We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected...and I expected great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of snooze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added snooze to your Saves list
snooze
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   205 N Fort Lauderdale, Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Ocean Holiday Motel Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus OH
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Even better than expected...and I expected great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel emphasizes the reason that we rely so heavily on Tripadvisor for making travel decisions. I would never have thought to check this place out. Thankfully, I did my research before making reservations. This hotel is not a fancy resort….if you are looking for that, look elsewhere…there are plenty of those around. The Snooze Hotel is the best at what it is….a small, charming, comfortable, extremely clean hotel, with a great location, run by friendly and helpful people. This is an older hotel, 1950’s, with a completely fresh and modern look. When we walked into our room, we were impressed by the brightness and cleanliness. The rooms have been recently renovated by the new owners and the love and care that has been taken in doing so certainly shows. We had an ocean view room, with two big windows overlooking Ft. Lauderdale Beach. It is a very large room, with a well equipped kitchenette. This made it easy to have our coffee and breakfast each morning enjoying the view. The bed was so much more comfortable than I usually find while traveling. One of the greatest assets of the Snooze is the staff. Robert and Joe could not have been more friendly and helpful, they make you feel at home from the time you make your reservation. The free wi-fi, and complimentary beach towels and chairs were added bonuses. Plus, free parking….that is not easy to find in that location. Although the parking area is tight, Joe or Robert were always ready to make certain we had a parking space waiting for us. All of this for a price that is probably half of what you would pay for most hotels on the beach. As others have said, the extra cost for the ocean view rooms are well worth it. However, there is a very nice balcony/terrace type area overlooking the beach on the second floor. It is a great place to enjoy the view and people watch. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: As others have said....ocean view well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    85
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
177
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton Ab Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

A great place to be close to the atlantic ocean and see lovely sunrises. The rooms are great and the staff are excellent. With free parking and walking distance to lots to do. Walking distance to the water taxis that brings you all over. An excellent restaurant next door. We were there for two nights. It was very nice.

Room Tip: If you want action and ocean view get a king with kitchenette. We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob205, Owner at snooze, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you skiwizard,
I'm glad you had a great stay with us! Your review keeps us informed that we are doing the right thing....keeping things modern, essential and affordable. Keep us in mind the next time you travel.
Regards,
Robert, my family, Joe, Jessy and Gabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed at snooze for two nights in an ocean view room and it was well worth paying the extra few dollars for the fantastic view.The room was large and well equipped with fridge and seating.We were driving from Naples and the hotel called to tell us the name had been changed and to make sure we o.k. with directions which we thought was nice (large chain hotels would never do this).As stated in other reviews,a great place to stay,very friendly, clean and no silly charges for "extra's" like parking,beach chairs or beach towels.Visit Snooze grab a drink and sit on the terrace and watch the ocean.Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night before a cruise to the Eastern Caribbean. The room we stayed in, 303, had been recently remodeled and had a very retro vibe to it which we enjoyed. The room was clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. The location of this hotel is great as there are several restaurants and bars near by. It was myself, my wife, my brother, his fiance, my dad and his wife with each couple having a room. The staff was very friendly. I would rather stay at a little hole in the wall place like this than one of the mega resorts surrounding it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here the night before a cruise to the western carribean. The view was as beautiful and put us in the cruise mood. There were scores of restaurants and entertainment spots within walking distance of the hotel. The price was very reasonable and included parking. The studio had a couch, a table to eat at and a small kitchen. The decore was trendy and the location was great. Loved this place and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean front room. The view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Snooze in Ft. Lauderdale on our way to Key West (formerly the Ocean Holiday Resort).
They just remodeled this place and did a great job. What a delight to wake up in a hotel room that's not like every other hotel room in the US. The place is very European, clean and newly painted. The showers are nice and they've provided all that you can possibly need. Management is so innovative that they offer a "back-pack" room for student travelers - complete with a flat screen TV for each bunk.
This oceanfront hotel is located next to one of the best restaurants on the beach (Casablanca Cafe). What's not to like?!
Management will do all they can to make your stay a pleasant one. It is a nice boutique hotel. Thanks Robert and Joe! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I spent a few nights at Snooze (it was still called Ocean Holiday Motel at the time) before going on a cruise. The first night I stayed in Room 402 which was renovated and clean with a king bed, fridge and flat screen TV. The only drawback was the lack of a view (you either see the corridor or the elevator).

The second night we rented Suites 301 and 401. These rooms are the best option as they are huge (roughly 400 sq ft) with large windows and a direct ocean views. They also have a sofa, and a kitchenette with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. This is useful as there are not that many breakfast options around. There is a CVS within walking distance where you can buy some grocery staples.

All the units have been renovated with predominantly IKEA furniture, giving the rooms a sleek and simple look.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They will provide you with free towels and beach chairs and help you call a taxi or print your boarding passes.

The biggest selling feature is really the price and location. It is directly across from the ocean and right on the strip where all the restaurants and shops are located. Consider that the Ritz Carlton is only 2 blocks away and is probably triple the price.

There's not much more to say that hasn't already been said in other reviews. If your expectations are for a hotel with lots of amenities, you will likely be disappointed. But if you want a clean place in a great location with responsive staff at a reasonable price, then it's a good choice. But try and get the 01 oceanfront suites.

Only two things that were not great during our stay were that the elevator is very small, and there was a rowdy bunch of guests that kept us awake until the early hours. It would have been nice to have been able to ask reception to call the room and tell them to keep noise down.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about snooze

Address: 205 N Fort Lauderdale, Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Ocean Holiday Motel Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — snooze 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snooze is a modern take on the essentials needed for your home away from home. We believe traveling in style should be affordable without any hidden costs - just pay your room rate plus tax and that's it! We offer a clean, comfortable and modern room, plus add free parking, wifi, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas. Keep in mind we offer the essentials so...No pool, no 24hr service, no phones, no spa, no bell boy, no valet and no chocolates on your pillows. Why spend the extra money on extras you don't need? We are the last ocean front Ft. Lauderdale hotel left with less than 20 rooms. There are plenty of "big box" branded hotels out there and we are proud we are not one of them. Snooze is located directly accross the street from Fort Lauderdale Beach next to the Westin and Ritz Carlton hotels. Direct Ocean View, Kitchenette and Hotel Rooms are available at the property. The airport (7miles), cruise terminal (5miles) and convention center (5miles) are just minutes away. Wireless internet and parking are free of charge, while great food and entertainment are located steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Holiday Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage snooze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.