We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a very warm welcome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Dawsonville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not a very warm welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

Subject: Best Western Inn, Fort Lauderdale
Location: w.state road 84, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States, North America
Title: not a very warm welcome
ID#: 7627798

first of all it was our first trip to the states, when we got to the
airport the shuttle from the best western inn,came to pick us up , we were walking
towards the shuttle, he wasn't waiting for us for very long , he starts
driving away,he almost left us there, my boyfriend had to wave him down
for him to stop.
when he got out of the bus he started yelling and screaming at us that
we weren't at the right place.Nice welcome to the usa i say!!! well
of course the $300 a night motel wasn't worth it ,(room with double bed that's all that was left)the people working at
the hotel were not any more welcoming, i had a hard time to get a smile
out of the clerks, (where i work you smile at your patrons) they were all strested out, like it was the first
time they had a little crowd coming in at the same time!! CRUISE
PORT,next time we will find something cheaper and probaly get better service.
Good thing the rest of our trip was terrific we took our first cruise
"Princess", it was out of this world ,we cant wait to do it again.

  • Liked — close to port
  • Disliked — price and service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    251
    99
    37
    29
See reviews for
193
262
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

We Stayed at the Fort Lauderdale Inn in early April We found the front end staff unhelpful. The complimentery continental breakfast poor at best. Rooms nice and clean. Based on the front end staff we would not stay there again. It should stay a secret until it improves

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwood,OR
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

We booked this hotel for a pre cruise stay Jan 9th to the 10th 2007. We were able to check in early but shuttle from airport was not usable until after 1 pm as they are taking guests to the cruise port. Looked newly painted and clean. Pool area very nice furniture but water was cool,but it was January. Our room was clean and nicely furnished. The check-in staff was great. Nice cold food breakfast off the lobby. We were taken to the cruise port in the morning, about 12 or 15 of us and our mountain of luggage.

  • Liked — Price for quality near cruise port and airport
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsica,pa.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

i booked this hotel for two nights on a thurs and fri. oct.12th and 13th 2006, i selected this location as it was very handy to the airport and the cruise port from which we were departing on the 14th. the hotel was easy to find and check in went well.i was given two electronic room keys, upon getting to the room neither key would open the door,back to the desk, was given new keys,to make a long story short,every time we left the room the key would not work when you returned.. on the second day after having to return to the desk a total of 11 times over the two days i was no longer happy about this situation and i told the clerk that i was getting tired of this, and what were they doing to solve the problem,at this point he started shouting at me that he was a professional and he doesnt need to listen to me complain,at this point a second clerk came out but did not say anything.i was given two new keys one of which did not work.i can only say that as a retired supervisor of a large dept. of a large customer service co.if i or any employee of mine were to talk to a client or customer in this manner he would be subject to disiciplenary action or dismissal. aside from an employee with one of the worst attitudes i ever encountered the hotel was clean ,quiet, the pool was well kept, and the cont.breakfest was good.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — desk personel,
  • Tips/Secrets — several good resturants in area
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

Very nice hotel. Limited breakfast fare. Only complaint was about wireless Internet connection not available in rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

We came in from a cruise and had to spend a night in Fort Lauderdale. The next day it was off to the airport for our flight back to Chicago. The appealing thing about this hotel was its proximity to both Port Everglades and to the Fort Lauderdale airport (FLL). A free shuttle van picked us up at the CruisePort after about an hours wait and three phone calls. Not a real problem. A 10 minute ride and you arrive. Our room was very clean with a great king-sized bed. A refrigerator, microwave, and VCR come with the room. The pool was clean and enjoyable, but pool furniture had seen better days. The complementary breakfast was very adequate along with the free USA today. Another plus was the free wide band internet connection to catch up on the weeks worth of e-mail that was waiting. Shuttle ride to the airport took about seven minutes and curbside checkin was a breeze. I liked the place and would go back!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwhite78
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

I stayed at this hotel in March 2006 for 6 nights. On the surface, it seems like a reasonable place if you can set aside the cheap plastic feel of everything. The thing that really destroys this place is the people. The hotel is run with unveiled contempt for its guests. The airport shuttle drivers shoot glares at you after they take 45 minutes to pick you up from the airport and then add insult by directly requesting a tip while you're sill in the van. The desk clerks are mostly blunt, unfriendly, unhelpful men (although there are one or two exceptions to this rule) and the two men that seem to own the place are particularly unpleasant grumpy individuals. The contempt continues in the guestrooms where you are threatened by the large signs hanging in the bathroom (if you take one of our sandpaper-like towels, we will charge $10 to your credit card). Your obvious thieving tendencies are thankfully controlled, however, by a cord that attaches the iron to the ironing board, although it does make ironing your clothes technically impossible. I could continue on about the overall cheapness, tackiness, and grumpiness, but I think it comes down to this: if you desperately need a place to stay for a night and don't mind being an unwelcome guest then this place might be okay, but if you want a hotel that will be comfortable for a few nights you should definitely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Address: 1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.