We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #53 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Value on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

You will find a friendly staff, nice rooms, clean pool, nice bar with TVs and a pool table. There is covered parking in a secure garage. Enjoy walking on the beach or walk to area restaurants. The Trolley also stops right in front of the hotel so you can travel around Fort Lauderdale for 25 cents. The location is excellent. I travel to South Florida on business several times a year and always stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    323
    117
    52
    37
See reviews for
192
289
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Oceanside for 2 nights prior to a cruise. We were very satisfied!

The hotel has a great location, a very short walk to the beautiful beach. The hotel allows you to rent a very nice beach chair for $5 each (plus a $20 refundable deposit). The nearby beach is beautiful. The hotel is also a short walk to the water taxi, a great way to see Fort Lauderdale for only $20 per person hop on/hop off all day.

The hotel is older, so the hallways look a little dated, but it has been well kept up. The rooms are a good size, have very nice decor, are very clean and all the amenities you need including a good size small fridge, microwave & safe. We had a small balcony, not much of a view but nice. Many rooms have views of the pools. The beds and pillows are very comfortable.

The hotel includes a hot breakfast each morning, which is probably the best hot breakfast I've had in a hotel. Fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, other hot items that alternate (eggs, biscuits & gravy, etc), coffee, tea, milk, the works. They even have someone to seat you which is great.

We ordered room service one night which you pick up in the bar downstairs. The prices are very reasonable and the food is good.

If you are looking for a clean hotel, good location (10 mins from the airport & cruiseport and 5 min walk to the beach), I recommend this hotel.

Tip. If you need any groceries or drinks on your way from the airport or cruiseport to the hotel, have the taxi stop at a local Publix grocery store. You can run in and grab some items and it doesn't cost much extra on the meter if you are quick.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel could not have been a better place to stay. So much so that after 7 days we decided to stay another week. The hotel is clean, has all the amenities one could possibly need, including a frig and microwave in each room. It is very close to the beach and includes a huge breakfast each morning with more options than one would need to start the day.

The rooms are a decent size, the pool is heated and well kept, the bar and breakfast areas were immaculate.

The best part about this hotel is the people. I travel 75% of the time for work and have never come across a group of people who care so much, are friendly, and will go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied with the hotel and your stay.

The people:
Frank- runs the breakfast area each morning and is one of the most pleasant people I have ever run into at a hotel breakfast. He is genuinely a nice person which is a great way to start the day. Unlike other hotels they keep EVERYTHING stocked until about 30 minutes after the breakfast is supposed to end (just to make sure people get what they want to eat each morning-especially the late risers like us!) He has a lot of good recommendations for things to do in the area, so if you are looking for something to do, just ask Frank.

Rose- She runs a tight ship. She is in charge of the food and beverage services at the hotel. If you are hungry she has laid out a very good menu in the bar area which has a lot of great options and is better than alot of the fancy restaurants we have eaten at. She goes out of her way to make sure guests feel at home. She even helped us get into the garage area when our key didn't work. She saw us sitting at the gate when she walked by and asked if we needed help. A lot of people would have walked by claiming that it isn't their job, but not Rose. She also helped us to get the room location we wanted as we stopped at the bar for a drink while we waited for our room. As we had our drinks she went to the front desk to talk about the accomodations we wanted. The room we got was exactly what we asked for!

Sara and Matt- Two extremely nice people who worked the bar area during the evenings. Great people to sit and talk to while having drinks and each of them will go out of their way to make sure you are satisified with your food and beverages AND the company (as they are both nice to talk to). They put a lot of effort into making the bar food items, so much so that we wound up eating there quite a few nights as the food was very good and reasonably priced!

Serena- Worked the front desk and one of the most competent people I have dealt with. She helped us arrange our extra week stay. We were more than satisified with her help!

Maintenance- When we checked into our room the frig was not working properly. We called the front desk and within 20 minutes we had a brand new frig in our room. They even removed the items and restocked them into the new frig for us.

Housekeeping- Pleasant and do a great job keeping the place clean and neat. Tried very hard to work around our daily changing schedules.

Would definitely stay here again :))))

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Hotel is not new but has been adquately maintained. Rooms were basic and beds were very comfortable with daily maid service who did an excellent job. The included breakfast buffet was well stocked with a good variety of foods including a very knowlegable host named Frank who could provide you with all the local information you need. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

Older hotel just a short walk from the beach. It has a small pool with good sized sun deck. Great full breakfast included. Frank who works in breakfast room was good source of info about the area and how to get around.

Rooms have been upgraded, beds are very comfortable and contain all the expected, fridge, microwave etc.
Good value for it's location. As with many hotels along the beach there is a $10.00 charge/day to park the car.

Great restaurants and bars are in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

One of the most positive aspects of the Best Western group is that, although there is understandably uniform quality control, each property is allowed to retain its own individuality and personality. I have been staying at the Oceanside for several years, and although the building is showing its age, and it's definitely not for those visitors who want a lavish full-service resort hotel, it still offers outstanding value and hospitality. Admittedly, there was one year when the people on reception tended to be surly and unhelpful, but there were no such problems this time. Indeed, the entire staff was pleasant and engaging with the biggest bouquet in order for the cheerful individual in charge of the breakfast room. The complimentary full breakfast is a major plus factor for anyone staying at the Oceanside: fresh fruit, a choice of juice and cereal, scrambled eggs, ham, sausage patties, corned beef hash some days, such garnishes as grated cheese and salsa, waffle-making equipment, an assortment of breads, bagels and muffins, good coffee. But our gregarious and helpful host was a splendid bonus, always ready with advice about sightseeing, restaurants open for dinner on Thanksgiving — you name it.
The rooms — and there's clearly been renovation here — are comfortable and are beautifully appointed. The bathrooms are functional but fine. Housekeeping is impeccable.
Parking at $10 a day is good value (The Sheraton next door wants up to $25) and protected on both basement and upper levels by security gates.
There is a pleasant pool area which offers both shade and sunshine. Although the restaurant is only open for breakfast, the old-fashioned bar area offers snacks all day long — plus a warm greeting.
In brief, a good place to stay, only minutes by foot from the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Quebec
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The first and best part of our stay at Best Western Oceanside is that we arrived early off of a cruise ship and our room was ready (10 a.m.). After our experience at a hotel before our cruise, we found this amazing. It made all the difference to our day. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms have a microwave, fridge, safe and coffee maker. There is even a little back verandah. The hotel seems to be backed onto the beach, but has no beach access itself. To get to the beach, you have to go out the front, walk to the corner past the next hotel, and turn right onto the beachwalk. The hotel has a lovely pool area with lounge chairs, tables/umbrellas and a water feature in the two corners. The full breakfast included waffles, eggs, sausage, ham, toast, cereal, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. and is available until 10:30 each morning. There are probably cheaper hotels available, or hotels with shuttle, but this one is worth a visit. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn

Address: 1180 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach side Hotel, located just 100 yards to Fort Lauderdale Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanside Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western
Best Western Oceanside Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.