We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL IF NOT A BIT CROWDED STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added W Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
W Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL IF NOT A BIT CROWDED STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

On many levels a very typical W Hotel: stylish, modern but we the bustling crowd and nightlife. Just across the street from the Beach, along Ft Lauderdale Blvd, which is the Collins Ave, Sunset Strip for Ft Lauderdale. Fifteen minutes from the airport and along the way --- any kinda of store, food diving, etc you need. Like all W's quite the scene so parking is corwded and often wait fro the 3 elevators (at least for Tower I) to your room; and those enjoying the nightlife can be noisy. Service is EXCELLENT; Friendly, helpful and everyone from Front Desk, Parking and Pool Side, remembered my name after onvly 1 intro. Pool & Gym are on the 5th floor, accessible by your hotel key. Gym is very good size and well equipped. Pool is gorgeous: abundant towels, cushioned lounge chairs, unbrellas, even high stool and a bar counter for your to star at the beach all day. Infinity Pool that right in the middle of it has a fiberglass staircase doing down "through" the pool into The Lounge on the lower level, very cool; lots of people taking pix from the stairs so it appears the swimmers are in an aquarium. The pool is like a nightclub; packed and everyone standing in the pool with their cocktails. Cocktails are very good and Room has a balcony with a cushioned lounge chair. Very average size (and apparently I was upgraded as a Starwood member); not large but fine. Shower has a glass into the bedroom - so if you are sharing rooms with someone you want more privacy with; beware. Stuffed alligator with the remote is his mouth is adorable. Only "fault" is the crowds. Go with Sea Experience at the Bahia Mar Marina about 1 - 1 1/2 miles down for diving! They also do snorkel trips. Overall STAY HERE, you will enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    515
    253
    123
    88
See reviews for
364
873
137
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Overall, had a pretty good stay at the W Fort Lauderdale, but there were some issues...

Decided to stay check out this place on a weekend and will list some of the pros and cons of this place.

Pros:
-Good value
-Excellent Service
-Modern, stylish rooms

Cons:
-Very crowded, loud and congested (lobby, main pool area, parking, common areas)
-Uncomfortable beds
-Broken elevators and long wait times
-The place is a "scene"

Was looking to relax and couldn't say that I could do that at this hotel. Doubt I'd stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WFTLManager, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Well Hello There 'plmsprngs'!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're very glad to hear that you experienced our trademark service and enjoyed the beautiful interior design that our hotel is known for. However, we're also grateful for the constructive feedback you provided since we always strive to improve our guest experience in any way we can.

We definitely have areas of the hotel which are more high-energy at times than others, but the uniquely large size of our property also allows us to provide our guests with a variety of soothing and slower-paced spaces that are dedicated to those guests that are simply just looking to get away and relax, such as our second pool deck overlooking the intracoastal, the expansive sun bathing terrace and our signature Bliss Spa amongst others.

We'd love for you to give us another try, and hopefully we'll get the opportunity to show you the more soothing side of the W Fort Lauderdale.

Warmest Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

My girlfriend, 3yr old & my teenager just came back from the W hotel in Fort Lauderdale it was very nice, modern etc... The hotel has a nice lobby with pool tables, the bar, a seating area where you can see the swimming pool from below you can actually see the people swimming, an outside lounge area, the pool is also nice but a bit small. The staff was very friendly & helpful we really have no complaints from the hotel except that I think that they should disclose to the guest that the beach chairs & umbrellas aren"t free since the beach is across the street its public so they have a 3rd party co that rents them its $ 20 for the umbrella $10 for the chairs & if you want the padding its $ 5 more & the other thing we notice is that our room wasn"t clean very good mainly the bathroon & shower but besides that everything was good. By the way you cant smoke anywhere in the hotel only outside by the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WFTLManager, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Well Hello There 'beachlover410'!

Thanks for stopping by on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience with us! We love hearing that you enjoyed your stay, and please accept our sincere apologies if the umbrella and chair rental fee on the beach took you by suprise during your visit. Since our beautiful beaches in Fort Lauderdale are public, the chair and umbrella rentals are not managed by the hotels along the strip and so we are only able to offer complimentary chairs and umbrellas on our pool decks for our guests to enjoy on our behalf.

Thank you for bringing the need to explain this to our guests in greater detail to our attention, and we will certainly be taking measures to clearly state this on our website and through other guest communciations.

Warm wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Escaped with teenage son and husband for the weekend.The rooms are new and modern.The parking is $30 .There are some coin lots around but they are for 4 hours 24 hrs.So, it is insane to put coins every 4 hours. Be aware that at check in your card will be charged $200 for the "equipment" in the room.I didn't see so much equipment but the service was great.Anytime you just pick up the phone to the front desk they greet you by name.The staff is friendly.It was Saturday and they had for all guests a party with a DJ at The Living Room.We played billiard,listened the last pop chart music,danced and mingled with good looking crowd.The beach is just across the street you can even listen the waves during the night.
Overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Went to the W for a weekend getaway. Loved the hotel. The W is my all time favorite hotels in any city. The pool gets extremely busy with Jersey Shore types. We went early and left early to avoid this disaster. The hotel is very chic. I will definitely be going back. We had a corner suite which had two balconies. The hotel staff is very friendly and attentive to your every need. We also received a bowl of fruit to welcome us to the hotel. Steak 954 is an amazing restaurant, great food. Whiskey blue had a very cool vibe as did the living room but the music that night sucked. This hotel is not quiet if you are looking for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

With the low season rates, the W is an affordable place to stay that has lovely rooms, great food and a Bliss spa. What more could someone ask for?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGloyal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I've stayed at a lot of W's and have learned to be prepared for the extreme effort that goes into branding the experience. Typically it annoys me, but this hotel did such a good job that there is really nothing bad I can say about the experience. Yes - drink prices are a little high ($12 margaritas at the pool) but that's what I'd expect from this type of hotel. The nice thing is you're withing walking distance of some good restaurants and a short cab ride from Los Olas so you're not tied to the resort. We had a great meal at Spazio (down the beach) and at Asia Bay (on Los Olas Blvd). The hotel was spotless, well staffed and the service was great. I had read about the glass walls on the shower, but still wasn't prepared for how exposed I felt showering (and I've been married to my husband for 5 years!).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.