We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian food at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bombay Cafe
3060 N Andrews Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33311 (Wilton Manors)
(954) 568-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Wilton Manors
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I always stop here to eat my super spicy Indian curry lamb. The quality is consistently good and the papadum is outstanding. Price is under $20 per person for dinner. I highly recommend this place if you are into Indian food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SFLA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and Affordable Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

No matter how many times my wife and I eat at Bombay Cafe, we continue to be amazed by the value and consistency of flavor at this restaurant. Monday - Saturday, the lunch buffet is mostly vegitarian and costs about $8.95 and on Sunday, the lunch buffet costs $11.95 and includes chicken and/or goat preparations. Wednesday nights they have a dinner buffet that costs $14.95. I can't say enough about the elaboration of flavors at this restaurant. We have been to other area Indian restaurants and have found food to be either bland or just plain salty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“So-so food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I went here for a dinner recently, while vacationing in Florida. The food was okay. We are vegetarian, and ordered a vegetable kebab and the palak kofta - two dishes we hadn't had before. The kebab was like hand-formed paste that has been formed around a skewer that came on a bed of lettuce and cucumber (raw) on a sizzling platter. The salad was inedible (just decoration), the kebab thing was alright, but not tasty enough to finish. The palak dish was better, but just average. We also had a tandoori roti that was okay. The waiters were friendly, but stodd around watching the TV that was playing CNN the entire time, chatting with each other. I guess I can't blame them, since the restaurant was fairly empty, however it was kind of odd.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great For Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have been eating at Bombay Cafe for three years, and the food and service is always great.
The $10.00 buffet is the best deal in town and there is always a good selection of dishes to choose from. We know all of the servers, and think they do a great job.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been here for dinner and I was't impressed. I then came back for their lunch buffet which is just $10 a person and includes tandori chicken, naan, and a large selection of traditional Indian curries. The service is honestly so-so. No one goes out of their way to be friendly but at the same time, we are usually busy scarfing down food to care. They always refill the water as soon as it gets low which is great considering some of the food is a little spicy. Very low key and quiet. Never busy during the buffet so do not expect to have to wait for a table.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.