We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #41 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Humble, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We got this room for $75. It is a nice sized room with a fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV. The bathroom is nice and is good condition. The carpet was clean and the room AC worked well. The bed has a lot of pillows and was very comfortable. Our room had a king sized bed and was plenty large for the two of us. The hotel is very quiet. The hotel is only 2 floors high. It has a breakfast which is pretty good with eggs, sausage, and toasts. There is also an airport shuttle which runs every hour. You do need to call in to reserve it. The driver was very nice. They also have a shuttle to the Hyatt restaurant called Kiki's. That was nice to have that option has there are only fast food places near to the hotel. The front desk was very nice and I didn't have any problems with check in or check out. Overall, this is a good hotel for a low price.

Room Tip: I thought second floor rooms were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    199
    81
    33
    20
See reviews for
148
199
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I chose to stay here because it was in a convenient location, and the price was a bargain. When I rated this hotel as average, I mean it in every sense of the word. The room was average size, with average amenities, and average breakfast. Actually the breakfast, though free, didn't even have yogurt, granola, nor fresh fruit; so maybe that was below average.
I would say that before settling on this hotel, look elsewhere... Anywhere. Unless you are looking for a hotel that is convenient to the airport, cheap, and has a bed to sleep in.
I am also adding a new rule of thumb to my list: "If the hotel is practically attached to a McDonald's, look elsewhere."

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManagement84, Manager at BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We are very sorry that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We care very much of what impression our guests take away from their visit with us. We take the time to read every posting and take them very seriously and can assure you, that we will be reviewing them with our team so we can continually improve our hotel. Thank you for your review, even though it was not a positive one, you took the time to write and we appreciate it. We hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future and turn around your impression of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Overall, it was good, people were friendly, but breakfast sucked. It seemed more for older people as my friends n I were the only young adults there which was fine cuz we were there to sleep only.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJackkand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

After being pampered aboard the Allure of the Seas for a week it was hard to adjust to real life. Checked into the BW right from the cruise and it was a huge help into settling back into real life. Arrived at the hotel several hours before checkin and the hotel was buzzing. It seems like a local hot spot for people going and coming from the cruise port. The girl (who was alone) at the front desk was able to handle the chaos with ease and without being frazzled.

She took our bags and held them and suggested we take the free shuttle to their other hotel and have lunch at Kiki's. (See my other review, Kiki's was AWESOME!)

The hotel is next to a shopping plaza, the plaza has a laundromat incase you wanted to do laundry after your cruise. There was a grocery store, dollar store and shoe store. Very helpful to kill time while waiting to check in.

They allowed us to check in early and the room was huge. Bed was comfy and very clean.

Great place to stay before or after a cruise.

Room Tip: Call early before needing a room - a lot of cruisers use the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We were greated by an awful smell in the lobby, we should have quit there. After check in we went to our room, YUCK! They smell was so bad. We asked to see another room. This was better. Our view of the hotel was already tainted at this point. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Just do not go here, if you HAVE to go to the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManagement84, Manager at BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
We are very sorry about your recent stay, we are presently renovating our hotel. We care very much of what impression our guests take away from their visit with us. We take the time to read every posting and take them very seriously and can assure you, that we will be reviewing them with our team so we can continually improve our hotel. Thank you for your review, even though it was not a positive one, you took the time to write and we apreciate it. We hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future and turn around your impression of our hotel, after our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I had pre-paid for my stay at this hotel.
As usual practice I had to give my credit card number for Incidentals at check in. The reception area was very small.
We booked the transfer to the boat the next morning at the advice of the extremely nice desk clerk.
Our room was adequate, it smelt very heavily of room freshner which was a little over powering.
when we came out of our room the next day, it was chaos. 95% of the hotel were trying to check out. The tiny reception area had now become a breakfast area too!! People were standing in the corridor and just blocking the whole exit. The guy told us we would not get on the bus so we asked for a refund on checking out. The printer wa snot working so I signed for the refund but was given no paperwork.
to my dimay I was charged on my credit card for the bus fare plus the room again. That was on 24th February and to date I have not received a refund, even though Best Western have said they will now on 3 occasions.
the staff here are really good but the pressure on them at check out is huge. People are not prepared to wait in line, there is pushing and shoving and chaos reigns. The hair dryer in my room did not work. I told the desk clerk who thanked me for reporting it but did not write it down so I guess did nothing!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManagement84, Manager at BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We are very sorry that you did not feel you received the value for your stay with us. Please contact me at walter.lowenberg@luckeysmanage.com about the charges on your bill. We care very much of what impression our guests take away from their visit with us. We take the time to read every posting and take them very seriously and can assure you, that we will be reviewing them with our team so we can continually improve our hotel. Thank you for your review, even though it was not a positive one , you took the time to write and we apreciate it. We hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future and turn around your impression of our hotel. I hope to hear from you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I, stayed for one night. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

The service was excellent. Mario very friendly and helpful. He gave us a info on driving down to the keys. I least like the smell of the hall leading up to our rooms. The location was again important and Mario made sure he gave us as much details on getting around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Address: 1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.