We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discerning Traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pelican Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Delafield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Discerning Traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We are discerning and picky about cleanliness, friendly staff,food, service and accurate description. We do not mind paying if we get what we pay for. We can not say enough good things. We stayed 5 nights and had guests stay for 3 nights in separate rooms. All were very happy with the entire resort. Breakfast on the veranda in the warms breeze and sunshine? In January? Ask for Marcelo. Do not hesitate to order anything. This was the first trip in years we were not forced to find a Starbucks! Great capochinos! Pricey- what vacation isn't? We found the AAA rate to be the best compared to others in the area and we were directly on the beach with complimentary chairs and umbrellas. The king suite ocean front with balcony,sunroom was very very nice.I cannot wait to think of an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: Ocean front for the view and quiet. Street side AIA is always busy and loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Dear Lynda H,

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. It is always a pleasure to hear such great comments especially since you were with us for 5 nights. Thank you for pointing out some of our special team members who made your stay memorable. I am glad you enjoyed our location of being right on the beach and the fact that our lounge chairs and umbrellas are all complimentary unlike most of Ft. Lauderdale Beach.
We hope you will find an excuse to return very soon. Thank you again and thank you so much for choosing the Pelican Grand.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    486
    140
    97
    54
See reviews for
625
715
62
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful dining and celebration experience New Year's eve. Food and service were excellent. Our waiter, Marcelo was attentive and engaging. We would highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to going there again on next visit to the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Dear evalbig,

Thank you so much for your comments and I know I speak for our entire team when I say we are glad you enjoyed your experience here at the Pelican Grand. We hope you will return very soon and enjoy the wonderful view of dining Oceanside.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

If the hotel took the time to renovate bathrooms and carpet, and remodel beddings...this hotel would be 5 star....great location....some front desk employees could use more triaining while others are very good

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Dear telavit82,

Thank you so much for your comments and for sharing them with us. Yes our décor is not typical as it reflects an old Florida ambiance. Nevertheless, I am happy to see you rated us very high in value and location. I do appreciate your comments on our guest reception and have shared this with our manager since we have several new members of our team. These comments go a long way in helping us improve our service.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Love the old Southern Mansion look.
Love that it is off the strip and the rates reflect that depending on the time of year & holiday's.
Beach is beautiful and not crowded...enjoyed a massage on the beach with white curtains up all around for privacy...nothing better than the sound of waves for your background.
Food was very good but service was a little slow.
Rooms were clean, beautiful & comfortable and the balcony overlooked the ocean line, breath taking.
The pool and lazy river was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Dear TravelQueen2500,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Pelican Grand with the Trip Advisor community. I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. You are correct in that we have a very special location on Ft. Lauderdale Beach or as we like to say just far enough out of the crowds but close enough if you want to be with them.
I do apologize that in one of your dining experiences you found the service to be a little slow and can assure you that we have shared this with our team.
Again, overall I know I speak for our entire team when I say we are glad you enjoyed your stay. All of us want to thank you for choosing the Pelican and hope you will return very soon.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

WE decided to eat christmas lunch here because of 1) price - only 59$ ++ for the buffet and 2) location - on the beach. WE were not disappointed. We were a party of 10 and were seated outside on the tented veranda. The views were stunning. In part helped by the near perfect weather.

The restaurant was VERY busy but after we were seated didnt seem so bad. I wouldnt have wanted to sit inside as i think it would have been noisy.

The food was really good. Not sumptuous but more than adequate. Carvery station, sushi, raw bar, king crab legs, all sorts of breakfast nosh, and the best waffles on the planet. The desserts were really well presented and tasty. We were full. The price only included soft drinks and regular coffee. All right for us as we planned a booze up later in the day :-)

Excellent value for money, great food, friendly staff, perfect location for christmas on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Dear 21SKVN,

It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed our special Christmas Brunch for your party of ten. We hope that you will come back soon and enjoy another wonderful dining experience with us on the veranda overlooking the ocean.
Thank you so much for choosing the Pelican Grand and the North Ocean Grille and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I read many negative reviews about this hotel. My only negative comment is that couldn't stay longer. The lazy pool is by no means a "kiddy pool". It's small but I managed to enjoy time floating in the inner tube. The rooms were great. We had a room overlooking the ocean. The decor was a tastefully done "Old Havannah" style. there was a seperate room with a couch. Great for a third guest. Staff was great and even looked into some independent activities. It was a great experience and a definite must stay.

Room Tip: Book a double room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Dear IIit2000,

We are sorry you could not stay longer either. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. I know I speak for our entire team when I say thank you for your business and we hope next time you will stay longer.

Sincerely,
Bob Keesler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I were travelling to the Florida Keys for a few days, therefore we flew into Fort Lauderdale. We stayed at the Pelican Grand for one night upon arrival to Florida, and one night before flying home. This hotel is fantastic! First walking in and seeing the balcony overlooking the ocean...amazing. The staff are friendly and helpful (we received a room upgrade on our second night!). The beach is great! Though it does get busy so I suggest getting a beach chair around 9 or 10am...They were pretty hard to find after that. The rooms are beautiful and the bed is extremely comfortable. We had a street facing view on our first night, and even that was nice. The second night we had an ocean view and it was breathtaking...it inspired us to wake up early to see the last sunrise of 2011!
I wish we could have stayed longer. We decided that our next trip to Florida would be to just Fort Lauderdale, and we will be staying at the Pelican Grand without a doubt.

As a side note I HIGHLY suggest trying their sweet chill calamari in the bar.

Room Tip: Oceanview is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Grand Beach Resort

Address: 2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pelican Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Grand Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Pelican Grand Beach
Pelican Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.