We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and bugs.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2949 N. Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Dirty and bugs.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We just used this place for 1 night for a cheap place to avoid a DUI after going out to Wilton Manors nearby. It's a skeevy place. Roaches around the sink, I immediately stripped the bed of the comforter. Yes it is cheap but there are better options. It seems that there are shady people around too. Not a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    5
    4
    10
See reviews for
3
6
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

By far the least expensive "name" branded place I could find the night before heading to Miami Beach, this facility wasn't glamarous, but not so bad. The public bus from Fort Lauderdale Airport (a lower cost alternative to MIA) got me to and from there easily. Traffic is heavy and crowded around the lodge, yet I was able to walk not only to a nice sports bar/restaurant, but even to Target and Winn-Dixie, and took advantage of the small but functional microwave and fridge in the room. I had not even requested these.

The "breakfast" was a bit better than most of its kind, including hot and tasty coffee. And the young clerk was at least friendly for a change, something not always found in an "econo"-my place.
Without doubt, costs are a concern to me. As long as this place keeps prices in check, I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is right off the street along Federal Hwy. Had a room right across the car wash which was not so great, since it was very loud until the evening.
Pool was nice chilly. Room was good size.

Good for a transit stay, worth its money, we got it on a coupon rate, which was great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The rug in our room (#111) was filthy. It didn't look dirty, but if you walked on it in bear feet, the soles of your feet would turn black. Not sure if there is more than one Econo Lodge in Ft Lauderdale, but the address of this one is 2949 N Federal Highway

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

this hotel was very well equipped with excellent linens and mattresses. Overall, it is a ok place, not 4 star, but very comfortable. Problem that I encountered was the theft of my cell phone. Although the mananger Mr Ali, did mail me the phone when it was "found", I have grave suspicions about the night clerk. When checking in after midnight, it took a veryVery long time for him to come let me in. I am not sure I wlll stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Cheap place, but I have stayed in other cheap-0's and at least, they were clean. This bathroom had crud in the door jamb, spider webs, you name it. I spilled a coke, and when I wiped it up, the towel was black from the carpet. Mattress was just ok, I have better, and worse. Not a bad part of town at all, but I WILL NOT stay there again, even if I need a couple of hours sleep like I did a few days ago.

Room Tip: Make sure you view the rooms before you purchase one for the night. The one next to me was much big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This many months after our stay, I need to warn your readers. Two couples stayed here the night before a cruise and chose it because of the rave reviews. It was the worst motel we had ever seen. Our friends had a two inch gap at the bottom of their door. The decor was dark red on some walls and dark green on the others. It was run down and seemed to have been 50 years since any redecorating had been done. We kept our suitcases up on a table and didn't even open them to get out clean clothes, we were afraid bugs would get in them. The breakfast was awful. Nothing was like we had read about on Tripadvisor. I've heard the motel owners write the great reviews for their own extablishment. Is this true? We were VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 2949 N. Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Fort Lauderdale Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.