We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ft. Lauderdale Weekend/Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal to your Saves list
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly Il Lugano Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ft. Lauderdale Weekend/Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

What a great hotel with wonderful suites. There was 12 of us all staying in six different rooms for a wedding weekend. The rooms were the best I have ever experienced—very clean, great space, quiet, great views, balconies, kitchens…perfect space. We also have a condo just up the road where my parents were staying and will have overflow visitors stay there from now on. I would definitely recommend it to anyone; it is the best hotel in the area. The restaurant is a bit expensive but good. The location is off the main path a bit, but I like that because it makes things quiet, and everything was very easy to access. It is not a beach hotel at all, but it is very nice being on the Intercoastal. The views were nice. The staff was very professional and accommodating treating everyone is a personal fashion. It is a good size boutique with a very professional appeal. Well Done.

Room Tip: Price at the website seemed to be as good as any or by joining iPrefer club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you had a great stay at il Lugano during this special wedding weekend. Though we in fact we are not located on the beach we have great Intracoastal views and are just a walking distance away to the beach. We look forward to your next visit to il Lugano Hotel.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    220
    39
    34
    18
See reviews for
193
445
46
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
montreal, canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is an oasis in a desert. The service received by team members (without limiting the list, I specifically remember Luis at the door, MaryAnne concierge and Josselyn at the reception desk and Monroe who made sure I had a daily capuccino on the lounge chairs at the back of the hotel on the intercoastal), was outstanding.
The property is very well maintained and the cleaning staff is extremely efficient and effective. Dog and kid friendly, which is quite rate for a boutique hotel of this stature. Kudos to the leadership, they've put together a great place and team.

Room Tip: The beach front side has wifi, while the other side has the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Wanted to go for our honeymoon someplace warm on a budget. Did not think I would be getting this fancy of a hotel! The best hotel and service we have ever had, though we don't often stay in ritzy hotels like this. We got there a little too early and left a little late, but both times they held our bags for us and let us check in early! They also included a couple of bottles of champagne for us as it was our honeymoon. Got the free upgrade through their I prefer service and ended up with a very large suite for $111 (price gouge rated at $799), good luck finding that deal anywhere else. Although it is a couple blocks off the beach it is in a quiet (during offseason) safe little downtown area with lots of nice bars with reasonable prices and fancy dining options. CVS is a block away too. Also it's a watertaxi stop.

Room Tip: Go with Intercoastal view, much better than ocean as it's off the beach. BOOK THROUGH I PREFER...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
On behalf of the il Lugano staff, congratulations. We appreciate the opportunity to be a part of such a memorable moment. Il Lugano as you mentioned has great amenities and we are pleased to hear you and your wife truly enjoyed them all. We look forward to having you and your wife stay with us on your next Fort Lauderdale get away.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthwestGal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Visited the hotel in late October. The room was spectacular. The intercoastal view was amazing. We were very impressed with the furnishings, bedding and size of the room. The gym was great and the restaurant very nice although very expensive.
Your car has to be valeted or you can try metered parking across the street. However the car was retrieved quickly and the valets were very personable and polite.
The downside was the pool. In the shade all day. Also we had several days of rain and once the rain was over the pool cushions remained saturated for days. There was no place to sit in the entire pool area without getting soaked. No attempt was made to remove cushions or turn them over to expediate the drying process.
We thought then lets go to the beach as we can't sit by the pool. The hotel has no beach chairs available, so we had to purchase chairs so we could get a little sun on our vacation.
If you are looking to lounge in the sun, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: ask for intercoastal upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We have booked four rooms at this hotel end of October 2011. The hotel looks more like a very nice modern residence hotel.

The reason is it has limited hotel facilities, but big rooms. On the basement there is a small reception and behind the hotel is a small restaurant for breakfast mainly. The gym is also on the basement floor.

When you take the lift you got to your room and what a nice welcome. The rooms are more like a small house, in Europe you have flats as big as this room. I had the galley, a living room and a big bedroom. And a quiet big restroom. In my room there were 10 doors, just to to give you an idea about the size of the room.

The room was equipped with two LCD TV, a bose music system, all kitchen equipment and also washing machines. I didn't spent so much time in the room, but if I was with my family, these will be a good advantage.

The hotel has a valet system, but just in front of the hotel there are many car parks. It is free from 6 PM to 8 AM and if you insert some money in the morning you can stay till noon..

My stay at Il Lugano was very good, the only issue I had was with the reception or may be lets call the management. We have booked 4 rooms for 5 nights. So we are a 20 pax customer for the hotel. One of our colleague has had a problem and came two days late. However the hotel has charged the first night as no show, Which is understandable.. Charged another 100 USD for cancellation fee and charged 3 nights from the Rack rate, which is 60% more than our agreed price. All I was demanding was to pay for all five nights (although he stayed three) from our agreed price.

After all they didn't asked the 100 USD cancellation fee, but again the total we paid for three nights at rack rate and one night no show, was more than our first agreed five night fee. I know the hotel fees terms and conditions very well, the hotel may be did what is written on the rules, but as a customer who booked four rooms, this didn't made me happy. Paying more than necessary and seeing no flexibility from the hotel..

Shall I stay at this hotel again.. I don't think so, its not because I didn't like the hotel.. I didn't like the hotel being so opportunist

Erkmen

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I highly recommend to anyone who is tacking cruise out of Fort L or Miami area.

Good things -

- very clean and modern room.
- Lagoon view is the Best!! It makes you feel like you are in Venice
- Full Kitchen + Breakfast area + Dryer/Washer is definitely plus
- Relatively close to the Beach and other hotels
- close by mall and shopping and dining area
- very economical for its price
- water taxi if interested

cons ( not that it mattered to me but..)
- swimming facility is small..
- outdoor feel is not a resort like but I'm fine with that
- expensive hotel parking

Tip:

Rent car if you are staying for couple of days from Airport. There is huge public parking lot outside hotel.. cost 50 cents per hour and free between 6pm-8am... It pretty empty so I doubt anyone frequently checks around... very easy to pay for parking, I used my mobile phone to add few cents in the AM :) google fort l public parking.

Room Tip: Lagoon view is better... Note that hotel is not beach front.. it faces main road and few other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I've read all the negative reviews and can only surmise that there has been a change in management since then..... ALL the staff were very friendly and eager to please....the food was REALLY good - the wines were wonderful - the rooms were exceptionally clean (I usually don't walk barefoot in any hotel room that has a carpet, but did here) - the bed was sooooo comfortable - loved this hotel and will be coming back! :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
We are very pleased to receive your feedback and see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to have our guests’ feel at home in this “hidden gem”. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
executive Adimistrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly Il Lugano Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Intracostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.