We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel For Couples Only” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added W Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
W Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel For Couples Only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed at the W Hotel the day before we left on a cruise and got a great deal through Priceline. The hotel was very upscale and modern. I would say it was very european. We stayed on the 12th floor and we had a balcony with a view of Ft. Lauderdale Beach right across the street. The room was big enough, plenty of closet space. The Bathroom is very strange. There is a glass wall in the tub that looks into the bedroom. Totally clear. This is great for couples but if you want privacy this is not for you. I don't quite understand why they designed it that way. This is a great hotel for a younger crowd, singles. Not somewhere you want to stay with your kids. It was convenient to everything and worked for us for a 1 night stay. it is also very expensive for drinks, etc. so make sure you pack a corkscrew and bring your own wine/beer. We ate at two great places. Highly recommend Coconuts for lunch. One street over and overlooks a Marina. You can dine outside and my husband said he had the best Mahi Mahi sandwich he ever had. That night we at at Casablanca. Nice restaurant on the boulevard about a 5 minute walk from hotel. Had breakfast at Spazzio. Food was good service was horrible as we sat for 15 minutes waiting for someone to come over and wait on us only after I almost tripped a waiter to get his attention. Was actually on the phone with Coconuts to see if they served brunch because we were about to walk out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    515
    253
    123
    88
See reviews for
364
873
137
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed 4 nights. I am a platinum SPG member, so we had an upgrade to a very nice ocean view-cool corner room. People at front desk were nice. The gym is well equipped and clean. The problems : the pool. We went to Florida to take advantage of the sun and warm temperature. In this kind of travel, the hotel's pool is very important. Well, we were very disappointed.

First of all, the water is not heated. Since the nights were not that warm, the water temperature was less than 70 F (21 C), which is too cold and not what you expect from a hotel that charges more than 300 $ a night.

Second, we were not really satisfied with the quality of the food served at the pool restaurant. Of course, one does not expect filet mignon or fancy dishes. But the burgers were average and the french fries... cold. We also tried the salads... average too.

Third, it appears that few employees were in charge of collecting the plates. Thus, after lunch, the pool area looked almost like a dump, with birds eating unfinished food and paper napkins all over the place since it was windy. The first day, we thought that maybe it was a once time "faux pas"... but on the 4th day, we came to the conclusion it was not.

Finally, the general feeling was not what we expected from a W hotel. We figured that maybe it's because the hotel is just too big so it cannot achieve the trendy/cool/cozy feeling one would expect from the W branch.

We went to Fort Lauderdale a month earlier, and stayed at the Westin, which is literally few meters away from the W. True, the room was probably not as fancy. However, the hotel has a beautiful heated pool, people working at the pool area were nicer and much more professional, and the room rate was cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Good Location, right across from the beach. Walking distance to plenty of restaurants.
The whole place was Edgy. (in a good way) Lobby on the 4th floor. Room was fantastic. Loved the shower! (See through into the bedroom- shutters for privacy)
Employees were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a great stay.

While we appreciated the “free” shuttle ride, we were a little put off by the hard sell car commercial we felt we had to listen too along the way to our destination.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We visited W in early march of this year and I must say the hotel's staff was very friendly and the hotel was located in a great spot. The room was very nice, the balcony and view were awesome. The food was divine at Steak954.

While the whole team was great, a special thanks to Jill D. who helped us for this stay and also for tours recommendations. Jill you are simple the best!

Thanks again W,

David

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

My husband and I decided to have a night away (even though we live here) and we could not have been more impressed. The staff at the W really know and understand how to keep their customers happy. Anytime we called the front desk, they were pleasant and extremely helpful. They were willing to do anything to make their customers happy. It was refreshing to see such amazing customer service.
The room was mind blowing as well. We walked into the big king bed that was facing 2 large glass doors that showed us the ocean and the Intracoastal! The bathroom was its own separate room that also had amazing views. There was a balcony that wrapped around the entire room and we were able to sit out there and enjoy the gorgeous weather.
If you are in this area, I highly recommend paying a visit to this hotel!
Also, we went to the restaurant (954 Steak) and it was one of the best (if not the best) experiences at a steak house for us. The food was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I stayed at the W in fort lauderdale during president's day weekend and i had an awesome experience! If you are looking to spend as long as possible at the beach this is the place to be! The hotel is wonderful, the rooms are modern and the staff is really friendly. Bruno, fromthe cafe, helped me to find a little french crepe house to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and we had a memorable night!! The only problem we had was to find chairs at the pool on sunday.
My only suggestion is to have better signs because with the 2 towers it gets confusing sometimes!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shediac, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I have travelled numerous times but I have to admit this is the best hotel that I have stayed in. I arrived very late in the night to checked in. The front desk clerk advised me that my request for my king size bed room was not possible but instead I was upgraded complimentary to a 3 room and full kitchen. When we opened our door on the 12 floor the only words out of our mouth was NO, NO, NOT True, this can't be the room. We had 3 patio door overlooking partial ocenfront and a view overlooking Fort Lauderdale. This room was not a hotel room but a condo. This was amazing. During our 3 night stay every time we would meet an employee of the W they would be very friendly and everyone would tell us to enjoy our vacation. The employees bend over backwords to make sure that our stay was incredible. I read some reviews here and I have to say I was worried when priceline advised me that I was staying at the W Fort Lauderdale, now I am just so very happy that my last 3 nights this month after our cruise that we'll be back to finish our vacation at the W Fort Lauderdale. WOW WOW WOW.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.