through with the hotel. We will continue to make improvements step by step until we accomplish everything we are trying to reach. We are glad to hear your stay was wonderful, as well as the stay of the rest of the group you were with. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank You

Andrew Sampat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I belong to a group of that has been coming to this hotel for the last ten years. However this was my first visit. Yes, I read the posts on here, and I've stories from years past where the hotel was in disrepair. I've also noted the room rate was far below that of other beachside hotels that offer free wifi (can be spotty), a pool, and an in-room microwave and fridge. The place is being renovated and the prior group members indicated that there was a vast improvement. SO,if you aren't looking for a Ritz Carlton, and can deal with some tired furniture and comfy beds, and look beyond what the owners are currently working on, this budget friendly place should be your destination. If you aren't willing to overlook obvious signs of wear that the new owner is taking care of, a little at a time, then keep moving, and don't mar this hotels reputation as they are trying to make it nice. I mean, seriously, did you really think that you will pay $89 a night for a hotel that is less than a quarter of a block from the beach and everything will be perfect? Seriously? I posted pics that were taken three days ago. Take a look for yourself.

Room Tip: I was in Room 419. The bathtub and shower surround were in excellent condition. The room itself is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate everything you have said about us and are proud to see that you have noticed the work that we have been doing. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely

Andrew Sampat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I were sitting at home and wanted to have a stay-cation. We decided Lauderdale by the Sea was the spot to be. I love the Commercial pier and all the little shops and restaurants in that area. I did a little research and found the Lauderdale Beachside Hotel. It was a small, quaint hotel right on the water. We decided this was the prefect place for a night to just get away. The price was right and when we arrived so what the hotel. Our room literally opened to the sand and was everything we wanted. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and always had a smile. We needed towels and within 5 minutes towels were dropped off to the room. I would definitely stay there again because of convenience, location, and the amazing hotel staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. The entire staff at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, as well as myself, are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will see you again sometime in the future and wish you the best on your travels.

Sincerely,

Andrew Sampat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The price for location is great. The rest is bad news!:( The hotel staff was nice but did not follow through on anything. The hotel is run down and in need of total updating from furnishings to linens. The A/C units are extremely loud and come on and off all night. The bath tub actually had bondo fixing where it had cracked/broken through. The TV stations didn't match the channel numbers and kept going out. We had to call 3 times and finally go to the front desk to complain to get our room cleaned.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the beachfront building and ocean front/view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. It's good to know that you enjoyed your location and I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. I hope that you would give us another chance so that we may prove to you that we can offer your excellent service.

Thank You

Andrew Sampat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our nightmare started Jan 4 - 6, 2013. We only went with this hotel because of the rate. It was less expensive by calling directly than by booking on their website. If you want on the beach, this is it. But be aware of everything bad about it. Upon check-in, front desk clerk, rude and had a 'could care less attitude.' On the front desk countertop was a dead flower arrangement. It was there for the 3 day stay. Not a nice way to greet your guests! We should have known to leave. We paid for a beach building room with a partial view. First room: door lock broken, no towels. Went back to front desk to get another room. Same front desk clerk, same attitude and gave us another room.
Second room: not partial view, but pool view. Again no towels, not very appealing, or too clean. Went to front desk to get towels. Same front desk clerk, same attitude and was told they did not have any at that time. We were told to come back later to get them. We left for several hours. Came back, same front desk clerk, same attitude, and was told they did not have any of us but would find some and deliver to our room. This is at 11pm. When we entered our room, they had left towels on top of the microwave. Called front desk and told them they did not have to deliver the towels. About 10 minutes later, someone came to the door with more towels! Towels were very worn, torn, tattered and looked like some were used to clean the floor. Hairdryer unit ripped off wall and stuck on top shelf of closet. Towels had to be placed on top of microwave, outside the bathroom, because there was no place to store the towels. The towel rack was ripped off the wall. Mold in tub. Toilet paper literally was like sand paper! Shower head pointed towards wall and was not adjustable. The beds were very well used and no support. No blankets. Telephone was a wall-mount set on the nightstand, that came from another hotel. Sliding closet doors off track. Under beds were not cleaned, as we found things under them from other guests. Wi-fi did not work in the room. Furniture was well used. No radio/alarm clock. Bad lighting. The freezer portion in the refrigerator, was all frozen over-could not use it. Most surfaces were sticky and icky. Patio chairs broken. No outside security lighting in parking area or building entrance area. Building entrance door is open to the public 24/7. Note that the public access to the beach was within 20 feet of the door. No Tiki Bar or Grill was open when we were there.
On our second night we arrived back at our room late--only to find the room had not been cleaned! Went to the front desk and a different front desk clerk was there, who had the same 'not caring attitude.' Asked if they cleaned rooms daily. She said yes. And we said, no they did not clean our room. She said she would get someone to clean it and we told her it was too late for that. Then she said it would be cleaned tomorrow. Told her it didnot matter, as we were leaving anyway.
Continental breakfast: the bread bag was opened to get your own bread, without any tongs. So we seen kids as well as adults, reach into the bag to get slices of bread--very unsanitary! Cereal dispensers were not working, as the cereal was all over the countertop and on the floor.
When we checked out, another clerk had the 'could care less attitude' and never bothered to say 'thank you'.
Hotel website shows lobby area that does not exist as shown. It is NOT a 'fine hotel or boutique resort'. It is a hell-hole.
Per management comments to come back, do not invite us back, unless the entire hotel is completely renovated and our stay is complimentary.
We did visit the Lauderdale By The Sea Chamber office as we were leaving town and they told us there had been several other complaints about this hotel. We were asked to contact the Mayor's office with our comments, which we will do.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello,

I am very sorry to hear of the issues you have encountered. I hope that we are able to go back and correct everything you have faced.


Have A Nice Day

Andrew Sampat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lauderdale Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauderdale Beachside Hotel

Address: 4660 North Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lauderdale Beachside Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Lauderdale Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderdale Beachside Resort
Clarion Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lauderdale Beachside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.