We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful patio and beachfront” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly "Ramada Plaza Beach Resort")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio and beachfront”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The outdoor area is well maintained. Pool is clean, the beach is right there, sandy and water is warm. Watch out for the swells and waves though. The spoiler comes from the neighbouring property because they have their AC units pointed at the patio. The white noise can be annoying. The staff are nice, the rooms clean, modestly decorated but its fine . Its a bit far from the airport about a $35.00 cab ride. The sun comes off the pool area at 3 pm

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and nice review. We noticed the A/C noise coming from our neighbor and they have since turned the vents towards them eliminating a big part of the noise. We appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    340
    253
    130
    122
See reviews for
291
382
44
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was very nice, room was clean and in good shape. we had a small balcony that had 2 chairs on it, so we went out after being out all day and relaxed. People at the desk were friendly and helpful. Water pressure in shower and bathroom sink was weak. Bring bottled water with you,to use in your coffee maker,which is in your room. Pool and hot tub were fun, beach and water were great,clean.Had to pay for our parking $12 a day a little pricey. All in all place was nice ,area was great and i would go back again, nice and relaxing .

Room Tip: ask for a balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you and we would be very grateful to have you back with us. We just replaced all the showerheads to make sure water pressure was not an issue.

We appreciate your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

In town for 3 days to tend to a dying relative with spouse and child in tow. Need to keep child occupied between hospital visits. Ocean-view suite (two double beds in one room w/ adj. bath and liv/div room w/ kitchenette (2 burner elect. range, half-size frig; toaster, coffee maker). The balcony is narrow and most of it faces the condo across a plaza, not the ocean.

The pool is right by the ocean, and there is hot-tub and tiki bar by the pool (all three open until 10 pm). There is a separate beach rental hut on the pool deck. $10 for 9-5 use of a boogie-board for the kid. The beach is shallow going out, so kid for young children.

The staff was friendly, especially the valets.

The room was clean. As others have said, the building is old but the room furnishings are up to date (flatscreens with good viewing angles). Two minor room glitches. For some reason, the cold water valve to the toilet was closed. I opened it so the tank would fill. The liv. AC did not turn on. I think someone hit the test-switch on the plug. I unplugged, reset it, and it worked fine.

Wifi is free, but the speed is not great.

My only strong complaint is that there was lousy lighting on the bathroom mirror. It was hard to see my face clearly when shaving. That said, water pressure (6th flr) was strong and it was a deep whirlpool tub; double sinks.

This is not Fairmont or Peninsula level of luxury, but it is comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: X23 and X24 rooms are on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Sorry about your family member. Thank you for the nice comments. Sounds like there were some minor glitches in the suite but it also sounds like you are handy enough to solve them. Normally, we are happy to take care of them ourselves! We appreciate that you chose us for your stay and we hope to see you again next time for a vacation.

All the best.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is medium sized with a great location on the beach. The only problem is everything is a little old and doesn't seem to work right. The bathroom light flickered sometimes, there was no hot water a couple of mornings, someone else was assigned to our room as we found when we answered a knock. Wi-fi was sporadic in our room which could be a disaster for the business traveler.
Front desk staff and parking valets were very pleasant but housekeeping staff was grim, no smiles or greetings.
On the positive side, there's a pleasant terrace for outdoor dining and the room had a balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side if you want to get sun on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments but it sounds like we fell a bit short in some areas. We would like a chance to rectify that and turn your opinion more positive. Please contact me for a future visit as I would like to have that opportunity.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My reservation was made on priceline and the date was wrong. When the management saw all my plans were dated the day I showed the date was changed. This was a big savings and made my vacation. Their compassion to me is worth gold. The last time I stayed there the staff was very polite and this time helpful. All I need to do is pick good weather to enjoy the pool next time. Good thing the rooms are so nice, clean with great views. Thanks Ocean Sky (Linda) . 01882r

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We thank you, Linda, for staying with us and your great comments about the front desk staff. It is a pleasure to have you with us and we are grateful that you returned. Hope to have you back with us in the near future!

Best,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Parking
Bad - Had to pay 12 dollars per day for valet parking. Wish I knew before I booked!
Good - Valet was extremely polite and professional and remembered us the whole visit.
Front Desk
Good - Very friendly and polite - a pleasure to deal with, even let us check in early!!! After a long flight = major points with me!
Lobby - Nicely decorated and clean.
Elevators - Quick and clean
Hallways - Old but clean.
Room - Typical older hotel room layout. 2 double beds, flat screen television with lots of my favorite channels. Coffee maker and cream/sugar packets came in handy. AC unit barely worked and would cut on and off all night long... kept me up. Don't believe anything was wrong with it, just noisy. Beds were comfortable and the sheets were clean. The housekeeping girl was very friendly and polite. The room faced an enormous condo unit and had no privacy whatsoever. If you stuck your head out and looked to the right you could see the ocean. Nice plastic adirondack chairs on the balcony but no table to place my coffee a little table would have been nice... there was room for one.
Bathroom - Small. The walls and floors tiled with a decent tile just small! Sink and vanity straight from local home improvement warehouse with no place to put toiletries. Very low water pressure, but clean with clean towels.
Restaurant - We didn't eat here mainly because there was no menu in the room for the restaurant. There was a menu for room service, but wasn't sure if they were the same.
Pool - The patio area was clean with very nice lounge chairs around it. Next to the beach were several "rental" chairs that go for 40 bucks a day. I was politely told that if I intended to stay a while I would need to pay, but to take my time. The pool itself was basic and clean. The ocean view was excellent!
Gift Shop - Typical touristy - over-priced clothing and gifts.
Local Area - Win Dixie a block away, Ocean's Grill kind of a smoky, old pub with excellent food in the same area (the home-made salsa and Mahi rueben were great) Da Vinci's Pizza in the same block was also quite good New York style pizza.

Room Tip: Higher room numbers are closer to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Nice detailed review. I appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are a group of 4 Golfer's who return to Ocean Sky (formerly Ramada) every year. We have noticed major improvements to the property and hotel, especially in the last 6 years! Upon our return this year we see the balcony's are finish and look stunning...really change the look of the building! In addidtion the elevators have been updated with new interiors and controls. A roof-top mini golf course has been added.

A side from the ongoing improvements, the one thing that is consistant is the wonderful staff and management at Ocean Sky. Each year we are recognized and warmly welcomed.

If you are looking for an Ocean Front Hotel with Great Staff, Clean and Comfortable Rooms at a very reasonable price...you have to give this property a try!

Thank you Ocean Sky for the best "Boys Week" to date...see you next year!

Room Tip: Suites offer a much better view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic words. It is greatly appreciated. Thank you for recognizing the elevators, balconies and minigolf. Your kind words about our staff and management is so kind. We have many staff members that have been with us for years. Our goal is for our return guests such as you to notice changes every year. So glad to have you.

All the best.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly "Ramada Plaza Beach Resort")
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.