We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They double bill you” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #47 of 132 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They double bill you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My credit card was billed prior to arrival, without my knowledge. When I checked in, they asked for a credit card number, which I provided. After I checked my credit card balance, I realized I was billed twice. When I brought it to the manager's attention, I was told that the hold would not be lifted for 5 to 10 business days. This was his policy and there were no exceptions, even though he admitted double billing you. This guy just tries to rip you off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Management, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We are sorry for this issue you encountered with the double charge, and we are looking into this issue as we are replying to your review. We do not double bill our guests on purpose, but mistakes do happen and we are sorry that it did.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    132
    62
    27
    15
See reviews for
99
139
22
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We checked into the hotel after midnight and had to check out again at about 5:30 the following morning. Andrew, the front desk clerk must have overheard us lamenting the fact that we would be too early to take advantage of the small self-serve breakfast bar in the lobby (although he did point out that coffee is always available). The next morning when we stumbled downstairs a little before 5:30 he had opened everything up for us early so that we could get a bite to eat before we had to leave. VERY THOUGHTFUL, especially as we had three kids in our group and we were getting ready to head out for a long day's travelling and wouldn't be able to get anything to eat for three or four hours at least. Andrew was our hero that day.

Hotel was fine. Clean, comfortable beds. We were only there for five hours!

Room Tip: ask for something that doesn't have light shining right into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good Hotel to stay at, was close to the airport, had a good shuttle service to take me back and forth from the airport. The staff were friendly and curtious. The continential breakfast was better than I had expected and was good. Internet service in the room was good and easy to use once I got it figured out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was there with my family and everything went ok ; the breakfast was good ,pool ,room , etc. for that price I can't complaint. So I recommend this place .We stayed there five days.

There few things they could improve ; the WI- FI ( internet connection) is very weak , also the employees needs to be re-trained or be more courteous with the people. Another little thing I noticed the tables at the breakfast room are unstable.

But besides those little things, everything was ok. :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived early in the morning due to express check-out (around 7am) and we were given the room without extra day-use rate. This was very generous.
The rooms are big and with nice beds (good sleeping quality)
Breakfast is on minimum and ends stricly at 10am. But was not that important
Nice staff and complementary shuttle to the airport.

Room Tip: ask for king bed room, they are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived about an hour before check in time. Nothing was said about that. Registration was fast and painless. The room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. We drove to Miami Beach to meet family for supper. Got back to the motel and watched TV until time to sleep (about 11). We both slept very well. If there was any noise we didn't hear a sound. We did hear a woman who REALLY liked her shampoo when we were in the hall in the afternoon, but inside the room the only sound was the A/C running.

Breakfast in the morning was very good. There was a large amount and a large selection.

Check out was as painless as check in. We turned in our key cards and were on our way. We will probably stay here again in about a month when we have to return our company to the Miami airport.

For the money this is the place for me when going to MIA. Yes, traffic can be a problem, but if you leave early and expect heavy traffic it is worth the savings.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor about half way between the back door and the vending machines, and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our flight on Southwest came in 2 hours late, called the hotel and they held our room with no problem. We've stayed here several times before a cruise, never disappointed. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean, check in and out was quick and easy. Nice little breakfast in the morning. Other guest in the hotel were friendly, in fact we met a family that we flew with there!

There is a McDonalds and Wendy's in the parking lot, a Winn Dixie grocery store within walking distance if you need to pick up snacks, drinks, or any forgotten toiletries. There is also a Radio Shack, Big Lots.... but they don't open until 9 am if you plan on getting a early start to your day.

We had rented a car from Hertz at the airport (got a great rate through AAA), dropped off at the cruiseport (which is at the Comfort Inn right down the street from this hotel) and took the Hertz shuttle right to the ship. Very quick and easy! Was on Carnival Freedom by 11:10 am!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western
Address: 1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Best Western, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.