We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #45 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Albany, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here when I flew in/out of FLL. This is the best Best Western I have stayed in. I liked the soft red carpeting throughout including the corridors. The room was spacious and had a comfortable bed and all the basic amenities. I was pleased with the continuous replenishment of the complimentary breakfast in the morning -- ensured that the food was always hot and fresh. Ideally located by a McDonalds and numerous gas stations. Staff was friendly and accommodated all our requests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    147
    71
    28
    17
See reviews for
112
157
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here one night before our cruise and after my last cruise I picked a horrible hotel and I said to
myself I will never do that again and this hotel was amazing. first off the plane I called the hotel from the
terminal and they were there in about 15-20 mins max. Check in was a breeze, The rooms were new looking the bed
was great. i had a fridge and a Microwave in my room and they worked good. There is tons of stuff within walking
distance there is a mcdonalds right in their parking lot, then down the road some there is a wendys and a dunkin
dounts. Also there is a strip mall there with a grocery store and a liquor store and dollar store type of places.
Shuttle in the morning was run by a thrid party and it was $8 a person to get to the Cruise port which was
worth the price, I repeat it was very well organized. i know some posters, posted about slamming doors ? I did not
hear any the night I was there. When I cruise out of Fort Lauderdale again i will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our third time staying here the night before our cruise and we have always been comfortable. We arrived very late but had no problem getting the airport shuttle to the hotel. Staff at the front desk were very pleasant and the newly refurbished rooms were very comfortable. The Continental breakfast is more than adequate and the hotel's proximity to a small shopping plaza is very convenient for last minute cruise items including the the 2 bottles of wine allowed by the cruise company. Transfer to the port is reliable and fast. There is a computer just off the lobby available to guests with complimentary internet. Very handy for those of us who do not travel with lap tops, i-phones etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 1 night on 5/10/13 and it was probably the most unpleasant experience I've ever had at a hotel and we've stayed in much junkier ones before. Reasons: 1) walls are paper thin, 2) doors don't have slow release mechanisms so they slam, 3) not sure if it's the price point or what but the atmosphere of the guests there were unruly and the staff didn't seem to do anything about it - i.e. guests going in & out at all hours of the night (coupled with the doors slamming is a bad recipe), someone in the room next to ours moaned & screamed all night, 4) when concerns were expressed the next morning it seemed the staff member just wanted us out of his hair so jotted down our name & # for a mgr to calls u and 3 days later that still hasn't happened.

Pros: we had a cute room with a red accent wall. I like color so this was nice. Everything seemed clean. Bed was extremely comfortable - good combination of firm but with a cushiony feeling on top. Breakfast was pretty decent for a continental breakfast.

Overall I wouldn't stay here again - I need my sleep and considering I went to bed at 10pm and still only got about 2 hours of sleep it's a big drawback for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay overnight if you are going on a cruise or coming back for a cruise. The staff are friendly and will to help if you need assistance with anything. The shuttle from the airport and to the cruise port was relaxing and was well run. The room was clean and spacious. If you are traveling with kids the Mac Donald's is right outside the hotel.

Just a little walk (about 3 blocks) was Lesters Diner a good place to eat for dinner. The walk back to the hotel helped me to digest the food we were served.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

All-in-all, this is a pleasant place to stay. The in-room airconditioner was effective and quiet. Even though it is on a busy street, the street noise did not intrude.
HOWEVER, be sure to go through all of the drawers before you check out. My wife left her jewelry case in a drawer. She realized it the next day when we were in Seattle. Immediately called the hotel. Whomever answered said the housekeeper had not turned anything in, the room is checked thoroughly before it is re-rented, and if anything had been found it would have been turned in. She insisted that someone go down and look. Nope, nothing was found. She asked to speak to a manager and was transferred to his/her voicemail. Left a message asking for her call to be returned. Never has been.
There is no question but that, when we checked out, the jewelry was left in the room. Question is, what happened to it? Second question is, why has the manager never returned her call?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Management, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Best Western Plus Hotel Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise, FL. It is regrettable that you did not find your jewelry. I would like to address this with you further. Please call the hotel (954) 462-7005, and ask for Nathan. I will wait to hear from you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Address: 1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.