We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly "Ramada Plaza Beach Resort") (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
PEI, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Ocean Sky is a $35 cab from the airport. Was going to take the go airport shuttle but couldn't find them outside our gate (flew with air canada). The hotel is right on the beach. Arrived at 1pm and was able to get into a room. Walked down the street for about 10 minutes and ate at burgerfi, very good burgers. Enjoyed the beach for the afternoon, the sun goes behind the buildings at around 3 so there is no sun after this. Saw an osprey kill and eat a seagull on the beach. Was nice that a computer with internet is available in the lobby for free but they were always occuplied. There are some stores down the street where you can get souvenirs at great prices. Also near by was mcdonlad's, grocery store, pizza outlet and liquior store. The hotel is a little dated, can really notice it in the hallways. Room at a king size bed, flat screen tv, fridge, microwave and safe. The bathroom shower was a little gross and walls are thin. Room has a balcony with a partial view of the water (room 301). I'd give this place a 3 star rating but the service a 2 star. It seemed the staff were always hiding in back rooms.....I got towels from the beach and had to wait for someone to show up. I went to the front desk a couple of times and had to wait again even though I could see/hear 3 of them in the room behind. The next morning at 11 it was nuts trying to check out, I suspect there was a group going on the cruise ships.

Room Tip: We had room 1 on floor 3 and were the furthest from the beach so if you want to get closer to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    288
    216
    119
    115
See reviews for
257
322
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A bit rough around the edges. Staff were reasonably friendly and I can not fault them. The room was very dated but at least it was clean. We slept well because after a long flight we were really tired. The location is not great and is not convinient to Port Everglades which is how it was sold to me. I would not recommend this to a friend. Do not pay more than $100 per night for a room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We feel that when you stay with us before or after a cruise, you get the best of both worlds. You are directly on the beach for the hotel stay, yet only 8 miles from the cruise port. We are one of the few resorts directly on the beach and have done some nice upgrades recently.

Hopefully you consider us again.
Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Illinois, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

A perfect location, providing beautiful ocean views in a surrounding of luxury and superior service. From the moment the parking valet welcomes you, it is obvious a stay at the Ocean Sky will be an exception experience!

There is a fine hotel ambiance balanced with a relaxed and pampered resort appeal. The amenities flourish, with excellent dining and bar service, a pool with comfortable ocean-front deck lounges and an expansive beach.

Coupled with all the qualities of this fine hotel/resort are the gracious staff and surprisingly reasonable rates, making it our choice for a must return vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. It is a real pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

All the best.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Not too many bright spots during our two night stay but let's talk about those first. The valet - what a great guy. He was professional and kind, a real asset. The pool and beach area were pretty awesome, plenty of chairs for lounging but the sun peeks over the buildings by 3ish...

The room itself was old and a bit small. The bed was just awful, it was the worst two nights sleep that I have had in years. The wi-fi is free but my iPad wouldn't even work, I gave up after the first hour. The balcony had a partial view of the ocean. The first night found us awake until 2:30am with our neighbors running up and down the halls, cursing and yelling. It was truly frightening and after six complaints from other rooms(found out the next morning), one would think one would call the police to deal with it. The next morning, we asked to change rooms and was told that the people next door would be checking out, which we appreciated.

The hotel has a great location in a seemingly safe neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and beach to satisfy everyone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for the nice words about our valet. Please advise us if we are fortunate to have a return visit from you and we will make sure that you have a bed more to your liking.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The outdoor area is well maintained. Pool is clean, the beach is right there, sandy and water is warm. Watch out for the swells and waves though. The spoiler comes from the neighbouring property because they have their AC units pointed at the patio. The white noise can be annoying. The staff are nice, the rooms clean, modestly decorated but its fine . Its a bit far from the airport about a $35.00 cab ride. The sun comes off the pool area at 3 pm

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and nice review. We noticed the A/C noise coming from our neighbor and they have since turned the vents towards them eliminating a big part of the noise. We appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was very nice, room was clean and in good shape. we had a small balcony that had 2 chairs on it, so we went out after being out all day and relaxed. People at the desk were friendly and helpful. Water pressure in shower and bathroom sink was weak. Bring bottled water with you,to use in your coffee maker,which is in your room. Pool and hot tub were fun, beach and water were great,clean.Had to pay for our parking $12 a day a little pricey. All in all place was nice ,area was great and i would go back again, nice and relaxing .

Room Tip: ask for a balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you and we would be very grateful to have you back with us. We just replaced all the showerheads to make sure water pressure was not an issue.

We appreciate your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

In town for 3 days to tend to a dying relative with spouse and child in tow. Need to keep child occupied between hospital visits. Ocean-view suite (two double beds in one room w/ adj. bath and liv/div room w/ kitchenette (2 burner elect. range, half-size frig; toaster, coffee maker). The balcony is narrow and most of it faces the condo across a plaza, not the ocean.

The pool is right by the ocean, and there is hot-tub and tiki bar by the pool (all three open until 10 pm). There is a separate beach rental hut on the pool deck. $10 for 9-5 use of a boogie-board for the kid. The beach is shallow going out, so kid for young children.

The staff was friendly, especially the valets.

The room was clean. As others have said, the building is old but the room furnishings are up to date (flatscreens with good viewing angles). Two minor room glitches. For some reason, the cold water valve to the toilet was closed. I opened it so the tank would fill. The liv. AC did not turn on. I think someone hit the test-switch on the plug. I unplugged, reset it, and it worked fine.

Wifi is free, but the speed is not great.

My only strong complaint is that there was lousy lighting on the bathroom mirror. It was hard to see my face clearly when shaving. That said, water pressure (6th flr) was strong and it was a deep whirlpool tub; double sinks.

This is not Fairmont or Peninsula level of luxury, but it is comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: X23 and X24 rooms are on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Sorry about your family member. Thank you for the nice comments. Sounds like there were some minor glitches in the suite but it also sounds like you are handy enough to solve them. Normally, we are happy to take care of them ourselves! We appreciate that you chose us for your stay and we hope to see you again next time for a vacation.

All the best.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly "Ramada Plaza Beach Resort")
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Newly renovated rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes, dataports and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-oceanview, open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar, watersports and cabanas. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop, nightclub and lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.