We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the W South Beach service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
W Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but not the W South Beach service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My third times at the W Fort Lauderdale. A very good hotel over all but lacking service compare to other W hotels such as the W South Beach. Details make a big difference...for instance I was ready to open a good bottle of wine last night (19:00) but could not find a wine opener. Called whatever whenever and waited for 30 minutes. I finally went at the reception and a very nice lady at the front desk offered me her own wine opener.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
a_nadeau,

While we’re thrilled to have had the opportunity to welcome you back numerous times, I’m sorry to of the challenges you experienced while trying to find a wine opener. I’ve shared your comment with our team in hopes of expediting delivery in the future. We appreciate your feedback.

All the best,
LBosco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    580
    283
    146
    99
See reviews for
444
975
149
369
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great for a long weekend at the beach with no need to schlep around the area or get on the terrible 95.
Room was very nice and the staff was terrific. Brunch with friends at the steakhouse; The French Toast was a major winner and they make a great Latte.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
AlanR27,

It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit, and that you were able to indulge at Steak 954. We hope to see you again soon for some more French toast!

All the best,
LBosco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I highly recommend the W Fort Lauderdale. The hotel is very chic, clean and comfortable. All of the staff was extremely welcoming and accommodating. We truly enjoyed our stay and will come back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Ms0714,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I’m so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
LBosco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

There were some very good and some not-so-good things at this hotel.

Pros: Good location directly across from the beach. The property web site photos are all very accurate. Food in the restaurant and at the pool was consistently excellent. The partial ocean view was great from our room.

Cons: The bathroom is stylish with glass walls and no bathroom door however it lacks any privacy whatsoever...one can see (and hear) everything that happens in the bathroom from the bedroom area. The toilet area has a frosted glass wall and a loose fitting swinging glass door. The bathroom here is a classic example of "form over function". Housekeeping staff were not friendly. Yellow stains were found on the duvet cover; many long hairs found on the carpet. The thermostat was out of whack, it always showed that the room was about 10 degrees warmer than it actually was. The bed was not comfortable. The front cover of the in-room safe was broken and hanging off when we arrived. Staff was very inconsistent at the front desk & concierge, some were very friendly while others were completely dismissive. The room was a bit dark even with every light on. Bartenders at lobby bar were abrupt and not at all friendly. In general, service was spotty at best.

Room Tip: Ask for a partial ocean view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Capat,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. While I’m happy that you enjoyed the location and our pool deck, I am sorry to hear that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I’ve shared your comments with our team for review in hopes of improving future guests’ stays. We hope to welcome you back to Fort Lauderdale again, soon.

All the best,
LBosco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Recently flew here for a short weekend stay. Arriving from the airport the front desk was very accommodating and friendly, helped me get into a nice room to rest and freshen up. Would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Note that there is no privacy between the bath and the main room with that glass wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
MagnumPI808,

Thank you for your review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the recommendation.

All the best,
LBosco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Our plans to stay with family had to change at the last minute so we needed to make a fast same - day booking on a smart phone in a theme park. We therefore didn't have the benefit of time to research or read reviews. We had heard the W was good so a basic ( wonderful) room was booked online for 2 nights.
We arrived in the evening, the hotel was dark and buzzing but check in was quick and efficient and on entering our 22 nd floor room we made a beeline for the balcony to appreciate in the amazing view.
It was only on coming back into the room we noticed it had clearly been designed by someone who travelled alone as there was no door to the bathroom and the toilet was clearly visible ( and audible) to the bedroom.Well call me old fashioned but that is just unacceptable .
A staff member overheard us discussing this in the lift on the way back down to reception and asked if we would like a privacy curtain so we said yes.
A short while later when we were back in the room a guy came to fix the curtain but advised it would involve hammering and drilling for over an hour. As it was 10 pm and we had just ordered room service we declined and rearranged for the next morning. The next day we didn't bother as we only had one more night but it was a little uncomfortable using the loo.

Also didn't like :-
Room service - food good but no coffee table in room or portable table brought so one of us had to eat on the bed - again call me old fashioned ...
Closet had only short hanging so nowhere to hang a regular dress.
Only one bathrobe and one chair on balcony
No shelf or tray in shower for shampoo etc
No coffee machine in room.

2 nights was enough and the super comfy bed , pleasant staff and generally nice ambience of the hotel could not compensate for the inconveniences ( !!) of the room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
mrsW619,

Thank you for taking the time the share the details of your recent visit, though I’m very sorry to hear that your stay and design elements of the hotel did not meet your expectations. We understand that the design may not be for everyone, and truly appreciate your feedback. We do hope your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale in the near future.

All the best,
LBosco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We are local and went to celebrate our little boy's birthday last weekend. He loves hotels and we got a great deal for a one night stay. I called beforehand to ask if there was anything they could put in the room to make him feel special (like balloons) and spoke with Jerry from the Concierge. He told me they would do something for him.

On check-in both of our kids were greeted warmly with very cool alligator lollipops. The hotel has a very cool design and decor and the front desk is located on the 4th floor. We were given a Spectacular room, and even though it was only a partial ocean view, it was beautiful! The room was a nice size, beds were comfy. The best part was when room service brought our complimentary birthday amenity for our little guy...a plate of warm chocolate chip cookies that were so yummy and an awesome stuffed alligator! Many of the staff also signed two cards with birthday greetings...that was very sweet! He had a such a great time and is already talking about returning to the W hotel.

The only negative for us was the valet...$30 a night...ouch!

Thanks to the wonderful W team for making our son's birthday weekend even more special!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
KBM4,

First of all – Happy Birthday to your little guy, and thank you for celebrating with us! I’m so happy that our team was able to make his day all the more special. We hope you all had your fill of fun and cookies, and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
LBosco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.