We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frank McDougall reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pelican Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Quechee, Vermont
1 review
“Frank McDougall reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful facility, beautiful location. Room was excellent but in definite need of a second comfortable chair. this would be a potential reason not to return.

Additionally, restaurant seemed to be more catered to walk-in trade than staying guests. Got totally yanked around several times trying to get an outside table. Also feel menu offered too few moderately priced options.

Staff was very good. Bellman from Brazil was absolutely super and e had good experiences with Kim Singer in the gift shop and Nathan at the pool / beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for all of your comments. We are thrilled that you had a great vacation
while staying with us. Our staff will also be happy to hear you enjoyed their company
and services. We hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    483
    140
    96
    54
See reviews for
622
712
62
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Pelican delivered on a nice level of luxury with a decent-sized living room adjacent to the bedroom. We loved having the balcony overlooking the ocean, however the creakiness of the balcony banister kept us extra cautious out there. The pool area,lazy river and bar were a nice touch, if a bit overpriced- one drink at the pool set us back $19.00, ouch. We were glad to have a car since the hotel is near to other restaurants only by car but not by walking. The beach was nice but pretty deserted. Staff friendly. Some of the guests seemed snobby, not the hotel's fault :-) Next time, we may stay closer to the Hollywood Beach area, that vibe felt younger and more laid back. Overall good stay. Oh, and definitely check out Cafe Seville nearby, best dining experience for entire trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property! We love receiving
feedback from our guests. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall
and we hope you choose to stay with us again, we loved having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited the Pelican grand during a road trip from Toronto, to Florida and back. This is not a big resort but the people are fantastic. Friendly, and always willing to help. The rooms seem a bit dated to me, but my husband says that's part of the charm of the hotel. The pool is not huge, but is never too crowded and I always found a spot to sit at. One of my favorite things to do was to relax on the southern porch in one of the many rocking chairs. Here you can watch the cruise ships leaving the ports. The dining is also very good. Food is excellent and reasonably priced. I would like to give special mention to several of the staff.....Both Alex's, Kat, Mellisa, Bobbie, although every staff member was great. I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Wow, what a long journey! We are so happy you chose to stay with us and even more
pleased to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us! The Alex’s, Kat, Melissa, Bobbie, and
the rest of the staff will also be happy to hear you enjoyed their services and were able to
unwind and relax! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We hope to see
you again on your next visit to Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I decided to take a trip to Fort Lauderdale with my two sons and my mother. We ended up choosing Pelican Grand Beach. What a beautiful place. It is right on the beach/beach access. A wonderful pool and lazy river. There is also a great place just to sit in the chairs and watch the ocean. We had a Queen suite overlooking the ocean and the views couldn't have been more breathtaking. The extra room had a couch and pull out chair which was the perfect place for my mother to relax and watch tv. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Oceanfront Queen suite has plenty of room for a whole family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for all of your comments! We love hearing from our guests and we are
so pleased to hear you enjoyed the beach, lazy river, and all of our resorts’ amenities.
We would love to have you and your family back to stay with us on your next vacation!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We did a cruise over Christmas (2012)...and decided to stay a few extra days in Ft Lauderdale to enjoy New Years.
We stayed at the PelicanGrand Beach Resort. Its a nice hotel, rooms are big and for us (family of 3) we actually had a huge room with a king bed. Then a seperate living space (seperated by a glass wall)- that turned into a bedroom for our son & night.
Our view of the ocean was fantastic.
The only "not so good" things I'd have to say is ... the rooms are a bit dated, (beds & furniture need to be updated) The food at the hotel isn't great...but you're minutes from great restaurants and food. Rent a car..,,, best thing you can do! So much to be seen just minutes from this hotel!

The beach isn't wide @ this part ......but it goes forever and forever......and my son loved it at this hotel!
The lazy river is every kids favorite thing at this hotel...and I will say that the staff at the pools are outstanding...so nice & helpful!

We would go back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are very happy you chose to stay with us to extend your vacation. It pleases us to
hear you son loved our lazy river and the beach! Thank you for all of your comments and
advice to future guests. We really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you and your
family back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hasd agreat time. Second time here.. Great service espcially Corey in dining room and Jen and Nathan poolside. The bar staff could have used a little more excitement and smiles while serving but the view, rooms and the best mattresses ever, and the food in the dining room were fantastic! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are so happy you chose to stay with us again and that you had another fantastic
vacation! Our staff will be pleased to hear you appreciated their services. Thank you for
taking the time to write a review for us. We look forward to your return next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My family and I LOVED the resort. While not many attractions or restaurants are around it, in our opinion the incredible access to the beach makes up for it. The rooms are spacious and very nice, with amazing views if you are facing the water. The staff is very friendly and literally do everything possible to make you comfortable and accomadated, especially Leroy down by the pool!!!! My family loved the food here, especially the Tropical Dreams Smoothies, we were obsessed! The valet service was very convienant as well. Overall, just a beautiful relaxing experience, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Sounds like you and your family had a fabulous time! We are thrilled to hear our
resort was accommodating to everyone on your trip and you were able to relax with
each other. We would love to have you back to stay with us next time you are down
vacationing! Thanks for writing a review for our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Address: 2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pelican Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Grand Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Pelican Grand Beach
Pelican Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.