We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tamarindo Cafe

El Tamarindo Cafe
233 W State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2544
954-467-5115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We go to Tamarindo's often and bring friends that enjoy the diversity of the menu too. The fried zucchini and fried calamari are excellent, as well as any type of chicken dish. Service is very friendly and they recently updated the decor with a great new llok.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    12
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our Secret place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This place is almost hidden away, but don't pass it up. Excellent food at a reasonable price

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Not as much of a 'jewel' as other trip advisors reviewers have raved. Not even really a normal Mexican restaurant. Service is good. Cheap ingredients. Not at all what we expected.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW! a real jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Had 90 min before checking in at FLL so we asked for recommendations on the best Cuban/Spanish reseaurant nearby. Tried their mixed Ceviche and a Lobster in tamarin-marinara sauce = outstanding! Very good service and reasonable prices. Will return whenever in the area!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have a hotel down the street and we refer alot of our guests there. I never went in there until recently. The food is Excellant. I did a take out beause I was heading home and the food was the best. One of the reasons that I was surprised was because of the curb appeal, I really didnt expect such great service and excellant food, that was my mistake. I can not refer this restaurant to all of our guests and know they will be taken care of and enjoy the food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tamarindo Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to El Tamarindo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tamarindo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.