We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #48 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Every year on our way back to the airport at Ft. Lauderdale after our Keys vacation, we have stayed here. This year was the first year they were not able to give us the first floor accomodation we had asked for. Our room was on the second floor and when I walked into the bathroom I could smell cigarette smoke (no smoking facility). I went to the front desk and the employee at the desk immediately got a spray bottle of some type and a rag and came with me right back up to the room where he sprayed the bathroom with the air freshener. He also said that if we smelled it again to let him know and he would return and spray. We have always felt very comfortable staying here our last night of vacation and find the continental breakfast which has scrambled eggs and sausage plus several cold items very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    146
    71
    28
    17
See reviews for
111
156
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Very disappointed in this hotel as it is advertized as a PLUS. Recently stayed at other BW hotels (not Plus) which were much nicer, cleaner, updated and not near as expensive. This is an older hotel that has not been updated....room size nice but bath vanity extremely low, low beds with what I'd call cheap linens that did not fit the old mattresses, carpets could use a good cleaning, lobby/breakfast area small considering the number of people there for port convenience. For the price per night charged I expected much better. Staff was courteous/shuttle service worked well but in the future I will search for other accomadations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManagement84, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
I am sorry that you did not feel you received the value for your stay with us. We care very much of what impression our guests take away from their visit with us. We take the time to read every posting and take them very seriously and can assure you, that we will be reviewing them with our team so we can continually improve our hotel. Thank you for your review, even though it was not a positive one , you took the time to write and we apreciate it. We hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future and turn around your impression of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel has charm. Think cozy but with a 1950's flare. This isn't a Hampton Inn or a Hilton, but a safe, clean place to stay the night before a cruise. Good place to eat is a Ft. Lauderdal Ale house down the street. Also, there is a Target to get last minute items and Starbucks right down the street on the corner. Transportation to the hotel and cruise is free but you need to have a reservation. My only complaint was that we stayed on a Wednesday night and had to have a local agency bring a wheelchair to the hotel. We had to return it to the hotel on Monday after the cruise. We called the van to pick us up after the cruise and asked if we could just send back the wheelchair. The dispatcher denied our request, so we had to go to the hotel and paid $5 per person, then back to the airport for another $5 a person. We missed our plane due to this decision of the dispatcher and the airport was only a half mile away from the cruise ship. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive away.
The pool bar was quite cozy.

Room Tip: find one by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Valley, B.C.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We spent one night at the Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port in December 2011 prior to leaving on a cruise. We selected this hotel because I had enough points to have a free night at a BW Plus, and we thought we'd begin our vacation with a pleasant experience in a 'better' BW. While our room was comfortable enough, we found this hotel to be a disappointing experience. From the tiny, crowded lobby to the generally slightly run-down corridors, this was not what I expected in a BW Plus. There was an odour of disinfectant in the lobby and hallways, and our room had a different odour, not enough to have us ask for a different room, but definitely noticeable. We did find the pool area to be a pleasant place to sit in the morning, but the breakfast room was far too small and not a pleasant place to be, crowded and again, generally shabby. We did like the proximity to a shopping centre and several restaurants, all within walking distance, but when we asked for recommendation for a restaurant, all the check-in clerk was able to tell us was to take the shuttle to a restaurant advertised on a large sign in the lobby. Instead we walked to the Heidelberg, which was a fun, German style place with live music and good food. All in all, I am sorry I used my points for this hotel, I could have used them at many other BW plus hotels that truly are lovely places to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed here one night. Rode the shuttle from the airport and used the shuttle the next day to go back to the airport to get a rental car. Great service.

Our room was nice and it was clean. Comfortable bed and room was quiet. Nice breakfast in the morning. What more could a person ask for!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here prior to a cruise. Breakfast was very sufficient and options were plenty. Shuttle from airport was on time and we didnt have to wait too long after our flight. Shuttle to Port Everglades was quick.

Nice touches for this property is McDonalds in parking lot. Great for late night snacks when travelling with kids, easy way to save money on meals as well. Nice mall across the street with many options for last minute purchases before going on a cruise. My teens found stores that they were able to purchase name brand items for a fraction of the cost here in Canada.
Liked the grocery store nearby to purchase snacks, water, soft drinks and other necessities for our stay.

The price per night was amazing! We were able to pre-purchase Best Western gift cards and pay for our nights' stays with no problems!

Will stay here again for our next trip out of Port Everglades.

Room Tip: Rooms further down hall are closer to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This Best Western is still a good choice for short-term stays, when in Fort Lauderdale on business, or if you're there for a cruise ship departure/arrival.
However: don't expect luxury. The rooms are beginning to seem a little worn, and the overall feel of the place is that it's 'high-turnover', any day of the week. Housekeeping is good, but Management needs to upgrade the rooms with fresh carpet, drapes, etc.
A small outdoor pool is located at the back of the hotel, but few guests seem to know about it. Also, it closes at dusk, so in the winter months that's usually too early for most of us who have been traveling all day. The pool should definitely be available until 9 or 10 pm, at least.
Breakfast is provided in the small lobby in the morning. Very minimal, but it may suffice if you're not too picky.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms feel much more secure. Outdoor pool is located at the back of the hotel: rarely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Address: 1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.