We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobelle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cocobelle Resort to your Saves list
Cocobelle Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2831 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

When we first arrived at the resort, Dorothy gave us recommendations on everything from Breakfast to Nightlife. We took her recommendations and we had a great time. The hotel itself was extremely clean, and was basically like our own apartment. I can;t express enough the value you get with this resort. For $180/night during High Season, we got a Living Room, Kitchen, bedroom with a King bed, and a nice big bathroom. Its very big and open in the apartment style rooms, which was nice to come home too. The pool area is nice, and the beach is only 2 or 3 blocks down the road, with public access right at the end of the road there. Also, right along the beach each way, there are a lot of little restaurants and shops within walking distance, so the location of the hotel is nice.

I would absolutely recommend this location to friends and we will most likely be back here at some point in the future.

Be sure to book in advance, as they only have 16 rooms and they seem to fill up quick, as it is such a great place!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    105
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
104
215
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

The wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days, we selected it on the basis of the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not dissapointed as the reviews are quite fair, considering the price we paid it was a good choice.

Good Points

- About 15 mins walk from the nearest bars and restaurants
- Only 5 mins from the beach
- Exceptionally clean rooms
- Nice pool with enclosed garden
- Owners are very helpful
- All rooms are well equiped

Not so good points

- It's a long way to the main areas of Las Olas, take the water taxi
- The area immeditaly around the hotel is a little run down in places, but not too bad
- Nowhere I found I could walk to for a quick breakfast (about 15 mins down the road at least)

  • Liked — Friendly attitiude of the owner and cleanliness
  • Disliked — It's location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed at the Cocobelle for a quick weekend trip to Fort Lauderdale and was happy to find that the hotel, Dorothee and the whole experience was just as good as many other reviews have said.

The room was huge, clean and nicely appointed with a kitchen, full size fridge, patio and everything we needed. Ten feet from the pool made it even better! Dorothee took great pains to help us get oriented to Fort Lauderdale, and gave us excellent recommendations on how to get around, where to eat, etc. She even let us borrow sun tan lotion for our stay. The hotel supplies beach towels and even chairs you can take to the beach, just a couple blocks away.

Overall, a great stay! The Cocobelle would definitely be at the top of my list to stay for another Lauderdale visit.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

After a week long cruise it was a pleasure to check into this charming hotel and have some space! We had the one bedroom on the main floor (#8) that also included a patio out the kitchen door in the back where we enjoyed quiet breakfasts and even feeding the Bonnet House monkeys tiny pieces of banana one day. (The property backs on to the Bonnet House Museum and Gardens.) The resort was lovely and quiet, clean and well kept. The bed was comfy and the shower was super. It was also great to have our own kitchen and be able to make a meal when we wanted.

We didn't mind the 10 minute walk to the main beachfront road and spent some nice time walking the beach and enjoying the restaurants and coffee. Dorothee can give you great advice about where to go as well.

We hope to visit Fort Lauderdale in the future and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Generous rooms, nice decor and amenities.
  • Disliked — no comments
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

What could I add? The Cocobelle is as nice as the reviews claim.

The pool is toasty, the bed comfie and the one bedroom apt we had (#11) was huge! Dorothee even took care of scanning and emailing a form to the Caribbean for me, at no additional charge. Both Dorothee & Ernst are terrific.

The only thing i will toss in is that the Cocobelle is a bit of a walk to anywhere. Not that it bothered us, but I think for some it may be of interest to understand that there is a bit of walking to do if you stay here. It's a few blocks to the beach, about a ten minute stroll to Sunrise and the closest collection of bars and eateries and about a fifteen minute walk to the water taxi. It's a healthy stroll of about 25 minutes to the get to famous Elbow Room on Los Olas and A1A. So just make sure you bring a good pair of walking shoes with you. :-)

But, if piece and quiet is what you want this is an excellent choice.

I prefer that the noise of the bar scene is a walk away so I'll be staying again at the Cocbelle next time I'm in Ft Lauderdale.

  • Liked — Clean, comfrotable and quiet.
  • Disliked — No real complaints
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

As with many of the reviews - we had an excellent 5 night stay over New Years Eve. Dorothee & Ernst are as helpful and friendly as everyone has pointed out. Very quiet motel approx. 2 blocks from the beach that has been completely renovated. Our breakfast every morning and drink at night around the pool were the highlights of our days at Fort Lauderdale. We would highly recommend this place and stay there again.

  • Liked — Quiet rooms - very clean accomodations.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Our recent stay at the Cocobelle Resort was absolutely wonderful. The user reviews that selected this as the best deal in the area were spot on.
We didn't stay much at the hotel itself, as we had planned most of our trip to be touring the Everglades National Park, but it was a very comfortable and pleasant home base. We chose to stay in a hotel-room style room (they have everything from hotel room to apartment style accomodations). The furniture and decor was modern but pleasant and clean. The tile floors and shower were beautiful, and the bedspreads and linens were very home-like (as opposed to the usual cheap hotel linens and blankets most places have). The entire room was spotless (and I'm fairly picky with my use of terms describing cleanliness) and clean, real silverware and flatware as well as a large mini-fridge, microwave, AC, heater, and dish towels were provided. It was truly a home away from home (except cleaner and neater).
The manager/owner was very willing to provide suggestions on where to eat and what to see (though we are compulsive planners and already had ideas ourselves). I definitely plan to say here again if we're the Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and proximity to beachfront and restaurants
  • Disliked — that we didn't get to spend much time there
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocobelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobelle Resort

Address: 2831 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocobelle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests love how Cocobelle inspires playfulness and tropical dreams! Is it that our majestic palms make an oasis with a heated turquoise pool that some say could be the fountain of youth? Or is it that we offer concierge-like hospitality that ensures your stay’s a breeze? Is it the colorful décor in our updated rooms that’s so phenomenal or the way that our reasonable rates are relaxing? Call it serendipity, but Cocobelle is a unique boutique hotel that attracts playful families who search for sunny times, laughter and a great value. Located just a few minutes’ stroll to North Beach Village’s celebrated sandy beaches, Cocobelle is a perfect beach resort for enjoying Fort Lauderdale’s enticing restaurants, shopping and watersports. Cocobelle’s 16 distinctive rooms offer flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves and safes. Wi-Fi is complimentary and we never charge resort fees. Your family will love soaking up sunsets and sea breezes on your balcony after a day of sunbathing, siestas, snorkeling or sightseeing!More than a hotel – Cocobelle offers an experience to warm your family long after returning home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Cocobelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobelle Resort Fort Lauderdale
Cocobelle Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobelle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.