We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, so close to the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobelle Resort

Save Saved
You added Cocobelle Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocobelle Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2831 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, so close to the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is lovely. The owner clearly has a lot of pride in his establishment. The pool area in the courtyard is like a completely different world. Also, the Cocobelle is right beside the grounds to Bonet House, so it's extra secluded. We got a suite (#13) with a King sized bed and small kitchen area. The kitchen had everything we needed, the room was very cozy and had a leafy view of the Bonet House grounds next door.

It is a short walk to the beach and to eating establishments along N. Atlantic Blvd. I have to say, every time we walked past the enormous and empty looking hotels along Atlantic we were really glad we went with a classic Florida motel: cozy, small, two stories of pink stucco cuddled around a pool and gardens. It was perfect and much cheaper than the chilly Hilton would have been. I would absolutely stay in the Cocobelle the next time I am in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    88
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
97
197
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed at this hotel three years ago, and decided to come again for three days as we passed through Ft Lauderdale on our way back up north. I booked it quite a while in advance. It was hard to get set up, as they are not good on email. I had not heard back from them many days later, and I was just getting ready to choose another location. Finally they did get back to me. I booked and they grabbed the first night in advance from my account.

As the date approached I saw that the weather was not all that great there, and I wanted to cancel. I saw that was not possible as you are not able to do that unless it is a long time before that.

When we arrived, we were shocked to see how much more dumpy the area is around them. Other reviews here have said the same. A number of derelict hotels surround them. There is construction which was very loud, going on a couple of buildings over. Jack hammers, etc.

The rooms were very clean, as were their grounds. Others have pointed out, and I can confirm, that the bed mattress and couch were exceptionally soft and uncomfortable. I had poor sleep as a result. Sitting in the couch was very exciting, hard to get out of. We elected to put pillows below and behind us, to make the couch useable.

This hotel does cater to smokers, you can smoke everywhere except the rooms. Being non smokers, this was disgusting, as we were never able to use the pool or sit outside as every other person who was there smoked a lot, including a fellow with cigars. Yuck. I had liked it due to the location, near to the beach, but nothing really there, a few dumpy stores, and derelict buildings.

If you wish to come to this hotel, I suggest that you bring your own paper products, they don't provide Kleenex, and the single ply toilet paper is not very good.

We decided to leave a day early, the weather was poor, not their fault of course. Rather than spend another day in the mall, we left. I knew that I would get no money back, which of course, I did not. When checking in, you pay in advance. If I return to Ft Lauderdale, I will stay at a regular hotel and just drive to the beach.

I regret to suggest that you pass on this place. Go to one of the newer places.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We were only here one night precruise but even my husband would have liked to stay longer. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Just stayed at Cocobelle, what a depressing place. We stayed in studio 6, it did have a kitchenette with full utensils. However this place is not a fun joyful place. Our bed comforter set was in browns so you couldn't tell if it was clean and the walls were a boring pale beige yellow tone. Not an update beachy feeling place at all being near the beach. Location is OK of you want peace in quiet and like to read. If you looking for fun with beach bars and cafes this is not the place. We ended up driving down a ways and paying for beach parking so we could be near the action.
The place needs lots of TLC, the landscaping was overgrown and in need of trimming and blowing. The pool area is small and just laid out strange. Not inviting, drab.
Bottom line this place needs updating and some bright beacy colors and decor added to bring it up to date. I would not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed at the Cocobelle for4 nights prior to going on cruise. Very quiet place with nice pool area. Good price in this area as it is quite expensive to stay in Fort Lauderdale Hotels. My only criticism is that you cannot sit and chat outside your room in the evening because your neighbours complain as it is ghostly quiet and it takes 25 minutes to walk to the bars and restaurants which beomes a bit of a nuisance every evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at Cocobelle with our little baby for a week this February, and returned for one more night after spending a fortnight on the west coast. All in all we found Cocobelle to be a nice and quiet place.

We stayed in two apartments at the ground floor and both were spacious and well equipped. Ernst had put in a babycot before we arrived, and brought a high chair ten minutes after we got the room.

The apartments are nicely decorated and seem to be well maintained. The sofa were however worn down and well used, but we put a bed cover over it and it worked just fine. As for cleanliness it was ok, but could have been better. We put our baby on a mat because we did not want it to crawl on the floors when we saw the dark color our white socks took on having walked on the floor.

Would we stay there again or recommend it to our best friends? Yes!

Room Tip: The apartments on the ground floor may be a bit noisy if people are sitting by the pool in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights prior to our cruise. We loved the location, close to restaurants, beach and shopping. Very convenient to the cruise port too. Also it is in a quiet neighborhood, the manager is very approachable and helpful. Parking is not a problem. We had a studio unit with a full kitchen, very clean and comfortable. We would return with pleasure !

Room Tip: The studio was spacious with King bed and full sized kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocobelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobelle Resort

Address: 2831 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocobelle Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests love how Cocobelle inspires playfulness and tropical dreams! Is it that our majestic palms make an oasis with a heated turquoise pool that some say could be the fountain of youth? Or is it that we offer concierge-like hospitality that ensures your stay’s a breeze? Is it the colorful décor in our updated rooms that’s so phenomenal or the way that our reasonable rates are relaxing? Call it serendipity, but Cocobelle is a unique boutique hotel that attracts playful families who search for sunny times, laughter and a great value. Located just a few minutes’ stroll to North Beach Village’s celebrated sandy beaches, Cocobelle is a perfect beach resort for enjoying Fort Lauderdale’s enticing restaurants, shopping and watersports. Cocobelle’s 16 distinctive rooms offer flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves and safes. Wi-Fi is complimentary and we never charge resort fees. Your family will love soaking up sunsets and sea breezes on your balcony after a day of sunbathing, siestas, snorkeling or sightseeing!More than a hotel – Cocobelle offers an experience to warm your family long after returning home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Cocobelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobelle Resort Fort Lauderdale
Cocobelle Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobelle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.