We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot on the beach!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerland Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Summerland Suites to your Saves list
Summerland Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 137 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best spot on the beach!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

When I opened the front door to our room, my first impression was Wow! It has a fully-equipped kitchen and it's basically a miniature apartment. There's plenty of space and it was super clean. I met the cleaning lady today and she was amazing. She offered to bring extra towels and even gave me shampoo and conditioner that they normally don't supply. Customer service is excellent. And the best part about the room with the super clean sheets and pillows. They actually smelled like they were brand new. My family and I had a barbeque in the picnic area behind the building. And we enjoyed our dinner at the dinner table just like as if we were at home. We were only a couple blocks from the beach so we were able to walk there from our room. I will definitely recommend this place to anybody and I will definitely be returning in the near future. We had a very relaxing weekend and we didn't have to worry about any bugs in the room. I've stayed at many of the hotels that are located on Fort Lauderdale beach and some of them I wouldn't even take my shoes off in.This hotel is the best spot on the beach by far!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you are looking for design this is not the place to be...if you are looking for a good, clean room for a low price with friendly people, a great pool and only 2 minutes from the beach, this is definitely the place to be!
The complex is divided in a few motels with different names with 4 pools. We stayed in the Birch Patio.We checked in very late and Angela was very friendly and she showed us a few rooms and we could pick one. We stayed for 2 weeks and enjoyed it very much. The location was great. The beach was very close and parking and wifi were free. Washing machine and dryer were also available as well as a lot of (clean) barbecues that could be used by guests.
Ft Lauderdale was a very good base for day trips to Miami ( 45 minutes drive and the Everglades. We even went to Sanibel Island ( 2.5 drive via Alligator Alley) and the Keys.
Several malls were close ( 30 -60 minutes drive), Dolphin mall, Sawgrass Mills, Aventura Mall.
Enough good restaurants and bars within walking distance.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Quebec
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was one of three on the same property (owned by same person??) so the grounds were expansive and shared by all. There were 4 pools (the one closest to the office is heated), lounge chairs, bar-b-q's, picnic tables, even a bocce game area and laundry facilities. The room was spacious with kitchenette and separate bedroom. There were two air conditioners, one in kitchen and one in bedroom. Yes, they were noisy, as I read in other reviews, but when we went to bed we shut off the one in the bedroom and left the kitchen one on - it cooled enough to reach the bedroom and the noise didn't bother. WiFi was available and free but a little hard to access - mostly you could go outside and connect.
The hosts were so nice and very helpful - if you need anything, just ASK. They have anything you'd need - like beach towels so you don't have to pack one. There is no hairdryer in the room but... just ask, they will supply one. There are used books that you can borrow too (wish I'd known...or asked.... I only realized it on our last day).
This hotel was a short walk to the beach, the main drag, and bus/trolley stops. We were able to get anywhere from Summerland. We had a most relaxing stay - loved it!

Room Tip: I would have liked an upper room to sit out on a balcony, but the hotel was booked full when I booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icaretravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hi guys -- We stayed at Birch Patio, one of their sister properties, earlier in our trip. So on the way back through we called to make rezzies there, but they didn't have anything available. That's how we ended up at Summerland Suites.

I much prefer Summerland.

Our room was spacious. Sparsely furnished but adequate for our needs. As with the Birch Patio, the pillows are flat and the air con is sort of noisy.

The entire experience makes you feel like you are visiting a relative with mismatched furniture -- everything is super clean and you feel at home.

I love that when you stay at Summerland, Birch Patio, or their other sister hotel (can't remember the name right now) you have access to all 3 pools. But it's so close to the ocean (a mere 2 blocks) that you might just want to hop over to the beach.

Special shout out to Angela. She is AMAZING and really and truly made our stay special. Thanks, Angela! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroovingOnTheBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Apartment 305 (left of the parasol): spacious living room with (separate) nice bedroom, little bathroom and complete equipped kitchen. There was (luckily) a tiled floor (unlike Americans we do not like carpet) that like the rest of the apartment and the outside were cleaned in tip-top condition. There was Wi-Fi, we had 2 TV's, a nice sitting area (couch and armchair), an a/c in the living room and one in the bedroom and the pool was clean and warm. And the hostess and her staff were very friendly – quite important too! There are always of course a few minus points, like in this case the kitchen unit that was repainted and the rust was coming through the new layer of paint. That was not so hygienic. And we did not like the ugly synthetic couch and chair covers in an indefinable color who could not be fastened properly, but they could be cleaned easily of course (...). The capacity of the hot water boiler was only just enough. But that are only insignificant details. Most important for us was the fact that the apartment was spacious and clean and that the beach was very close. And we could park the (rental) car without charge in front of the door – when you want to see more of (the south of) Florida you need that car, because distances are huge here. In short, this stay is for us repeatable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith-Zaicsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Summerland Suites was the only hotel I could find in Ft. Lauderdale that met all of my requirements. Those being: A suite with at least one bedroom and a separate sitting/TV room, a kitchen with fridge and stove, able to rent for a short 3 night stay, an easy walk to the beach (2 blocks) and access to nightlife (about a mile walk to Las Olas Blvd). Lastly, reasonable price.

There are lots of hotel options in Ft. Lauderdale that met some of my requirements, but few that meet all. For example there are lots of condos for rent that had private bedrooms and a kitchen, but they need you to rent for a full week. Also, there are lots of standard hotels with good beach and nightlife access, but few suites. And there are are other hotels offering suites that met my requirements, but not for $120/night + tax.

The Summerland Suites was well landscaped, but the building has an older "motel" feel to it. While the walk to the nightlife is only a mile, it does get a little exhausting after a while and although taxis are plentiful, the fares do start to add up. It would be better if it was located closer to Las Olas. That said, the outdated finishes and the farther distance are probably why it rents for such a reasonable price.

The front desk attendant was very helpful and friendly. One morning the maintenance crew was running a saw at 10 A.M. which woke us up. I would have preferred they waited until later in the day to do that, but it was only one morning out of three. Another kind of odd thing was there were a lot of elderly people at our hotel. For such a lively area, it surprised me to see so many "old folks." We are 20-30's so I felt like we kind of stuck out, but it wasn't really a huge deal as we were mostly at the beach or out partying on Las Olas.

Overall this was a good stay and i am glad I selected Summerland Suites.

Room Tip: No problems with suite 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evilmosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there for two nights during the Boat Show - this is maybe why the room was overpriced for what it offered. The studio was wide enough, but ugly enough - it looked like an hospital, few old furniture scattered around the place with no taste at all, a place without any atmosphere.
The beds were comfortable, but the bedroom windows could not be closed properly and seemed to collapse on the bed with the wind (and we experienced hurricane Sally there...quite scary).
Two window air con units, both sooo noisy - earplugs needed!
Basic bathroom, fresh towels but just basic toiletries provided.
Though, everything was very clean, and the management was nice and friendly; another good side was the free parking available at all time, around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiBi493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#2 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,749 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#52 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#4 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Suites

Address: 700 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#46 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerland Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Summerland Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing