We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Small meeting groups” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pelican Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
“Excellent for Small meeting groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very lovely property with access to beach and located in quieter are of the beach. Nice pool and water river float. Great food and service for the group and staff very amenable and trying very hard to please. Pool and beach staff very accommodating as is restaurant and pool service. Overall great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on ocean side are larger and have great views but all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear DRBVAC,

Thank you so much for your comments and for sharing them with the Trip Advisor community. It is great to read that your meeting was a success. We are a perfect location for those small meetings. You are kind to point out that we are always striving to be not just accommodating but always looking for ways to personalize our service for each group or guest.

We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    485
    140
    96
    54
See reviews for
623
713
62
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Pelican Grand has a certain charismatic old world charm both in appearance and the first class service they provide. The style of the hotel is colonial, with the necessary modern touches to make life more comfortable and add that luxurious feel about it. The suites are tasteful in decor and offer beautiful sea views, to say they need minor decorative work does not detract from the whole wonderful vacation experience. We found all of the staff very pleasant, attentive and even the "regulars" using the bar facilities were welcoming. They praised the bar staff and special recommended the service of the bar tenders Paul and Mikey. They didn't disappoint, both make you feel a valued customer, are well informed and serve up great cocktails. The bar is unique in that single people would not feel uneasy using the facility on their own as everyone was made to feel part of the Pelican family. Sounds corny but true. Would I revisit? Of course. The whole experience makes you want to go back; well done to all of the service team.

Room Tip: A Hotel room is there just for sleeping, however the suites offer a mini apartment feel. The views f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear 0805geoffers,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay here at the Pelican Grand! It is terrific to read your review and I know I speak for our entire team when I say we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Personally I want to thank you for your visit and to say we will all be looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely loved our stay at this hotel. The hotel is beautifully situated right on the beach with an amazing view of the ocean right from your room. But what made our stay so great was the wonderful staff. One person in particular, Kevin, who works at the pool went the extra mile to ensure that we were well taken care of. He attended to our needs without us having to ask. Another exceptional person was Myra who also worked at the pool bar. She was very nice and down to earth which brightened our day even more. Also Patrick who worked at the pool as well was very nice and offered us refreshing ice cream. All in all we really appreciate the wonderful staff who made our stay GRAND and we will absolutely be coming back again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sheekar,

So happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. You are kind to mention several of our outstanding team members who made your stay special. We all want to thank you for your stay and will be waiting for your return.

Thank you
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our trip last April was terrific. I took the family back for seconds this week. This time it was just as great. Claudio in reservation is a gem. I was happy that Michell who overseas the pool and beach area is still there doing a fantastic job. Added to the staff of great employees is Joey. Who you can find at the pool or beach. Their warm Lazy River beats any regular pool or hot tub that the other local resorts might have. Also to be able to walk right onto the beach is a real plus.Storm Sandy did do some damage to the beach area but it is still a grand place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear DavidMitchell97,

It is a pleasure to see that you were back and thank you for such a glowing review. You are so kind to mention our team members who made you stay special the second time around. I personally want to thank you for your business and we are all looking forward to your third visit with us.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Pelican Grand makes you feel like you are staying in the Florida Keys. The property is beautiful from the lobby, outside dining and ocean front rooms. There is no better feeling than waking up in bed and seeing the ocean from wrap around windows in your room.
The enire staff makes sure your stay is excellant and treats you like family. I can not say enough about the service from Enrique, he truely cares about his quests and goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is world class.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Frank L

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the service you received from our team members. I personally want to thank you for your business and hope you will come back to see us real soon.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley Pa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

But there beach is gone, sandy took it, waves come right up to hotel, so if your not coming to hang at beach, loved the hotel, pool, rooms and the views were great. Also not really close to everything so u have to have car, Las Olas beach is a very nice beach with everything to do, loved it, also loved Fort Lauderdale by the sea beach

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear terriblespellher,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay. You are correct that Sandy and the following extreme high tides of November really did a number on the beach here in Ft. Lauderdale. We are working very diligently with the Army Corp of Engineers, the Florida Department of Environmental Protection and the city to try and rebuild our beach and dunes.
Again, I am glad you had a good stay with us in spite of what mother nature has thrown at us.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Pelican Grand is reminiscent of "Old Florida". The decor, while modern, is resplendent in white, with rattan and wicker in the lobby and rooms. Ceiling fans complement air conditioning in each room. There is an elegant veranda facing the Atlantic, replete with rocking chairs to view the surf, sunrise, sunset,etc, On our last visit, we witnessed a wedding in front of the hotel, on the beach, with violins, and cello, with the sun setting over the ocean. There is also a first class restaurant, seating also available on the veranda.
Located on A1A, the Pelican Grand is minutes away from shopping and dining on "Las Ollas", as well as the many attractions of Ft. Lauderdale. This is a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear stargate965,

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. It is a pleasure to read that we exceeded your expectations. I hope you will return soon and personally want to thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Address: 2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pelican Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Grand Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Pelican Grand Beach
Pelican Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.