We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, posh hotel....thee place to stay in Ft. Lauderdale!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
W Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome, posh hotel....thee place to stay in Ft. Lauderdale!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

From the minute you drive up to the W, you know you've landed in the lap of luxury. Only valet parking available for $30/day, but that wasn't a problem for us. The valet was very quick to retrieve our vehicle when we needed it. The decor of the hotel lobby and public areas was so nice. I felt like some sort of celebrity! We checked in early and we're able to get into our rooms right away. Very modern furnishings in the rooms. The shower was entirely glass and overlooked the bed, so no privacy there if you wanted any! The location is perfect being right across the street from the beach. The infinity pool is awesome with underwater viewing area. We had to wait for a while to get chairs by the pool, but the pool attendants were very helpful. Drinks are very pricey and they do not allow ANY outside beverages or food in the pool area. We paid $12 for a regular size pina colada and $15 for a small blueberry mojito! Yikes! The ONLY problem that we had was that it was VERY LOUD for most of the night. This is THEE party place to be, so it is to be expected a little bit. There was loud music and loud party people until the wee hours of the morning. Around 2-3AM is when if finally quieted down and we were able to get some solid sleep.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    580
    283
    146
    99
See reviews for
444
975
149
369
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

This hotel is not only beautiful but the staff is amazing! They are so accommodating, and bend over backwards to make you happy. All you have to do is ask, and they will try to make your dreams come true, especially if you get to know the staff :) This was my second time going to this hotel and the staff remembered me from my previous stay a couple month earlier. They upgraded me in one of the nicest rooms they had (even though I reserved only one of their cheapest rooms) and always made sure everything I wanted was taken care of. There are to bar/clubs in the hotel with amazing atmosphere, I just can’t say enough about this Hotel, and Sebastian who was absolutely phenomenal! This is my new favorite, and you better believe I will being coming back often!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

I love this hotel. It is hip, trendy and sexy!! Best investment SPG ever made was create the W hotels. I highly recommend it to anyone who's looking to be amongst the hip and trendy. Music is absolutely fantastic by the pool as well as the food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

The W Hotel is a great property! The Hotel staff is fantastic, all friendly and know their business. The W Design is fantastic, they put thought into every single detail of the hotel. From the pool, to closets, to the spa all of it is fantastic.

Bliss Spa is great! Def make a visit for a Blissage, they wrap your feet in paraffin before the massage starts!

Try Steak 954, the sticky toffee pudding is TO DIE FOR!

Wet has a great DJ on the weekends, and they play good music by the pool when they dont. Be fore warned if you want to just sleep and have total quiet...this is NOT the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Just got back from a long weekend stay at the W. We had a great time!

Room was amazing. So clean and new. Bathroom has no door and the shower is all glass so as you shower you can see across the room and out the balcony doors. If you are shy you can request a room with shutters in front of the glass.

We switched from our first room because it was by the elevator and all you heard was a ding and people all night long. This is a party hotel so plan to be up all night. Our neighbors were having a party at 3am with the music blasting. We called the front desk and security shut the party down. The next day we moved to the other side of the hotel and it was the same thing.

Balcany was large and the ocean view was amazing.

Pool was nice but small. Get there early to reserve a spot. Pool gets packed with locals. They have a DJ spinning all day and waitress service at your chair. Totally not a place for families or relaxaton.

Starbucks is next door in the Hilton, don't go there! It is so over priced. There is a new SB about four blocks south, go there it has regular prices.

We had dinner on Las Olas which is a 5 minute cab ride. We ate at Samba room-so good!

Parking was $30 a day but very convenient. They have a lot of guys working who are so friendly and get your car so fast.

I can't wait to go back!



Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay at the W Fort Lauderdale. The decor is amazing. The room was big enough with nice details, (great Bliss bath amenities, Ipod dock). Staff attentive, young and gorgeous. Housekeeping not totally up to standards, food and drinks expensive, but hey, that is to be expected and the food IS good and the bars great. The bars (with good, almost European arrogance when serving, which I consider a good thing) are popular for the young (locals) in the weekend, so do not be surprised to find a totally crammed lobby and bar area when you return in the middle of the night. The beach is right across the street. And oh! The fitness area is large for a change, pool is great!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

As a Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest member, I have probably stayed at 75 Starwood hotels, mostlyh Westin and Sheraton branded hotels. This was my first W hotel. I expected it to be hip, and it was. The pool was a scene with loud techno music which I dislike. The service was very good. The required valet parking was $31.80/night. The hotel is right across the street from the wonderful Ft. Lauderdale beach, a real advantage. I am told the steakhouse in the hotel is excellent, as well as the Bliss spa. I can tell you the alcoholic drinks in the bar area are very pricey. The fitness room was very good. The hotel's unisex bathrooms are unique.

The hotel room itself was just like the rest of the hotel - very hip or chic. I am much more comfortable with the Westin style brand, and will choose that when staying on Ft. Lauderdale beach next time.

Despite the above, if you are 20 to 35 years old, the W Ft. Lauderdale is probably the place for you. It had 2 billiards table in the check in area, lots of silicone breasts, I observed someone with a hookah as I passed by one room, plenty of muscle men with shaved bodies, lots of singles and virtually no children, etc. It is a dog friendly hotel with no weight limit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.