We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
W Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here at the end of August with two friends for a 4 day getaway. Had a blast! This hotel is amazing in every way. The valet staff were great. Entering the hotel I got such a great feeling. It was stunning! Beautiful fountain when you first walk in on the ground level which is where you take an elevator up to the 4th floor to check in. We walked up to the front desk and checked in with Jillian, who was great! She was very nice and we loved her. She greeted us every time we saw her in the lobby area throughout the duration of our stay. Our room was awesome! We were in a spectacular room with 2 queen beds. We had a great view of the ocean and had a balcony. The pool was amazing and we spent most of our days by the pool having drinks. The hotel is right on the beach and right down the street from downtown and the boardwalk. Enjoyed Bliss spa at the hotel and thought Nikki was great. Janelle from whatever whenever was fantasic as well. A return trip to this hotel is definitely in the works.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHarrington, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
beantown0711 - Wow, thank you for your nice comments, and highlighting a few of our talent members Jillian, Janelle, and Nikki. I'm thrilled you and your friends enjoyed your trip to W. Sipping cocktails and relaxing by the pool is a great way to spend your getaway. Hope to see you again soon! Warm Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    514
    253
    123
    87
See reviews for
363
871
135
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Just 20 mins from airport, the hotel is located just next to the ocean, modern design with a stunning view. The pool has got a special design with a stair in the middle of the pool lead to the living room. It allow natual sunlight into the lobby and make great effect. DJ at night to give great live after dark. That's is properly what W is so popular. The room are spacious with big baloney and the W The Store also has a great selection of gifts, dress,slipper etc at good price. Can literally shop without going out. A great hotel to chill out for weekend and away from the crowd.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHarrington, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
CyfromHk - Thank you for your comments. It's nice to hear you enjoyed the music, energy, and nightlife at the hotel. We are all about giving our guests an escape from the ordinary. Hope to see you again soon, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Well it was brand new when I stated there summer of 09. It is located right on the beach with the Hilton( with a Starbucks) on one side and the Westin on the other. The area is very nice and is always busy.

The hotel is the coolest one I have stayed at and is different from the hyatt, Weston, ect. It is super modern and focuses alot on the senses. The lobby is on the third floor which is kind of weird but it gives better views. You have to take one set of elevators and then another set from the lobby up to your room ( unless you know the secret. When you are at valet you go in the doors across from the main enterance and it goes directly to the tower elevators and saves doing the jog though the hotel) the rooms are great, they all offer at lease partial ocean views which is very nice. The bed are comfortable and the bath room is nice, the sink is very cool.

Upon check in a attendant will (or at least did for us) walk up to the room with you explaining about the design of the hotel and also the features it has. They come in to your room and turn on the lights and set your suitcases in the closet. It was a nice service but got annoying that they waited around in the room until you tipped them.

The best part is the pool, I won't say too much because it is really the best part. They designed it; however, a little too small. Again it had great views of the ocean.

Only real drawbacks is that once you get to the elevators they are slow and only 3 of them for a 20 story tower. Also there is no coffee shop in the hotel. Also they try and get money out of you when ever they can ( rent umbrellas for the beach...it was 100 degrees outside. They should provide those free of charge. Plus walk them out to the beach for you)
Overall a very fun hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHarrington, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
aholm - Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear our staff was helpful during your check in process. We want to ensure our guests are happy from the moment you arrive until you depart. Thank you for commenting on the property and guest room features. We would like to welcome you back on a future trip to South Florida. Warm Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel back in May and would stay again in a heart beat. The hotel overlooks the ocean and so did our room. All of the balconies had a cool modern chaise lounge with the most incredible view--ideal for relaxing!! The rooms are always so nice and clean and are decorated perfectly. Our bathroom also had a glass window exposing from the shower straight through to the bedroom so you could see the ocean while in the shower! Amazing. All of the staff were very helpful. The pool deck is breathtaking and the frozen drinks are quite delicious! Checkout took less than 1 minute. This place exudes luxury. Would stay again and again!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHarrington, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Reese409 - Thank you for the nice review. We would love to see you again at W Fort Lauderdale. I'm glad you enjoyed the design of your guest room and bathroom - W is all about endulging the sense. It's nice to hear we heightened yours, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I was treated wonderfully upon first walking inside the hotel. As an Amex Platinum cardholder, I was afforded a complimentary room upgrade, which I was quite happy with. I was on the south side of the hotel; try and get this side, as the sun warms the balconies quite well; friends of mine were on the north side and their balcony was in shadow, and sort of chilly.

The room design was great, and the overal ambiance of the decor within the hotel was excellent.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Try to get the south side of the hotel, due to sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHarrington, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
dgaige - Thank you for your comments and recommending W Fort Lauderdale. We hope to welcome you back soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had visited the W last year near the same time in September. At that time we were blown off our feet at how wonderful it was. This time not so much I just didn't see that extra touch of perfection we saw last year. One of the reason we enjoyed the W was the swimming pool yet this year the pool was freezing cold. No one wanted to go in it so people would put their toe in and say forget it. Also last year they had music playing out by the pool so it had a real party vibe. I talked to a security guard and he said they had to stop the music because they got in trouble for breaking the noise level laws. In our room the back of the remote control for the TV was gone, the shower curtain had what looked like mold on the corner, I couldn't use the phone without it being on speaker phone and the clock was impossible to see or set. The staff was very nice and professional just like last year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHarrington, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
dyfennell - I'm sorry to hear your experience was not the same as your previous stay. We appreciate your feedback, as we are constantly striving to improve ourselves. Your comments will be directed to the appropriate director. Thank you for the review, warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The W is not kid friendly, it is suited for adults. If you want to bring young kids the other guests will look at you funny.....in fact the pool area had a number of kids when I went and the staff complained constantly that they didn't understand how people didn't realize they are not kid friendlly at all.

Example of not kid friendly. The pool is open on the weekends to the public and has catered themes like Bacardi and they card people. If your a guest and you want to get a pool chair you need to get down there at 6am. Then if you are gone for more then 30 minutes to go to your room for a break, the staff gives your chair to someone else.....usually a non guest who will be buying a lot of alcohol.

If you want to just relax and listen to the ocean you can forget it. There is loud bearing music coming from the DJ on the weekend or their music system on their W contemporary alternative CD. I had to upgrade to the 22 floor to drown the music because I went on vacation to have quiet, relaxing experience and to listen to the Ocean. I couldn't even have a nap by the pool starting at 12pm to dusk music blares................

Restauraunt Steak 959 and Blue bar is a nice place to go locally to get a drink without leaving your hotel.

Room Tip: Fabulous room is by far worth the money. You get a higher floor in the hotel and a terrace overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.