We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerland Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Summerland Suites to your Saves list
Summerland Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 14 days at the Summerland Suites. It was very tight and clean. Angela the hostess is very nice and helpful. If you need advise where to go for dinner or what to do she helps you and gives you coupons so you will get a discount. The rooms are big,clean also a little kitchen and every day you will get new towels. The day we left we could stay
longer in our rooms for free(because of our flight late at the evening). We had a great experience and we will definitely recommend this hotel to our friend and family. Great prize for what you get!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    42
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
60
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

When looking at budget hotels cleanliness is always top of mind and in this regard Summerland Suites cannot be faulted. We stayed in a 1 bedroom studio which gave us loads of space. It's super close to the beach and there's free parking for your car. It's nothing flash but neither is the price, it's a great budget option close to the action and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Very friendly and helpfull people at the frontdesk/office. The will advise you what to visit in FL. The rooms are quite big and clean. Housekeeping will clean the floor, change towels and change your bed every day (exept for sunday) The beach boulevard is very close to the complex. In my opion one of the best (budget) location in Ft. Lauderdale. Located in a quite neighbourhood, no passing/honking cars. The only downside is the very old interior. You can clearly see that everything is painted over with white paint to make it look "fresh". Almost all windows can be opened and are cleared from insects with insectscreening for the windows. 2 airco units for bedroom and living.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Pros:

1. Close to the beach - 1.5 blocks away
2. 1 bedroom suits are fairly spacious
3. Fully equipped kitchen with pots / pans / plates / etc...
4. Clean - rooms are cleaned well and towels always fresh
5. BBQ Grills on the property so you can do some grilling.
6. Beach chairs available to borrow
7. Price - hotel was fairly priced
8. 10 minute walk to the nightlife "action" - but far enough so you can relax
9. Publix grocery store is about 1 mile a way -


Cons:
1. Poorly decorated
2. A little outdated
3. Pool a little small

We did all of our grocery shopping the first day at Publix - and did all of our cooking at the suite
Saved a lot of money on eating out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The first thing that struck us was the size of the suites which are bigger than you'd expect at that price bracket with a separate bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchenette. The front desk lady was excellent to deal with, very efficient yet welcoming and knowledgeable.

The air con worked well despite the oppressive heat and humidity.

The Summerland Suites are a short walk of 2-3 blocks down to the beach and is a short drive North of where all the actual Fort Lauderdale action is. However, the beach up this end is really beautiful and didn't feel overly busy at any time.

The pool is a decent size although we didn't use it.

Overall I'd stay here again for the value and size of the rooms although detracting factors are the lack of homeliness due to the white tiled floors throughout the suite.

Room Tip: Don't go to the nearby outdoor restaurant we were recommended by front desk. Its not very good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The suites were very basic, seemingly decorated in the 1980's by someone with no taste. However, they are in an excellent location near the beach, The rooms were very ckean, with good lighting. There was a king-sized bed and a single. There were three closets. The bathroom had good towels and a good shower, but no toiletries were provided. I was annoyed that local and toll-free calls made from the room were 50 cents each. The receptionist in the tiny office was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a bit more privacy, though you need to carry your luggage up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

we stayed here for 5 nights, whilst visiting Florida. The hotel was really clean and comfortable, not luxurious, but really good value for money. Our room was facing the pool on the ground floor and was basic, but had everything you could need on a self catering holiday. There was a large cooker, microwave, fridge, in a compact kitchen area. The living area was airy, bright and comfortable. The bedroom was seperate, with ensuite bathroom, again basic but a lovely comfy bed nice and clean and bright.

Ok this is not 4 star luxury, but if you are on a tight budget and want really clean place to stay in a great location for all the attractions, this is the place to stay.

Angela on front desk was really helpful and friendly as were the ground staff. There is a laudry on site to take care of your dirty clothes and reasonable too so you can pop in a washload and sunbathe at the same time.

The Galleria shopping mall is in walking distance as is the beach and all the bars and restaurants along the prom.

Fort Lauderdale is a great place to visit and the Summerland Suites a great choice.

Room Tip: hotel is in quiet cul de sac so no noise, except for some inconsiderate guests early by the pool. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summerland Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Suites

Address: 700 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerland Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Summerland Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerland Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.