We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobelle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cocobelle Resort to your Saves list
Cocobelle Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2831 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed 10 nights while visiting family in Ft. Lauderdale and enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with kitchen facilities. The rooms were light, spacious and nicely decorated. We liked that we were able to open the windows that were all fitted with screens and have fresh air circulate through the rooms. We are probably not the type of people that could stay in a sealed, air conditioned, hotel box for 10 nights and stay sane! The pool was clean and all areas were kept tidy. The only problem we had was that on a couple of nights when we had noisy people in the room next door and the sound travelled through the connecting doors. Ernest didn't seem to be too happy about us complaining, I think he needs to work on his customer service skills but he did go out and get some soundproofing and install it between the doors so they really do try to make customers comfortable. The soundproofing made a difference when the next people stayed. I think all these old hotel complexes will have noise issues to some degree so it goes with the territory. There is no traffic noise here which is nice. The location is at least a 10 minute walk to restaurants etc. not a problem if you have a car. Overall we thought this was a pleasant place to stay and was good value.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    93
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
98
205
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed last year at the same time, this year we found ants in our room, the pool was dirty and not nearly the good experience we had last year, we probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Over rated resort.. We booked this resort based on reviews..Room #9 was a large and clean suite ..Resort in a rather run down area of Fort Lauderdale..We would never walk in this area in the evening..They recommended a restaurant about two blocks from resort which we walked to see and said not likely....We then drove a mile or two further south to a better area with many restaurants to choose from also found the beach in that area was much better as well..
We stayed two nights but only person in the pool was our son..

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights after a 10 Day Cruise with my parents, sister and her husband. We booked two suites. I don’t expect much from people, but I was shocked at the attitude of Dorothy when we walked in to check in. Not one smile from Dorothy or Ernest. Although my blond brother in law received a warm welcome which was complete opposite of what my sister and I received. Unable to print out our airline boarding pass as "too busy" although we were the only ones checking in and then when we checked back later, their computer was down. They failed to book our taxi for the airport after assuring us they would and only did after we followed up which was very challenging as the office closes at 7pm. There is no luggage room, just leave your luggage outside in front of the main office, accessible to anyone walking on the street passing by.

I have travelled to over 30 countries around the world and what threw me the most, was the total lack of a smile or any sense from Dorothy that we were paying customers. I have NEVER met anyone so RUDE and unhelpful who works in the hospitality industry. The rooms are clean (although we had ants) and pretty bright during the day (at night was hard as main lamp was busted and was not repaired until next day) Rooms are spacious and it is walking distance to the beach. Sadly, as there are only two staff to help you and neither one are friendly or helpful, I will never stay here again. If you don't care about the unhelpful, rude staff, then go ahead, but common courtesy matters to me so we won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed here quite by accident and loved every minute of it. We were stranded for 2 days in Fort Lauderdale due to flights being over booked. My son found us this place while we were still at the airport. We called and spoke to Dorothee and she was wonderful. She actually waited in the office until after 9:00 p.m. for us to show up. She then took the time to give us a personal tour of our mini suite and make sure we were comfortable. In addition, she told us all about the area, where to get a drink, where to eat that evening, and where to get breakfast or lunch. The resort itself is of older design but very tastefully renovated and redorcated. It's located 2 blocks from the beach and a short walk from lots of shops and restaurants. We couldn't have asked for a better place or nicer people. Coccobelle is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

There were lots of positives here, but I don't understand why we felt differently about the Inn Keepers. WE did not feel them as friendly towards us.We were rushed through check in and she had a tennis game and told us she would talk to us the next day. WE did not see her again until my husband returned keys. Maybe it was us. I don't know. I guess check out was earlier than we thought, our fault...our goodbye and thank you was "Check out was at 11."
The bed was uncomfortable and a very stong sewer smell in bathroom. I mentioned it to the the owner as we were leaving. He seemed surprised, but said he would get a new bed.
Alot of smokers at this hotel, including owners. If you smoke, you'll fit in. If you don't, it is not overwhelming. We stayed in room #5 and it was very very accomodating. WE had alot of privacy with private patio and deck with gazebo. I liked the setup very much. The pool was nice and very clean. The room was a nice surprise. Nicer than I thought. Small ants were no big deal, put food away!!!
I guess I would like the Inn Keepers to know that we specifically flew out to stay at their place because of reviews we had read.Just to stay at their place. WE were not going on a cruise. WE flew from Minnesota to stay at their hotel 3 nights because of the ratings. We did not think it was worth it . If we were just coming to stay as a stopover for a cruise, it would have been ok. We did not think they were very friendly or welcoming. WE then flew off to Mexico for a week. I wish we would have skipped this place and went directly to Mexico.
I am being forced to answer the Question would I recommend to a friend and I will answer yes. There were enough positives, especially if you are coming here anyway.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Well what can I say but amazing.....again! I stayed here in 2007 and when I did another cruise in 2008, where else could I stay but here and it did not disappoint in the slightest. Dorothee was just as wonderful as ever and again, nothing was too much trouble. The location with its closeness to the beach is just great and the rooms are so clean, bright and airy. I spent 4 days here in December and would, and have, highly recommended it to other people. If you want a small resort that is friendly, clean and where nothing is too much trouble, this is definitely THE place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocobelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobelle Resort

Address: 2831 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocobelle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests love how Cocobelle inspires playfulness and tropical dreams! Is it that our majestic palms make an oasis with a heated turquoise pool that some say could be the fountain of youth? Or is it that we offer concierge-like hospitality that ensures your stay’s a breeze? Is it the colorful décor in our updated rooms that’s so phenomenal or the way that our reasonable rates are relaxing? Call it serendipity, but Cocobelle is a unique boutique hotel that attracts playful families who search for sunny times, laughter and a great value. Located just a few minutes’ stroll to North Beach Village’s celebrated sandy beaches, Cocobelle is a perfect beach resort for enjoying Fort Lauderdale’s enticing restaurants, shopping and watersports. Cocobelle’s 16 distinctive rooms offer flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves and safes. Wi-Fi is complimentary and we never charge resort fees. Your family will love soaking up sunsets and sea breezes on your balcony after a day of sunbathing, siestas, snorkeling or sightseeing!More than a hotel – Cocobelle offers an experience to warm your family long after returning home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cocobelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobelle Resort Fort Lauderdale
Cocobelle Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobelle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.