We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just don't want to leave . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added W Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
W Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Larchmont, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I just don't want to leave . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

15th wedding anniversary. Never been away from the kids for more than a night. Off for three days and two nights to Fort Lauderdale at the W. Our only mistake was renting a car. We didn't need it. There was no reason to drive anywhere. Our room was unreal. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen on the twentieth floor overlooking the Intercostal with fabulous views in every direction but North. The bed was everything its supposed to be

The staff was very accommodating with great energy. We used our kitchen and asked for some obscure things (aluminum foil, knife, serving bowl, olive oil). They brought us whatever we asked for.

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Zolzac – Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion at W Fort Lauderdale. It is wonderful to read your getaway was a success. Our talent is here to help in anyway possible; anything you need, just ask!

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    515
    253
    123
    88
See reviews for
364
874
137
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a stellar experience.
We were immediately upgraded to a corner suite, facing the ocean, which is literally 100 yds max from the HUGE balcony that you walk out onto! Service---EXCELLENT, and a fabulous stay.
Great work, W Ft Lauderdale!!!!
Dave--St. Louis, MO

Room Tip: Ask for a corner, ocean front room w/ balcony!! UNREAL
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
david e – Wow! Thank you for the amazing review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your upgraded experience from your corner suite. Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon!

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

W FLL is a great hotel with everything you want of a W... a chic vibe, great location, sassy rooms, and a general departure from the usual business chain hotel. I had a Fabulous room, and the word described the room well both in category and style. Upper floor, with a great glass enclosed shower in the middle of the room that is perfect for that sensual getaway with a partner... um, but not so snazzy with your mom or other relative, or seniors, unless of the fun, spirited senior kind.
On the upper floors, because of the laws governing building design, the balcony becomes a bit of a shared space, with a short wall separating each room/suite for ocean front rooms, but perhaps not as much privacy as you would hope. If you have the ocean front corner or the suite on the other side, you have a fairly private patio, but the rooms in the middle are a bit exposed - so keep that in mind if you like to sleep with the curtains open, or shower with the curtains open, your neighbors will be able to see clearly into your room if they go to the edge of the balcony. A voyeur delight, to say the least, but a bit of a surprise if you are showering and wanting to enjoy the ocean view at the same time and see the neighbors peeking in.
I'm sure a few readers just went "ew" but trust me, don't let that deter you. The rooms and bed are very nicely laid out and overall very comfortable. The upgraded rooms are worth the splurge for the stay, and even more so for a special time together. The pool area and the living room are great, stylish, and I found very inviting, although if you hit the hotel on a quiet fall weeknight, versus the weekend, you'll find it amazingly quiet, almost dull for a W. The weekend is when this place lights up and shines, so make sure your stay includes the weekend to get the whole impact.
Is it the best W I've been in? No. The outside furniture is in serious need of an update - a lot of tears and bird droppings make up the average fabric chair outdoors. The air conditioner in the room was perhaps the loudest and most annoying I've ever had in a higher end hotel room. No matter what I did, I couldn't cool the room without an annoying blowing of air on the bed along with a Motel 6 level of noise from the unit. Some will love air blowing on them while they sleep, I personally hate it and it keeps me up all night. If you love air blowing on you and don't care about the sound of an air conditioning unit, then this will be great. If, like me, you don't want to hear the air conditioning unit and you want the ambient feel to be the right temp without the feel of air blowing on you, you may not be as happy. It's Florida, so I give a lot of space to hotels to deal with the humidity and temperature changes, but I've been in other hotels in FLL and deeper Caribbean where I haven't had that sound and air feel.
Does that mean you should not stay here? No, just some guidance to help find the hotel right for you. My best W remains the Barcelona hotel, but I'll admit, even with the modest shortcomings i noted, this is a great W that I will enjoy visiting again soon.
If you love W, want to do a great weekend stay, looking for a high end dining experience and great views from an ocean front room, a departure from your typical corp travel hotel, even a bit of big city, big lights feel, then this is a very good to excellent choice. Considering next door hotels, I'd easily choose this over the Hilton for a couple's getaway, and I would only choose the Westin for a more reserved stay that I'd book if bringing my mother (meaning, no glass enclosed shower in middle of the room, thank you). Begin a love, rekindle a love, enjoy a tryst, escape on your own, even stay here for business - it all works. But, from the room I had, leave the kids at home and plan grandma to be on another trip.

Room Tip: If private balcony is important, book a Wonderful room or lower floor Fabulous room. Otherwise, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
JDinAustin – We appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed review with all the Tripadvisor loyalists. We especially enjoy hearing from a Senior Contributor. It is lovely to read you settled into your Fabulous room and soaked up all W Fort Lauderdale has to offer. I am sorry to hear about some of the opportunities you experienced. I have shared your feedback about the air conditioner and balcony furniture with our Stage (engineering) team. They are using this important information to update and enhance our property. Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is an awesome property and I couldnt wait to write this review. Some friends of mine rented the Fabulous Suite on Dec 1st, Room 1005; and invited us up for dinner and the property itself is truly phenomenal. The size, the service, the smell and the decor all work well to compliment this excellent hotel. The suites are spacious and the kitchen is great. I would definitely return to this property and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Shaun S – Wow! Thank you for the amazing review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed the dynamic design and bold décor of the hotel. We can’t wait for your return!

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The W has a spectacular location across from the ocean, interestingly designed rooms. sleepable linens & beds, & a staff that's been drilled on maintaining a consistently positive attitude. A lot to like!
On the other hand: only 1 lav in the room, a shower curtain, lousy water pressure, a glass window that exposes the showerer, & spotty internet. Not ideal.
Overall: a property that looks better than it lives. But still pretty dang good.

Room Tip: The corner rooms provide great views & some extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Mbick – Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the location and dynamic decor although it is disappointing to see the design of the WC did not meet your expectations. I’m sorry to hear of the issues you experienced with the internet. We have addressed this with our IT team and are working on implementing improvements. Thank you again, you are welcome back anytime.

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is absolutely fantastic. Everything you could want is here. You have to understand that this is a W Hotel so everything is geared toward 25-30 somethings. At night, the music is loud and the lights are low and there will be occasional rowdiness in the hallways. Therefore, if you are a family or want quiet 24/7, then this is not the place for you.

That being said, the hotel is upscale and trendy. The public areas are clean, large and at night are filled with people and loud house music. The bar is trendy but drinks are expensive. The room I had was an oceanview and had a balcony with stunning view of the Atlantic Ocean. The bathroom is well appointed and has a huge shower.

The hotel is located on the beach and near everything. So if you are accustomed to W hotels you won't be disappointed as this is the model for all W hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
1234lolola – Thank you for the fantastic review. From sitting back and enjoying the ocean views to lounging at Living Room to exploring the local area; you really did it all! Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Great experience. Wonderful staff. Very über chic atmosphere. Right across from the beach. Everyone (check in, valet, pool staff) were friendly and not a bit of snobby attitude.

As SPG members, we got an amazing ocean view.

Gym area, lobby with pool tables, and free morning coffee were nice perks

Wouldn't say this is kid-friendly, but for couples it's perfect.

We got a conference rate of $189 peak season. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
TigerTides – Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. You have mentioned many of our best features, if we do say so our selves. I am excited to read you enjoyed all the amenities the hotel has to offer. You are welcome back, anytime!

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.