We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ft. Lauderdale Beach Resort at Inland Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly "Ramada Plaza Beach Resort")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ft. Lauderdale Beach Resort at Inland Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Directly on the beach; booked at the last minute thru Hotelcoupons.com. The price is right! $143.10 plus $15/day for parking and taxes with AARP discount. Not crowded; most of the holiday travelers are sitting at the airports waiting to fly North. Meals are extra, but that's fine because MCDonald's is across the street and there are several very nice sidewalk restaurants within 10 blocks. A major mall is within 3 miles. Great pool, hot tub and poolside bar is available. The rooms were recently renovated and clean.

Room Tip: 9th floor room is relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for great comments on our value and cleanliness. We are indeed close to great shopping and restaurants. We have many amenities on property.

Hope to see you again in the near future.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    296
    228
    125
    115
See reviews for
266
334
40
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Actually booked on Priceline. Got there n $15 parking fee added. Restaurant not good and expensive. They want $60 to stay a few more hours. Actually for most of the day but we only needed an extra hour. Clean and pretty. Good location for us. No chairs on our balcony either. Bell hop sent us to a pizza joint within walking. Called it an Italian restaurant

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
The parking fee and half day rate is very reasonable for a beachfront location. We just purchased balcony chairs for the entire hotel.

We hope to see you again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family and I stayed there dec 28-jan 1st to celebrate NYE in Fort Lauderdale. On paper the hotel looked great, big pool and on the beach. However it is super crowded. We waited 20 min to check in, hard to find spots on lounge chairs at the pool or in the hot tub/ jacuzzi! Also everything is extra- breakfast, parking, rollaway bed in the bedroom... And for a $300 room, you get your basic double double bed room, holiday Inn style! The mattresses were horrible, really hard to sleep on, and the walls aren't soundproof so we were awaken by the next door guests both at midnight and 7 am... Never again...

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It was a very busy time for the hotel. We pride ourselves on great value though any time of the year.

Hope that you consider to see us again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent 1 night before our cruise tour at this hotel. It was a nice place which we would book again for 3-4 days. For a longer period I would maybe look for a different place, because the hotel offered only a few amenities and around the hotel was not much to see. Get your breakfast outside the hotel!
In general: good place for a reasonable price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for commenting on our nice value.

We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Cons:

1- Lamp plugs wedged behind cheap plywood headboard, caused the lights to flicker on and off when ever we moved on the bed. It was like a child hood game of "Red light, Green light"

2- Shower handle fell off on the second day, and I unfortunately left my tool belt home

3- The bathroom was the size of a small closet. It's been a long time since I've been in a bathroom that allowed me to brush my teeth at the sink, while I sat on the toilet.

4- Elevator doors kept banging and scraping. They didn't always open.

5- Balcony sat on the corner of the room over the hotel entry drive thru, and it was behind a solid steel door with a security chain.

Pros:

1- Hotel is located directly on the beach.

2- Although the Valet attendant was saddened that we didn't use valet parking ($15, plus tip), we gladly parked 200 feet across the street in the self parking area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Just remember if you need maintenance in the rooms, we are happy to send one up!

Hope to see you again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Buyer beware if you are booking through the Priceline, No bidding, Express Deal for a 3-Star beach area hotel. You might land this little non-precious gem. I would have heeded the numerous warnings from the reviews but I had no choice but to stay here since it was what we "won."

The positives: The front desk staff allowed us to check-in prior to 3 PM. They would have let us check in as early as 10:00 AM but the only room they had was overlooking the parking lot so we waited. One lady was super friendly, the other spoke to us like we were idiots. We tried to request a room overlooking the ocean, but we were told it would be an additional $100 on top of the $120 we spent on the room. Ummmm, no thank you. I can get a nice room at the Hilton overlooking the ocean for that kind of money.

The hotel is directly on the beach. There are not many hotels in Ft Lauderdale that are. The pool area is very nice and there seemed to be a lot of pool chairs that you could sit in around the pool or facing the ocean (not on the beach). The beach chairs looked like they have seen better days.

There is an outdoor mini putt putt on the second or third level. I cannot comment on the condition as I did not see it.

There is a restaurant inside but it is expensive and being so close to so many fantastic restaurants around Ft Lauderdale and Miami, it seemed like a waste to spend money on overpriced food there. The rooms come with a fridge and microwave so you warm up your food bought elsewhere.

The negatives: Our room appeared to be very clean. Appeared. But upon closer inspection it was not. The carpet was a deep brown, perfect for hiding dirt and other unpleasantries. When I walked without shoes on my feet felt dirty and grimy.

The bathroom is tiled but there is a lot of mold and mildew in the grout. The bathtub/shower combo didn't look very clean and had old rusty fixtures. The light switches were also old and dirty. If we were staying in the room for more than a day I would have disinfected every surface.

The door to the balcony was not installed correctly. The chain lock was useless because it was also installed incorrectly. I normally wouldn't care about a poorly installed balcony door except the wind made the door bump the frame all night. Ugh. Add that to the paper thin walls where you could hear your neighbor like they were talking to you. Not a lot of restful sleep to be had. Especially on the oversoft bed mattress that killed our backs.

After we checked in, we left to get something to eat and when we got back and parked in the self parking area, a valet attendant yelled at us for 5 minutes about not having a "yellow sticker" on our car. We both tried to explain to him SEVERAL times that no one had given us anything to put on our vehicle. He kept asking why we didn't have it and why they didn't give it to us. Before I could tell that man where he could put his yellow ticket my husband stated we would go inside. Once we got inside the lady at the front desk told us we had to go outside for the yellow ticket. Poor poor poor communication.

This hotel is no where near a Hampton Inn, Fairfield Inn or any other three star hotel I have visited. I travel a lot for business and personal. It wasn't the worst hotel I've stayed in but it was definitely not worth the price. Needless to say, we will not be returning. No more blind bidding for three star hotels in Ft. Lauderdale.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We hope that you give us another opportunity.

We would really like to see you again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I arrived on Dec 5th And am still staying here for another 11 days. The beach is gorgeous, the rooms are standard. The only complaint I would have is that the beds are very soft and uncomfortable, very hard to sleep.
The Internet does not work at all in the room. Probably would come back because it is right on the beach and the price is great. Lots of lawn chairs and very pretty area by the tiki bar and hot tub. Parking is $15 a night, a little high but I guess you have to pay for parking at every hotel. And for the same price your car can be valet parked and the valet guys are so nice. My room had a beautiful view from the balcony.
All and all the rooms were clean and your right on the beach. Just the beds and internet were an issue.
Would I come back ? For this price and on the beach YES

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We continue to make improvements all the time. We are very glad to know that you will be coming back.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly "Ramada Plaza Beach Resort")
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Newly renovated rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes, dataports and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-oceanview, open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar, watersports and cabanas. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop, nightclub and lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.