We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Pelican Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #12 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Huntington, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Pelican for a little early spring sun to break up a bleak winter in the New York. I was highly impressed with the staff who were very attentive, polite, and made every effort to make my stay enjoyable. Nathan at the Pool/ Beach was exceptional and went out of his way to make my stay great. My only regret in recommending this resort would be if I could not get a room myself because every one should be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We’re glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay! Thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback. Fortunately, we have plenty of rooms and you’re always welcome to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,102
    417
    129
    92
    43
See reviews for
540
580
52
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

From the beginning of our stay, everything was calm and not stressful.
The most difficulty we faced was choosing between relaxing poolside on the comfortable chairs, laying down under an umbrella on the beach, or floating around the lazy river.

Room Tip: We didn't have an ocean front view, but still could see the Atlantic Ocean from our room that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review! We strive to create the perfect, stress-free, atmosphere for our guests to unwind, so we’re very glad you were able to relax during your stay. Hopefully you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been a re-run customer for almost 20 years. Want to applaud all the staff for superior service, but a few stood out Nathan at pool side was very attentive always with a smile and making sure every detail was addressed. Claudio took my reservation and also addressed each request with optimum results. The hotel itself if beautiful, perfect size, rooms are over sized beautifully decorated and clean. Linens are WHITE and crisp. Again great weekend and at a great resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We’re glad that after 20 years you keep on coming back! Thank you so much for sharing this review with us and complimenting our amazing staff. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived, staff was there to greet us! Valet Alejandra and Bellman Victor immediately assisted us in unpacking. Wes checked us in and explained the amenities, which are over the top! Our room was expansive with an ocean view & spotlessly clean by Georgia! We went down to the pool deck where Nathan located chairs and placed fresh towels on them. Shannon served us bottomless cold drinks poolside overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We walked a few steps down to the beach where Nicind set us up a beach umbrella. For dinner we ate at the bar & grill, Mayra served us cheerfully exactly what we asked for. In the morning we watched the sunrise from a rocking chair on the back porch while Earls swept & sang "Good Morning!" More lazy river time as Michele asked if there was anything she could do for us! Dinner was in the fancy Ocean restaurant we had snapper, shrimp, and salmon cooked perfectly by Chef. I loved the view from the deck of green grass, palm trees swaying in the breeze, cocoa colored beach sand, deep blue ocean gentle waves, and white painted bannisters. What a wonderful stay and vacation, we felt truly relaxed and pampered!

Room Tip: a good room would also include city view because you still can see the beach and the street below. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with such a descriptive review! It sounds like you had an amazing experience. We appreciate that you gave recognition to many of our staff members and will make sure they know they helped make your stay enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Pelican Grand was pretty, but while i was floating around the lazy river with my baby, my iphone was stolen out of my diaper bag, along with my wallet (with less than $100). My husband's phone was also stolen from under his towel.
The only people there mulling around were the pool attendents. Who were fiddling with 'fresh towels' ... Of course, you can't accuse if you didn't actually see it happen. The pool was very uncrowded and it happened very quickly. I should have made a fuss....it happened so quick, my husband checked his phone to see what time it was because he and our sons were going to a football game in Miami. Then he came to float around the lazy river with me. 10 minutes later he got back out and our phones and my wallet was gone.
My wallet just happened to be found in the lobby on the piano within the next hour.... cash was taken, but at least my drivers license was there. Had to cancel all the credit cards. I felt set-up and unsafe at the Pelican Grand after that.
If you go, please guard your items. The hotel manager DID respond to an email i sent him, but what could he really do??? He said he was sorry. He would tell the insurance company. The hotel insurance company denied any claim or responsibility. I wrote to the hotel manager again asking him if it was the end of the road for me...never heard back.
My husband thought the hotel looked nice online and it did have a lazy river, which he thought would be fun for the kids even though we were there to do things in Miami. I would say skip this hotel and stay in Miami. My advice is Be on guard, hiding your stuff doesn't work. My husband was in the army and we have traveled to many hotels all over Europe and in the US. We have never had anything stolen anywhere, except here at the Grand Pelican =(

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We apologize for any negative experience you may have had. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay as we always take customer feedback into consideration to help us improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FT MYERS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed hrere and realy enjoyed the layout decr and the size of the room . If you want to relax and feel away from it all this is your place . Breakfast is very substantial and excellent , other food just okay . I enjoyed the setting the ambient athmosphere of this resort . Great archecture and styling

Room Tip: beach view with full walhthru suite and sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the layout of the room and that you were able to relax and feel serene at our property. Since you loved our breakfast, make a dinner reservation during your next stay at Ocean2000 for an unbelievable meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have spent Mother's Day weekend here for the last two years and I think we are going to make it an official yearly tradition. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, Although the hotel was extremely busy, you would never know it by the level of customer service provided by their cheerful staff. We spent most of our day by the lazy river and the beach. I have to commend Nathan, who was working that area and was constantly checking on all of the guests and made us feel like royalty. We enjoyed everything about the hotel. We ate poolside, we had cocktails, and the kids even loved the ice cream parlor. Honestly, we never, left the premises. We had everything there that we wanted. The only thing I could hope for is that the lazy river wouldn't close at six, especially in the summer when the sun's out till after 8 pm. Well, we had a great time and I can't wait till next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We’re so happy to be a part of your Mother’s Day family tradition! It sounds like you and your family truly had the perfect weekend. We appreciate your review and have passed on your Lazy River feedback to management. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Address: 2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Grand Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Pelican Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Grand Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Pelican Grand Beach
Pelican Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.