We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-cruise stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #41 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Meadow Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great pre-cruise stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here prior to a cruise. Breakfast was very sufficient and options were plenty. Shuttle from airport was on time and we didnt have to wait too long after our flight. Shuttle to Port Everglades was quick.

Nice touches for this property is McDonalds in parking lot. Great for late night snacks when travelling with kids, easy way to save money on meals as well. Nice mall across the street with many options for last minute purchases before going on a cruise. My teens found stores that they were able to purchase name brand items for a fraction of the cost here in Canada.
Liked the grocery store nearby to purchase snacks, water, soft drinks and other necessities for our stay.

The price per night was amazing! We were able to pre-purchase Best Western gift cards and pay for our nights' stays with no problems!

Will stay here again for our next trip out of Port Everglades.

Room Tip: Rooms further down hall are closer to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    168
    75
    29
    17
See reviews for
132
172
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This Best Western is still a good choice for short-term stays, when in Fort Lauderdale on business, or if you're there for a cruise ship departure/arrival.
However: don't expect luxury. The rooms are beginning to seem a little worn, and the overall feel of the place is that it's 'high-turnover', any day of the week. Housekeeping is good, but Management needs to upgrade the rooms with fresh carpet, drapes, etc.
A small outdoor pool is located at the back of the hotel, but few guests seem to know about it. Also, it closes at dusk, so in the winter months that's usually too early for most of us who have been traveling all day. The pool should definitely be available until 9 or 10 pm, at least.
Breakfast is provided in the small lobby in the morning. Very minimal, but it may suffice if you're not too picky.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms feel much more secure. Outdoor pool is located at the back of the hotel: rarely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western from January 18-21, prior to going on a cruise out of Fort Lauderdale. We found the hotel to be really quite good, right from check-in to check out. The room was really clean and the bed very comfortable.
The breakfast (complimentary) is one of the best I have had at hotels. Food was hot and fresh and there was many choices for cereals etc if you didn't want eggs and sausages.
The manager Mike, went above and beyond to assist me with the hotel safe. He seemed to work many hours, yet was always very pleasant and took the time to say hello (with a smile).
We used the hotel shuttle for pick-up at the airport as well as to the cruise port. Both were very efficient.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a hotel close to the airport and cruise port.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We took a cruise and chose to Priceline and got this hotel. The rooms are large and updated decorating. Microwave and small kitchenette area. The glitches: No clock radio (but you can set your cell, I guess). Called for a wake-up call, and the desk person apparently didn't get it entered correctly because no call came in the morning. Good thing we were pumped about the cruise, so we were awake. Finally, trying to get the shuttle to go back to the airport to get the next shuttle to the cruise shouldn't have been a big deal. The staff should have this mastered by now as the title of this hotel explains it is there for a cruise port, too. Well, no. Very disorganized. Goodness! Note: calling for the free shuttle from the airport to the hotel - be prepared to swing around the airport 3 - 4 times as the driver (if he has a thick French accent from the Bahamas) will try to pick up every guest. Even when it is clear that guest has made another option to not take this shuttle. We were on that mini-bus for just short of an hour when it's about a 12 minutes (maximum) drive from the airport to the hotel. Goodness again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Young lady at desk when we arrived 1/12/12 pm (substituting for someone else, I believe) and again early 1/13/12 was outstanding. She assisted me in connecting my Nook to Internet in the lobby while responding to phone requests from people needing driving directions to the Best Western and/or an airport shuttle to the hotel. No sign of impatience and always smiling. Also, upon check-in on 1/12, the manager made effort to book us in a first floor room as elevator was out of order that evening.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had become Best Western fans over the past few years because they all seemed to be updated and nice. This BW Plus was small and dark. The room was small. The refrigerator was off, and we didn't realize that until the next morning and the food we'd put in was spoiled.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManagement84, Manager at BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us through Trip Advisor. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We are very disappointed that we failed to provide you with the service which you expected. We can assure you that the satisfaction of each and every one of our guests is our number one priority. We completely understand how we greatly missed the mark regarding service provided during your stay. We are taking corrective steps, so this doesn’t happen again. Please allow us to regain your trust in our product and service on your next stay in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here pre-cruise. Called from the airport picked up and taken directly to hotel. Speedy check in and bags up to the room and we booked our transfers to the ship,.. additional 8$ per person. The room was huge! Since it was after 10 pm at night, the McDonalds a few steps away was great for supper. The bed was very comfy and we slept well. Breakfast the next morning was fine. Quick and efficient trip to the port. Definitely will stay here again.. great value for the money!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Address: 1221 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel, conveniently located in the heart Fort Lauderdale, minutes from Interstate 95, Convention Center and Airport. Ideally located in the heart of the Ft. Lauderdale Air and Cruise Port, the Best Western Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and iron/ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.