We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Stains & Jack Hammering Wake-Up Calls” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #52 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“White Stains & Jack Hammering Wake-Up Calls”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We got to the hotel and was met by a dilapidated looking lobby area and honestly feared for our safety. We had to go through the dark parking lot and a sketchy looking hall way to get to the temporary " Front Desk." When we were informed of some construction we were not expecting exposed beams, wiring, vent ducts, drilling, jack hammering etc. around the hotel (starting at 8 am sharp). When we entered the room there was a moldy odor, followed by white stains on the bed head and all along the chair that was beside the bed. On the side table there was an army of ants marching back and forth. The carpet had remnants of previous guests including a baby's bottle top, ribbon, several unidentifiable objects, and hair balls (lots). The bathroom was relatively clean minus the hair balls stuck to the wall and on the towels. The shower curtain didn't close all the way since the rod was broken and was close to falling down, and the toilet occasionally gurgled and flushed itself (and looked like it was going to overflow). The best part though was the next morning when we were woken up to the sound of drilling right above our heads at 8 am. This was followed by what sounded like jack hammering and a sledge hammer being swung over and over again. Soon particles from the ceiling started coming down onto the bed. The noise continued up until about 11 am, when we left. This was repeated everyday for the entirety of the week that we stayed there. When I called to ask the front desk staff if we could move or if there's anyway of reducing the noise so we could get a little more rest, the lady at the front desk laughed at me and told me that all guests were informed about the construction and that nothing could be done. Overall was a terrible experience and won't be coming back here anytime soon. If you're looking for a place, look a little further up the beach there's very little to eat of do around this place.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    448
    159
    62
    45
See reviews for
285
392
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself wasn't bad at all, beds super comfortable and right next to the beach. Didn't take very long to get cabs up to Las Olas or Southport areas, and they weren't very expensive either. However, the construction was awful. Hammering starting early in the morning with no opportunity to sleep in on vacation was more than obnoxious... To the point where I had a headache some mornings. Once it's all fixed up it should be a great place!

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In FL for a conversion and the price and location of this hotel was excellent. All other conference hotels (Hilton, Marriot, Hyatt, etc.) were full, but more important the Best Western was $60+ per night less. The staff was very accommodating and aloud us with a call ahead from the airport to get into around room very early to recover from our red-eye flight. Location is great with quick beach, restaurant and shop. access.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good:
- cheap! We saved a few hundred over other hotels. Also, parking was cheaper than other hotels and free wifi. Just staying here we saved a lot over our 4 days
- nice location to get to the airport, beaches, food, etc.
- nice warm pool

The eh:
- rooms are renovated, but not professionally done. Don't really care because only stayed in the room to sleep.

The bad:
- we are on the second floor and the jack hammering at 8:30am can be heard. We are early risers anyway, but this is not fun. This phase of construction may be over by the time you stay here

Overall: a very good value, for basic accommodation, with added bonuses ( free wifi and breakfast)

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was under construction / repairs / renovation when i was, but as you enter the room, despite the noise during the day ( they were stopping it at 6 PM ), you feel like in a 4* hotel, even some parts were not completely changed and you could feel the smell of the wet paint. Nice TV, internet, comfy beds, all good . Parking was ok, but the entrance was little bit scary( January 2015 ). Breakfast - hmmm, plastic plates... and not too many choices.. but the most important was the location, on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently finished a short stay here before joining a cruise. Doesn't look much from outside, doesn't look much from inside. Arrived after midnight to a very unfriendly reception. She found us a great inconvenience! Not welcoming in the slightest. Hotel lobby very dated and needs attention. Room was ok, loud air conditioning which we had to turn off though and this made it stuffy. Little bit of noise. I heard others complaining of lobby and hotel staff and their unfriendly nature. Just general communication as well. If you don't like dealing with people don't do the job! I wouldn't stay here again just with that. Basic for what we needed but if you can find somewhere else I would do so.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came for a judo tournament and stayed at the Best Western Oceanside Plus. The hotel and staff were very good. It was very close to the beach and a short walk to many different restaurants and entertainment locations. There was a good breakfast, lots of on site parking and a pool that were all well maintained. We stayed 6 nights and it was a good trip.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#61 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Laude...
#41 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#71 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#53 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,794 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#8 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn

Address: 1180 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#46 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach side Hotel, located just 100 yards to Fort Lauderdale Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanside Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western
Best Western Oceanside Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.