We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, lots of atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille - Ft. Lauderdale

Capital Grille - Ft. Lauderdale
The Galleria, 2430 Sunrise Key Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
954-446-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille - Ft. Lauderdale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $65
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: US1 & Sunrise Blvd.
Transit: East Sunrise Boulevard
Description: The Capital Grille is here so come and enjoy it all. Our famous dry aged steaks, chops and delicious fresh seafood. In a relaxed and elegant atmosphere. An award-winning wine list that’s creating quite a buzz. Complimentary valet parking. A convenient location right at the main entrance to The Galleria. Even extensive private dining choices.Come for lunch or dinner. For the dining experience you want, right where you want it.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place, lots of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited the Capital Grille in February 2013 for our wedding anniversary. As soon as you reach the place, the valet greets you and welcomes you to the restaurant. We had reservations and were immediately taking to our table. Our waiter was great explaining the specials and open for questions. I had the steak and the lobster and my husband had the steak - we also enjoyed the mash potato - all of the food was great! Dessert was the chocolate cake, large enough for three! Eventhough is a bit expensive, it is also a great place for a special celebration. When leaving I was given a rose and they even validated the valet parking. I would recommend this restaurant without reservations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    107
    39
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“don't order the fish special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

While this is a well known steak place, I thought to venture with the red snapper special.
What a disappointment! The fish was a very small portion, the cut itself was not the best (you could see the dark in the middle, more like tilapia) and the bed of risotto was so creamy it was pretty unedible. And this was the waiter's reccommendation for seafood.
The steak my wife ordered was good, but again, nothing special.
Noth worth their high prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Steak & Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fantastic restaurant. Great menu and wine selection. Steaks and lobster mac & cheese were excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The perfect steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was my first time at The Capital Grille.

After we walked in we were promptly greeted and seated. It’s a great looking place with a friendly and knowledgeable staff.
We ordered the Steak au Poivre which was cooked to perfection. The Swordfish however was overcooked and dry.
As with many high end restaurants I believe that when you are paying $45.00 for a steak and $38.00 for swordfish at least one side dish should be included. The steak came without anything. The swordfish had three bites of vegetables.

The bread was served fresh and war and tasted great. I live a few blocks from the restaurant and would go there again, this time however stick with the steak.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Still a great place for steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Love the steak, love the decor and service, but still hate the prices. Its just incredible how it all adds up

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille - Ft. Lauderdale also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Capital Grille - Ft. Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille - Ft. Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.