We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pelican Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Georgetown
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican Grand Beach Resort in February 2014. What a beautiful spot. We were literally right on the beach. We have stayed in many condos/hotels near the beach, but this was five steps away from the water. You can rent through the hotel, but there are owners that rent out their units and we opted to rent from a private owner. It is more of a boutique hotel than a huge building. Very tasteful. The staff, every single one, are extremely attentive and professional. Our room was impeccably clean and the bed was so comfortable. We spent many a night on our balcony overlooking the ocean. I would walk the beach each morning and spend the afternoon at the pool while my husband was golfing. The staff at the pool were great, and it was fun to see the kids (and adults) going round and round the lazy river. We had breakfast at their restaurant a couple of times, right beside the beach, and it was lovely. We had a dinner there as well and it was very good. There are so many restaurants in Fort Lauderdale that are amazing, which we researched before we went, so that every evening we had dinner by the water. This hotel is expensive, but so worth it. We will definitely consider returning here the next time we vacation in Florida.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us during your stay us. However, I did note that you rented from one of the few private owners that rent on their own. I do warn guests that these units are not part of the hotel ... the rooms have not been upgraded, there is no daily housekeeping, no free wifi and no amenities in your room such as shampoo or soap.
Overall it is nice to see how you enjoyed our team of professional and do hope the next time you return you will experience the real Pelican Grand.

Sincerely,

Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    485
    140
    97
    54
See reviews for
624
714
62
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at The Pelican Grand over the Easter holiday and couldn't imagine having gone anywhere else! The staff was extremely professional and friendly! Kim in the ice cream shop is a gem. Our server James was so friendly and had such an amazing sense of humor. We will definitely be back for another stay at this beautiful resort!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us during your stay us. We sincerely appreciate all of the feedback. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your rooms, our restaurants and our staff. We will pass on all of the kind words to our team members that you have recognized above. Thank you again, and we can’t wait until you all come to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. "Resort" prices without "resort" service. Stayed there many times and can't understand the lack of attention to guests or inattentive attitude. Best to stay off season when you can get a great price and then the service won't matter as much.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Please accept our apologies for less than a perfect stay. We are however grateful for your feedback as that is the only way we can continue to improve. You will be happy to learn that over the summer we will be adding a new spa that will be opened in January of 2015.
Again thank you for your review and we look forward to your return,

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

After weeks of terrible beds and overpriced hotels in Ft. Myers and Naples it was a relief to visit my favorite South Florida hotel. My 11 year old daughter actually weeped joyfully as she got into her amazing pillow-top king bed. We just love it here! The pools are heated, drinks are wonderful, food great, service amazing. Just wish it was a little more affordable.......we usually only stay 3 days tops. Just having 1 nacho, 6 drinks and 1 breakfast plus valet added and extra $189 to the room price. This family of 4 will come again though!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us during your stay us. It is always a pleasure to have you back. We sincerely appreciate all of the feedback. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your rooms, our restaurants and our staff. We will pass on all of the kind words to our team members. Thank you again, and we can’t wait until you all come back for your fourth visit.

Sincerely,

Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned from a stay over the Easter break. It is a very beautiful, old fashioned, classy hotel with amazing beds/linens. The hotel itself is very fancy, with excellent well-mannered staff who will go above and beyond to make your stay outstanding.
Pros-My family of 5, (3 kids 13, 9, and 6) stayed in a oceanfront room with 2 queen beds and a separated sitting area with a pullout sleeper couch (that my 13yr old daughter was more than happy to claim as her own!) The sitting area is the closer part to the balcony and the amazing view (room 720). Beds were first class, comfortable and with luxurious feather pillows and linens. Better than what I have at home, for sure! Furniture was upscale and clean, as was the carpet. Toilet and shower are separated with locking door from sink, similar to most Disney hotels so one can brush teeth or use sink while someone showers. On-site restaurant where we ate breakfast every day was very good with classy attentive service and good food for being a hotel restaurant. Pricey though it was!
Cons-actually has old fashioned tvs (tube type not flat panel) so the armoire was bulky in the bedroom part and could have been better used for clothing storage, instead of the giant tv that was in there! Also, the outside temp was around 80-85 every day and the room AC never seemed to make it very cold despite being dialed down to the lowest "Cooler" setting. That's right, a dial and not digital. And not very cool. We keep our home pretty cool in the summer (69-70, cooler than most people I know) but it felt like it was at least 73-74 in there which made comfortable sleeping difficult for us. A small complaint but I'm just being honest... Some may not care or may think that's cool enough anyway... The water pressure in the shower was awful, despite the nice looking fancy showerhead. We are used to very strong water pressure here at home and with long hair on me and my little girl, rinsing the conditioner was a challenge! Last complaint-just 2 elevators for this hotel with 11 floors and they are veryyyy sloowww...

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the ocean. We had 720 and the view of the sunrise was magnificent. Oceanfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us during your stay us. We sincerely appreciate all of the feedback. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your rooms, our restaurants and our staff. We will pass on all of the kind words to our team members. We will certainly have our engineering team look into the AC in this room. Thank you again, and we can’t wait until you all come to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Spent several days in the Grand Pelican Resort divided over 3 different trips. Am almost a "regular" and have not find any better place in Fort Lauderdale with such amazing ocean views and "being direct " on the beach. Breakfast particularly is an incredible start of the day.
Also compliment the hotel staff, and particularly Alex, for giving excellent service with a smile. We deposited luggage with the hotel, in between our travels to other parts of the USA, which was never a bother to them. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us during your stay us. We sincerely appreciate all of the feedback. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your rooms, our restaurants and our staff. We will pass on all of the kind words to our team members. Thank you again, and we can’t wait until you all come to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a treat! This is one of the nicest and best run hotels we have stayed at in years. It is a private gem with lovely spacious rooms overlooking a wonderful beach close to but sufficiently away from the bustle of Ft. Lauderdale. We stayed here in February 2014 and were sorry to leave, but delighted that we had found it. The rooms are luxurious and the staff is uncommonly polite, friendly and helpful. We found all of the amenities to be far better than average and the same applied particularly to the food and drink.
The hotel is perfectly situated in a quiet, residential area but within walking distance or a short cab ride to all of the sights, restaurants and shopping areas of the city. We were pleased with the city and impressed by the hotel. We will certainly stay there again when we return.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the ocean and all of them have good sized balconies. We were shown several an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us during your stay us. We sincerely appreciate all of the feedback. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your rooms, our restaurants and our staff. We will pass on all of the kind words to our team members. Thank you again, and we can’t wait until you all come to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Address: 2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pelican Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Grand Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Pelican Grand Beach
Pelican Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.