We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Lugano Hotel

Save Saved
You added Il Lugano Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Il Lugano Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Webster, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Exceptional value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I expected this to be a nice place but I was wrong. It was superb! The staff, surroundings and comforts were of a character you would expect of a much higher priced facility. The room was spacious, spotless and exceptionally well equipped. The wireless was easy to connect to and worked very well. There was a good assortment of free TV. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Assistant at Il Lugano Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
On behalf of the entire il Lugano team, we would like to take a moment and thank you for taking the time to write this nice comment. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback, and are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. If we may be of any additional service, please feel free to call the hotel @ 954-564-4400. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and the Greater Fort Lauderdale Area in the near future. Thank you again.

Carly Golden
Executive Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    195
    35
    27
    18
See reviews for
172
397
41
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and very well-maintained. We had a Junior suite overlooking the intracoastal with amazing views. The room was very spacious with an extremely comfortable bed and luxurious linens and great amenities. We loved watching all the boats go by. The restaurant da Campo Osteria was fantastic. The housekeeping situation was a bit inconsistent. A few times they did not give us enough towels but we got them eventually and it took three phonecalls to get more hangers. Also $25 per night to valet the car is a bit steep for this area. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others looking for a quieter retreat in Fort Lauderdale.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the intracoastal offer great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We only stayed one night but it will be more next time.
We were in Ft Lauderdale to visit friends before our flight back to the UK and I had a look at using a different hotel to the usual one we stay in and we were glad we did, this place is just fabulous, when we checked in Ana at the front desk had upgraded us to the Il Lugano suite which was lovely and massive but at the wrong side of the hotel so we went back and asked for our original request of a intercostal view junior suite which wasn't a problem and we were pleased we changed because the view was just fantastic watching boats going up and down from our balcony was almost like being on a cruise ship, we had a nice living room area with a separate kitchen and laundry and a good size bathroom with bath and over bath shower.
The staff were absolutely great especially Ana and the guys in the bar (Portugese and New Yorker) but everyone made you feel like it was a family run business and were extremely friendly.
The breakfast was very nice but rather expensive, the Valet parking was $25 and I didn't ask if there was any public parking but I'm sure there would be.
I would recommend the hotel to my friends but if you like nice views ask for the intercostal rooms.

Room Tip: Intercostal rooms have the best views but if its not important the sea views are bigger but a good d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Assistant at Il Lugano Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
On behalf of Ana and il Lugano, we would like to take a moment and thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We sincerely appreciate your positive remarks, and are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. If we may be of any further service, please feel free to call the hotel @ 954-564-4400. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and the Greater Fort Lauderdale Area in the near future.

Best Regards,

Carly Golden
Executive Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent a week here from Apr 7 to 13th 2013, all I can say is great things about this hotel. The staff are truly courteus and the service is excellent. The housekeeping was great and I noticed that they would even wash my dishes left in the sink and really clean the suite. I travelled with my wife and our 14th month old son which seemed to have enjoyed the time spent in the pool! The parking across the street (metered parking) was convenient and much cheaper than the valet service being offered. Just be careful and ensure you are on top of your meter as I missed putting in money for a few mins on two separate occasions and received a 32$ parking ticket.(very annoying). I had the 1 bedroom intercoastal suite which is very large and beautiful. It has a full kitchen which was very convenient with our son needing some food heated up. When we come back to Ft. Lauderdale i will definitly return to this hotel. Thanks for the great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed there for a few days in January and were very pleased with the service and hotel itself. We would recommend to get a room facing intracoastal channel as this one has a beautiful view. If you go for the rooms facing ocean all you will get is a view of the parking lot and some buildings that will block your view of the ocean. We were wery pleased with the restaurant downstairs, but we only were there for a breakfast. Very nice service and good food. Location is very convinient with quick access to major roads and public beach just across the street. We would definately stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the intracoastal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous boutique hotel, large, modern, upscale suites, intercostal view was unbelievable, service impeccable, restaurant good, location on north side of Ft Lauderdale offers fewer near-by restaurants and bars, and beach is a bit of a hike (not that far, though). However, if you like to walk, you can walk to the south end or a quick cab ride to Las Olas area where the options are high-end and plentiful. I highly recommend this excellent hotel. It exceeded my expectations. I will be back!
Sue
Chicago IL

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Assistant at Il Lugano Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely response about il Lugano. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and are very delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Carly Golden
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a pleasant 2-night stay. We were met with a courteous, professional welcome at the front desk. Modern furnishings in lobby and the rooms, decent housekeeping, and a somewhat entertaining view of the intracoastal waterway at reasonable rates. On the down side, I felt the space around the pool was way too compacted; not many chairs and not much room to move about in the small deck space. The pool was not heated and the water temperature was very cold. It didn't help that surrounding buildings cast a shadow and block any warming sun exposure. No one in my party wanted to go in the pool and that was all we were interested in doing for our short stay. The rooms and rates are much better than at your average hotel, but I don't think we would have as favorable of a review had we stayed any longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Lugano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Lugano Hotel

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Lugano Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Jetsetter, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Il Lugano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Lugano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.