We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Pelican!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pelican Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pelican Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #12 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
London, ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved the Pelican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Staff were amazing, very attentive, and hard working. We had amazing service for our meals in the dining room which overlooked the ocean. Even after spilling two drinks, Jason one of the servers was quick to assist and smiling the whole while! Our room was spacious and there was a great sitting area overlooking the balcony and ocean. The pool and lazy river were enjoyable and the service was great. The beach was lovely and the attendants helped with setting up our chairs. Staff always appreciated their tips, but I never thought their high level of customer service was dependent on tips. Overall, great experience with three of my women friends and yes we would return. Away from the resort we had fun on the water taxi and the Jungle Queen Tour to a small tropical island. I would recommend both! Sawgrass Mall was an excellent place to spend a rainy day.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms share a large balcony with the entire floor but the view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear LizW645,

Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful to read about the terrific time you and your friend had while you were here. You are so kind to point out the personal service you and your friends received as this is always our goal. Thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    457
    133
    92
    51
See reviews for
609
672
58
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall a great hotel. The bad; Our room was in front of the elevators and was pretty noisy, no internet connection in the room, and the bed sloped. The T.V.s where from 1980, and $28.00 a day for parking is a bit much.
The Good; the service, especially Melissa and Rick from the lounge. They treated us like family and respected us like guests, they alone are worth the trip. The layout of the room and view where fantastic, as was the proximity to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ocean view, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Dimachef,

Thank you so much for your review and please let me say that I am disappointed that your stay was less than perfect. I can say that soon we will be replacing our TV as well as finally adding wifi to all our hotel guest rooms. As for valet parking I can say that we are the lowest charge on the beach.
It is great to read about the service you received and the team members that made your stay special. I hope that you will return soon and see the improvements that are being made.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

THis hotel is the nicest hotel we have ever stayed at. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and everything was so perfect we found it hard to leave the place. Our room which they upgraded us to a suite was soo amazing we woke up to the beach every morning. The restaurants and food was also delicious and we had a great time watching football in the bar. We loved our wait staff at every meal. We would most definelty recommend this to anyone and we plan on returning here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Julie2244,

Congratulation on your wedding and we are all happy that you had a great honeymoon. I know I speak for our entire team when I say we hope that you will make the Pelican Grand a tradition and will return to see us year after year. Thank you for your comments and again congratulations.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono's, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got home from this perfect hotel resort. Stayed there from 11/8/12 to 11/128/12. My friends had two rooms, and we needed a third room but did not have a reservation for the third room - the hotel went out of its way to help us get the third room without a reservation which was a relief since the hotel was booked solid that weekend. The location of the hotel could not be any better, right on the beach. The hotel is luxury with beatiful furniture through out. The hotel employees go out of there way to help you in anyway they can. There is no need to leave the hotel - they have everything you need from great resturants, pools, and bar. The main lobby of the hotel is breath taking. Valet parking makes things much easier also - they thought of everything in this hotel. I have been in a few hotels in Ft. Lauderdale and this one is byfar the best of the best. See my pictures it explains itself.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 210 - on second floor, ocean front suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Extremeboating,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community. It is great to read your review and to hear about all of our team members that made your stay special. I certainly hope you will be back to see us again very soon.

Thank you again,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here in August as a 4 day mini vacation. We wanted an ocean view balcony, room service and beach front access. It was beyond wonderful and met all our outsized expectations. Loved the veranda with rocking chairs enough for lots of visitors. Used the pool and did swim in the ocean. Great room service. Our room was very quiet. Will do this again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear loveshotels,

Our goal is always to exceed expectation and it is wonderful to hear when we succeed. I personally want to thank you for your business and we are all looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a great time at this resort. It was relaxing and the staff was very accommodating. We were visiting during the Detroit vs. NY playoff games for the World Series, so we spent a lot of time in the bar watching baseball. The bartenders were great to us and joined in our fun and celebration of the Tigers sweeping the Yankees. Thanks Rick & Melissa for your attentiveness and patience...We had a great time. Thanks for making joining in the fun !!!

Room Tip: We loved our rooms and the hotel. The only complaint I have and it is nothing major is our room flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Terese D,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Pelican. It is great to hear about our team member and especially the ones that made your stay so wonderful. We hope that you will return soon and spend a few more special days with us on the beach.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here one night pre-cruise with my fiancee in October 2012. The location was great, right on the beach. The pool area, the breakfast, he bars were great, too. Nice designs in colonial/ Southern style. We stayed at a junior suite on the second floor, with front ocean view. Fantastic views and the feeling of the waves rolling towards us. Unfortunately the room was huge, simply too big to be cosy, with the sitting area closest to the terrace. There were two enormous king-size beds in the sleeping area which was almost tacky. Why would they give us this room when we are a couple and not family with children? The room needed renovation, too. Very clean but I would prefer a smaller and freshier room.

Room Tip: Ask if they have newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear DelfinaOslo,

Thank you so much for your comments. It is disappointing to read that your accommodations were not what you expected. While you were here only one night I wish you had let us know. You are correct that your room was very large however, there were other choices that you could have been given that are smaller and cozier. I am happy to say that we have just begun a refreshing of the hotel rooms and should be completed by mid January.
I hope the next time you are in this area you will once again choose to stay at the Pelican Grand to experience the upgrades we are currently doing.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Address: 2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Grand Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Pelican Grand Beach
Pelican Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.