We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal to your Saves list
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly Il Lugano Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel with ooms that are more like one bedroom apartments. A kitchenette was a nice touch and pots and pans were easily available upon request. The complimentary bike rentals are perfect for a nice sunny day along the beach and the restaurant serves some OUTSTANDING freshly made pasta. Even though it was pricy...it was worth it for me. They also give you a ride within a 3 mile distance from the hotel which was very helpful seeing as how South Florida taki's are VERY expensive. At $109 on special this was an excellent experience :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
On behalf of il Lugano thank you for your outstanding comments. We are honored you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer, from our rooms to our views we take great pride in what we have to offer. We look forward to your next visit.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    219
    39
    34
    18
See reviews for
193
443
46
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed three nights arriving on Thanksgiving. The hotel seemed quite quiet. We had hoped to eat in the hotel restaurant which is well regarded but there was only a four course special holiday menu available so instead we ventured out into the local area.

Our suite was spacious and on the ocean side of the hotel. Only two minor criticisms; in the bathroom the tub was very shallow and slowly let the water out so it was impossible to have a long soak. Also as the bedroom was not separated from the kitchen area, the noise from the huge fridge freezer was very irritating whilst trying to sleep.

The outside space of the hotel is attractive and, as other reviews have mentioned, the Intracoastal Waterway side actually has nicer views because the sea views look out over a rather ugly area of low rise commercial properties in front of the hotel.

Our deal included free valet parking which is important as its 25 dollars a day and all street parking nearby the hotel is metered.

Room Tip: Choose Intracoastal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now and never been disappointed. We always go for a junior suite with intercostal views as we like watching the boats. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, a mini apartment well equipped with a washer/dryer & kitchenette. Plenty of storage to put your suitcases and all your shopping - shopping is great in the area.

There is a restaurant on site, closed Mondays. In the past we have found the food & service to be outstanding. Unfortunately we were not so lucky this time. We arrived around noon and as our room was not quite ready we decided to have a beer at the bar in the restaurant. The young female was not very welcoming however we got a beer and she left the bar area to work elsewhere. The restaurant manager James then came along who was very friendly and offered all the customer service you would expect from this high end restaurant & bar. It was down to James that we ended up staying for lunch and enjoying a nice glass of wine. You can imagine our horror when the young female who had been unwelcoming to us when we first sat down and whom we had not seen since forced our check upon us whilst we were still eating our lunch and enjoying our wine. When I mentioned to her that it was not normal practice to present someone with their check prior to them finishing their meal her response was that her shift was finished and we had to pay then. Well, considering she had not even served us throughout our time there apart from the one beer when we first arrived we thought this was out of order. Unfortunately, this left a bad taste in our mouth and did not return to the bar or restaurant for dinner. We found lots of other great places to eat but were disappointed at missing out on Da Campo Osteria (hotel restaurant) as it has been fantastic in the past. I must add though other staff members were friendly, even the head/executive chef who we chatted with briefly. It just goes to show it only takes one bad apple in the barrel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Granted we probably can't afford it on every vacation, but this place rocked! It's a gorgeous boutique hotel on the intracoastal waterway. We had found a good deal (a pattern if you read my other reviews) that included 2 drinks, $25 dining credit and the room. The room was a 1-BR apartment that could have fit 6-8 (though we were just 2 + a kid). Kitchen, balcony, bathroom, bedding...everything was in great shape, nicely appointed and what you would expect from a 4-star hotel. We used the pool in the afternoon, would have loved to sit on the waterway and just watch the boats cruise by. Valet service and a great area with some low-key nightspots, restaurants, shops including a Walgreens. They even provide a Cadillac Escalade to get you to the beach (they drive of course). Service was great, even the security guard acted like a concierge in terms of showing us around. Wow!

The restaurant in the hotel was the best I've had and well worth any accolades it gets. Will review that separately, but don't miss the hand-pulled mozzarella (go Super!) to start - everyone will love it.

Room Tip: Go with the Intracoastal side...you could literally jump off the balcony on to someone's yacht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are glad you and your guests enjoyed the hotel as well as the Fresh pulled Mozzarella from da Campo Osteria. We look forward to your next stay in Fort Lauderdale.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great size room, very comfortable. Walking distance to some great places. Good views. Only got to stay one night but it was a true treat. Sunset over the intercoastal was awesome. Wish we could have stayed longer. Next time I am in town I hope they have the same great deal I got for this one night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are honored you truly enjoyed your stay here at il Lugano Hotel. We look forward to your next travels to the Greater Fort Lauderdale area and host your stay in our hidden gem.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed in October 2012 - arrived by limo and the driver had difficulty finding the hotel and then the entrance!

Once inside the hotel was perfect - great room which was a full apartment with everything down to a washing machine and dryer. The staff were friendly, attentive and unobtrusive.

Had a delicious breakfast in the restaurant however this time I would have preferred the staff to be less obtrusive and more attentive.

I would still rate the hotel a great place to stay in Ft Lauderdale.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield,ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days October 19-23... room was beautiful and huge, full kitchen and bathroom was extremly large and so nice... we parked in public lot across the street free from 6pm to 8am...pool was nice although very limited time for sun do to blocking by building...Jacuzzi was nice... towels by the pool are top shelf...we got a great rate on hotwire...lobby and other areas of hotel are pure luxury.... quiet area with walgreens and supermarkets near by.....about a 15 ride to airport and 10 minutes to beach place and las olas overall a very nice hotel employees are great and very polite...

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with intercoastal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly Il Lugano Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.