We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Miami, only in Fort Lauderdale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of snooze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added snooze to your Saves list
snooze
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   205 N Fort Lauderdale, Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Ocean Holiday Motel Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Stockbridge, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So Miami, only in Fort Lauderdale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

So Miami only in Fort Lauderdale. Retro chic. Affordable. Right on the beach (across the street actually) We got the king room with the ocean view and what a beautiful view. I love the colors in the room. The bed was comfortable. We stayed 2 nights. Walking distance from Las Olas Blvd and the beachfront scene where all the beautiful people gather. Joe at the front desk was super nice and helpful. The air conditioner in room 301 was awesome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 301 is an ocean view king room. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    70
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
131
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Great location at the beach, restaurant and bars. Top service. Very friendly staff. Not a 5 Star hotel, but max value for money. Free Parking, beach Towels and internet. Fort lauderdale is very Nice, great beach.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Got in real late but had no problem letting ourselves in using their late arrival system. The FAQ section on their website is very accurate and should be read. Snooze isn't the Ritz and doesn't pretend to be. What it is is honest value and good care from proprietors who show pride of ownership. We liked the location as it was just a stones throw away from the main drag evening goings-on. Close enough but just far enough too :-)
Ours was the basic hotel room. It had the basic necessities and the CVS (variety store) was close by. We appreciated the free wi-fi that allowed us to stay connected (and write this review :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

What a great little hotel! We are here right now. Right across the beach. Rooms are big, bright, modern, super clean and comfy. Slightly north of the heavy tourist area of restaurants and bars (about 5 short city blocks). So your big advantage is the beach is not super packed. Ski-do rentals right in front and a fabulous restaurant next door. Staff is super courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at snooze for two nights prior to a cruise in February 2014. Our flight was delayed coming from snowy Toronto and so we arrived in FLL quite late. This was not a problem, as our key was kept in a key safe on our doorknob and we had been provided with both an email and a phone call prior providing us with our room number and code. What a great touch considering many boutique motels require earlier check-in. Our room, 404, was perfect. Though not advertised as an ocean view room it certainly has a great view from the window of the ocean! It was large and very spacious - kept immaculately clean. Great decor with white and blue accents. We were happy to have access to a coffee maker and kitchen necessities. It was perfectly quiet for sleeping - we had not a single issue with the room. Strong wifi signal at no extra cost was fab.



The staff at snooze were great: friendly and helpful without being overbearing in the least. The outdoor patio on the 2nd level is fabulous - spent our first evening enjoying the warm ocean breeze and a few bevvies. Also met a number of other travellers on this patio - a nice perk. Another great bonus for us was the Eggstatic Food Truck parked right at the motel from which we enjoyed a delicious organic breakfast! Not to be missed.



Thank you for your great hospitality - we look forward to a future stay at the delightful snooze!

Room Tip: Upper floors would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

my husband, daughter , grandson and I , stayed for 2 days before our cruise, the view was amazing, so close to ocean and walking distance to stores and restaurants, room was very clean and roomy, we had room with 2 king beds, fridge,toaster,coffeemaker,microwave, and a large
bathroom, parking included. enjoyed sitting on patio, small hotel, but very cozy and comfy, i think it should be called,the COZY HOTEL, no time to snooze when your on holidays.

Room Tip: we were on 3 floor in middle, no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

As is often the case, we found "Snooze" by perusing TripAdvisor reviews for Ft. Lauderdale Beach. We had a couple of days we needed to be in or near Miami, followed by a flight out which we decided to book from Ft. Lauderdale since its airport is much more pleasant and easy to deal with than Miami's.

Luckily we booked two nights here far in advance since it's spring break and everything is booked solid and high-priced. I'm writing this review under palms and sun from the cute deck of Snooze, overlooking the ocean. It would be easy to miss this place even walking by, as it is sandwiched between larger establishments, generally from 2-to-4 times the price. As other reviews point out, the amenities are limited when it comes to things like fat fragrant bars of soap, or plush giant towels. But there is good wifi, a flat screen TV, and in our room (a double king) there is a good size frig, a microwave and toaster, and a nice wood table and stool set. The room is huge and we really like the firm mattresses though that is always a matter of taste. The spacious shower has an overhead "rain" head (nice) though there is no soap-dish, so I just use the windowsill which is a few inches outside the curtain. Everything is new and spotless. We also like the hard flooring since carpets even in pricey hotels can be pretty yucky. It's harder to find wood or tile floors here than in
Europe.
Free parking is another perk at Snooze. They have just enough spaces for all guests plus a few spares, underneath a portion of the building. Considering all that is usually surcharged at the fancy hotels (wifi and parking) Snooze is even more reasonable.
As others write, the the guys on the premisis are great. The owner is here during the day and Joe was here last evening. They couldn't be nicer or more helpful with advice of any kind.

The owner is working ceaselessly to maintain the place. It's a never-ending battle here to maintain buildings against the salty air. I am noticing it virtually everywhere in the area. No sooner do they scrape and paint than somewhere else shows a little rust. But what I'm noticing right here is daily dedication to keeping this place in good condition.

We are not very familiar with most of Miami, but our impression is that if one wants to be on or near a gorgeous beach, this one is much more laid-back and accessible. During the right times of day, Miami is 50 min. or less based on our experience, but don't underestimate "right time" when calculating both directions.

Snooze has ocean-facing rooms but all rooms are quiet thanks to modern windows. The cross walk to the beach is steps outside.

In summary, this modest hotel is a bargain which lives up to its good reviews as long as you aren't expecting plush giant pima-cotton towels and sheets and lots of fluffy down pillows, flowery bathroom products, and so on. For double the price of one night, you could go out and buy some of that just for a week's stay and still come out way ahead!

Room Tip: Ocean facing large rooms are probably worth whatever the difference. We weren't sure about noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about snooze

Address: 205 N Fort Lauderdale, Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Ocean Holiday Motel Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — snooze 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snooze is a modern take on the essentials needed for your home away from home. We believe traveling in style should be affordable without any hidden costs - just pay your room rate plus tax and that's it! We offer a clean, comfortable and modern room, plus add free parking, wifi, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas. Keep in mind we offer the essentials so...No pool, no 24hr service, no phones, no spa, no bell boy, no valet and no chocolates on your pillows. Why spend the extra money on extras you don't need? We are the last ocean front Ft. Lauderdale hotel left with less than 20 rooms. There are plenty of "big box" branded hotels out there and we are proud we are not one of them. Snooze is located directly accross the street from Fort Lauderdale Beach next to the Westin and Ritz Carlton hotels. Direct Ocean View, Kitchenette and Hotel Rooms are available at the property. The airport (7miles), cruise terminal (5miles) and convention center (5miles) are just minutes away. Wireless internet and parking are free of charge, while great food and entertainment are located steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Holiday Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage snooze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.