We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In progress......stay tuned!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Manor Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Manor Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In progress......stay tuned!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A Great beachfront location complete with pool, tiki bar and firepit. The rooms however are widely variable, you MUST INSIST on a "Signature" room, this is one of the newly renovated rooms. We originally booked an oceanfront suite with a kitchenette which was less than satisfactory, For example the kingsized pillow top mattress was turned upside down with spring side up, needless to say resulted in a sleepless night, we tried to turn the mattress over only to find a soiled/stained pillowtop mattress. We then requested a room change to one of the "signature" rooms, the front desk was very accommodating with the request and thus far we are very happy with the newly renovated oceanview room. Additionally, the front desk has been very responsive to our various requests for a roll away bed, extra pillows, more towels, etc. Our stay is still in progress so stay tuned for additional updates and feedback.....

Room Tip: You must insist on a "signature" newly renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    136
    72
    113
    426
See reviews for
245
240
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

WE stayed at this infested hotel for a Pats/Dolphins game, and my husband left with bed bug bites all over his body. It took 2 weeks for the bites to go away. I called the hotel to see if I could get our money back and they told us because we booked through Hotels.Com there is nothing they could do, but offered us a few nights complimentary..ARE YOU SERIOUS????

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner Valey, Alberta
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights. The first room they gave us had blinds on the window that were broken and therefore no privacy. The second room they gave us was decent. It was clean. The taps on the tub were not in great condition but still worked. The walls are thin and all the doors look like they have seen better days. You have to slam the door to make sure it closes, so you hear doors slamming at all hours. We got the room for free but I did hear one patron at 1:30 AM complaining about people slamming doors in the wee hours. I completely understand why he was upset & he was complaining about paying $140 a night to stay there. If you have a low budget and can sleep through anything then this is the place for you. The beach is beautiful. I understand they are under renovations so if they bring the rooms up to date then I would for sure recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed two nights (Pre-paid) pre-cruise/post-cruise 11/24/12 and 12/1/12 at this resort? Sorry to inform you, I got CHEATED not only in the price for the stay, but also the charge of a “resort fee” what a joke.

The first night I stayed there, there was no hot running water, doors were old and unlockable. Oh but wait, I couldn’t get a hold of anyone because the phone that was in the room is a non-working phone and it seems the front desk personnel was in Tokyo Blue? Door was so unsecure that we barely got to sleep. The night club/restaurant in the place just invites “local drinkers” who can’t handle themselves.

The second night we stayed there, door was opened before we even used our room keycard, the sliding doors to the balcony was open as well. The TV did not have a remote to it, which did not allow us to turn off/on, lower or raise the volume from our bed. Oh speaking of the bed, could it have been fastened to the headboard at least so we did not have to lose our pillow during our sleep? Oh wait this is a resort? I am a timeshare owner and I know what a resort is. THIS WAS AND IS NOT!

I am and was extremely disappointed! Needless to say, I will be posting unsatisfactory reviews anywhere and everywhere I can. AND I WILL NEVER STAY AGAIN NOR RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE.

Room Tip: Motel 6 would be better than this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Weeks ago I booked an oceanfront, remodeled room. At the time of the reservation, I told them I needed two beds because my teenage son would be staying. When we arrived on Saturday afternoon, I learned the room they assigned me had only one bed so we had to be moved. After being shown about five different rooms, none of which met my original requests of oceanfront with a balcony, I finally picked the lesser of the evils. Mike, the manager, told me the one-bedroom room I chose was an "upgrade" from my original reservation. I've traveled to much less developed countries and never stayed in such horrible conditions. To quote a previous reviewer, the hallways are something out of a horror movie with torn, dirty carpets, and garbage everywhere, including in the elevator. The furniture looks like it hasn't been replaced since the hotel was built in 1958. The tv's are beyond old. My son was watching a movie and the sound just stopped working. I was afraid to eat anything from the dishes and glasses in the cupboards. Both my son and I came home with bug bites. Mine on my neck and his on his shoulder. Management should have paid us for putting up with such awful conditions !! I've never woken up with such a spectacular view of the ocean and wanted to get out, but we couldn't get out of that room fast enough.

On the other hand, a friend took me to Tokoyo Blue for dinner. The food and service were exceptional. The tiki bar is a lot of fun, and the location of the bar/pool is spectacular. Oh, except that the towel guy was gone by 4pm on a Saturday afternoon, so there were no pool towels. Thankfully, I had brought some from home.The best part of this hotel is its staff, Aryn, Enza, and Mary are wonderful. Joesph, the concierge, is a total gem for whom nothing is too much trouble. Mike the manager is a nice guy, but completely out of touch with reality regarding the unrenovated rooms. They need to be condemned. My advice is, to not stay at this hotel unless you are guaranteed a renovated room and do not pay until you physically see the room you are going to be staying in!

Room Tip: Oceanfront, renovated rooms are the best. Do NOT stay in a room that hasn't been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and could not have had a better time. The staff is exceptional from the desk to the poolside bar. It has a great pool and the ocean at your feet. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We will positively stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's remodeling right now. I was only one night there, We went to the pub at the pool that night, pleasant environment, cheap beers ($4), nice companion, etc. The next day headed to the beach, very nice. The problem was that our rooms were in the remodelation zone, we had two old rooms, and by their side they were finishing a new remodeled room. The difference was huge. That's why we moved the next day to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Get a new remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Manor Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Manor Resort Hotel

Address: 4040 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#82 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Manor Resort Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ocean Manor Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Manor Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ocean Manor Fort Lauderdale
Ocean Manor Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Manor Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.