We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply PERFECT stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added W Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
W Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
SmokyMountainGirl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply PERFECT stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Our stay at the W Hotel in Fort Lauderdale was one of the most comfortable ever. Awesome upscale decor, attention to detail, incredible pool and refreshment center, etc. Walked the beach and loved the view of the ocean. SUPER relaxing beds and so much more. Were treated very well and made very comfortable. Would love to go back and will recommend it to any traveler. Restaurants in the hotel and the area were a bit pricey for us with children, but we managed. Great spa.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    516
    254
    124
    89
See reviews for
366
875
138
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Sights: chic architecture, cool decor, ocean views, sunny skies, hot staff
Sounds: depends on the day

If you are there during the week, prepare to relax and enjoy this very hip, standout among some less appealing nearby venues (we were there Wed- Sunday). The pool has to be the key attraction - bikini clad waitresses and interesting cocktails keep the scene fresh and fun.

However, be warned if you are planning on "chilling" by the pool on Saturday or Sunday. We walked out at about 1:30pm on Saturday to about 300 people, a dj blaring hip hop and no chairs or umbrellas to be found anywhere. We tipped a pool boy who claimed he was going to help us out - only to be told, well, I only have one chair - and no umbrella. Which would be fine if I lived in FL and spent all day in the sun - but hello... it's a hotel? Chances are that hotel guests are coming from somewhere else - like me from the northeast - I had a burn after like 15 minutes - so it took me complaining at the front desk to finally get an umbrella.

It's a fun scene if you're up for being at a club all day long - which, once we had figured out the system, we finally started to enjoy - some of the people are gorgeous, there is certainly no shortage of eye candy so wear your hottest two piece - but for a hotel that I think it trying to make itself seem like "the" sophisticated hot spot, some of the porn star boobies and insane body tattoos detracted from that vibe ...

Pet peeve: Among all the cool, chic things that this hotel has to offer, I have to say they are water Nazis. I had a contraband water bottle in my room (meaning I purchased it outside of the hotel) and the maid threw it away before it was finished. Also, on Sunday we tried to enter the pool from the lobby where we were greeted by a young hotel employee who told us he had to search our bags - when he saw that I had a water bottle in my bag he said, "I'm sorry but I can't let you bring it up there. They're sponsored by Voss and Fiji so they get really upset if they see any other kinds of water up there." Seriously? I am guest of the hotel! I call bull$hit. That kind of capitalistic crap is not cool or chic - I felt like I was going to have to get my hand stamped at any moment just to show I was over 21. I was like, ok sure, I'll "put it away" and just entered from another door.

Some notes:
Bliss spa - great :) got my nails done
Steak house - great service, yummy food
Lounge/Club - club was okay- really long lines on Fri/Sat, lounge was great

So, I say, this hotel is great for relaxing, getting sun and having some good food during the week - on the weekends, it's great if you want to party and look at hot bodies - if you want sophisticated, go to France.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

The hotel is nice. My partner and I stayed at the W for six nights at the beginning of June. One issue I had was that at times (several times) the hotel couldn't tell who was a guest and who was a non-guest. If they think you are non-guest they are exceptionally rude. During their launch party, we walked through the front door of the hotel after dropping our car at the valet, but were advised that we weren't on the list. What list? We were staying at the hotel! We had to get the manager. It was quite embarrassing. There are a lot of people working, but none of them particularly able to help. The highlight was Steak 954. Although I am a Vegetarian (what should I have expected) the service was excellent. There were not really any options except ordering side items. I'm not "frugal" either, but there was a steak that was over $250 (that will make you a Vegetarian). I would say not to spend more than 2-3 days at the hotel. It will quickly loose its charm. One day the maid replaced our glasses with dirty glasses. I advised the front desk, and they said they would comp a breakfast which was nice, but they ended up recharging the breakfast, so I was double charged for my compd breakfast. When, I checked out, I advised them that I wanted to use a different card than when I checked in. (My partner was paying for some of the trip.) They ended up charging me for the whole trip. Sylvia in Finance straightened that out after I returned. I was at work and really didn't want to deal with it anymore. I would actually stay in Key West or Palm Beach if I were to do it again. The room was nice, but again not for more than a few days and be prepared to pay heavily for everything. $15 internet per day, $35 parking, $15 drinks, tips, etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very hip, well designed, good energy place. My teen daughter and I are fairly well travelled in US, Caribbean and Europe, and this is one of the best places we have stayed. The rooms are upbeat, the 2 pools (one with DJ) are gorgeous. The design of the place makes great use of lighting, color, texture and materials. The balcony is large with great views. the staff is very gracious and friendly rather than hip/snob which could be the case. The rates are quite reasonable, at least during this promotion period. Highly recommended for a special experience

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

great design and great vibe !!! the rooms are nice and the bliss products great . all the bars are fun and drinks are wonderful . we usually stay at a ritz or four seasons but this hotel had a great energy . by the way , the food and wait staff is good too .some kids at the hotel and they seemed to enjoy the great pool as much as we did . beach is across the street .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Pro's - New hotel, nice rooms, nice balconeys, clean, and a happening place to be on Friday & Saturday night. It seems to be the hot spot for even the locals. Always women dressed to kill at the club and bars. It's really happening. It seemed like Hollywood with a bunch of good looking people in their 20's,30's, & 40's just having a lot of fun, & Lamborghinis, Ferraris, & Bentleys rolling up to the hotel all day long, bikini shows,etc. Didn't really see college aged kids. (If you're really out of shape, you won't fit in here)

Cons - You have to go through the lobby and then cross the street to go to the beach. Also, this place is Expensive! You have no choice on parking but valet which costs $32/day! It's insane. A couple times I called for my car, went downstairs, waited 10 minutes, only to find out they didn't even go get my car. Margaritas are like $15. I think a massage was $150/hour. It's not cheap at all. Another thing that pissed me off was on Saturday & Sundays, they have a DJ come to the pool and the music is BLASTED! So much so, that it's almost impossible to place an order at the bar because you can't hear the bartender. It was insane. Plus, all the locals wanna come there and hang out at their pool. During the week it was quiet though. Just the weekend was crazy. Another thing I didn't like was that I went to my room and got a protein bar & a fruit smoothie and went back to the pool. Security actually stopped me and said I couldn't bring it into the pool area which I thought was totally lame and a kick in the face. I can see if it was a machete but a protein bar? The women at the front desk said as long as it's not glass, it's no problem so I went up a different way and snuck it in. Then when we checked out, the same women told me she was wrong and that the pool party was private and it wasn't allowed. Whatever! I'm a guest and can't bring a stupid smoothie to the pool?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed for 4 nigths at the end of May 2009 in an apartment which was very nice, with a wonderful kitchen and modern design, beautiful view of ocean and lagune. Hotel staff was friendly and accomodating, I used the SPA (BLISS) and was very happy with it. It is a great hotel for a young crowd (mostly of "wannabies", very funny to watch). We have 2 young kids (3 and 5) and some things are not very "family-friendly". The pool is nice, but the DJ at 12pm is not a plus for us...definitely too loud. We liked the beach, but was very inconvenient to have to drop by the pool to get towels before going to the beach (there is no towel service on the beach) and you have to rent chair and umbrella. All in all good, great location, great staff, just not for families with young children.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.